We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Lucerne accommodations

Lion Lodge Lucerne

Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lion Lodge Lucerne to your Saves list
Lion Lodge Lucerne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    16
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Our family did not enjoy our stay here at all! The wifi did not work, each time we mentioned this there was a different excuse made, mainly that it must have been our phones/iPad not the hostel's problem. The kitchen is not regularly checked for cleanliness. I had to ask for dish washing liquid then fresh tea towels (twice) while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Dear Bonny. Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. We work hard to keep our HOSTEL in a clean and tidy condition and make your stay as pleasant as possible.... More

Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the old town of Lucerne. Walking distance to Lion Monument. Close to Hauptbanhof (Main Train Station), River & shopping area. Chinese, Thai & Indian food within steps~ wifi available @ public area. Book for free parking space. No problem for late check-in as I reach there around 11pm-12am, with an advance call before the reception close, they will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Dear teenagesa. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)). We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“ More

Bandon, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Got there early and they let us check in early so we could lock up some of our stuff and head out and explore. Everyone at the hostel I spoke with were young adults and spoke great English and very curious. The only downside was that their keys have a metal keychain with the room number and if someone came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Dear Erin. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)). We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“ More

Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is not a very good hostel and couples or family should look for other options.Staffs are not very supportive and rooms are very congested and not very clean. If you are on family trip or honey moon trip or you want to have a enjoy a quality holiday then certainly this is not the place for you.You can have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Dear Dharam.We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please note you have chosen a HOSTEL on a cheap rate, with a minimum equipment. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards,... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a backpacker hostel. For location it is good but do not expect much else. It is ok if you are just sleeping there. Check in is not until 4pm and if you arrive early they will not allow you in a second earlier. The room we stayed in was private with bathroom. It is a tight fit. Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Hi Lillymare Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“ More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dont stay here. A place where you cant choose the things by your way and you need to pay expensensively for that isnt a good place to stay. Try to not negociate the things with the owner he barely speaks english, is too much confuse, and hard to work and talk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Dear Felipe. We give our best efforts, that the guest can feel at home with us. Now there are sometimes situations, where people rules or preferences, from which reason ever, do not accept. So in your case, it was not possible, to help you to understand , that the washing program you paid for it, is not two hours available.... More

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First off it is very expensive to stay and travel around Switzerland, so to find decent accommodations for an affordable price is a challenge. My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the lion lodge last spring while backpacking Europe. The lodge is quite a distance from the train station, as we were travelling by train, however very close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“ More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Lion Lodge is good value. Especially in an expensive country. It is a 15minute walk to the center of town and the train station. There is only one shower per floor, so get up early or sleep in late if you want a shower. I'm an early riser so I had no issues with the shower. Wifi is mainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grüezi Es freut uns zu hören, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat. Herzlichen Dank, für die Mühe die Du... More

Tata, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Please choose this hostel , if you would like spend one or two night here.One advantage that the center is near.If arrive you by car , you have to book a "parking area" The kitchen isn't very clean.You can use the wifi only the common areas. There is one shower every floor, so you may have to wait for good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. We are working very hard keeping the hostel clean so it is disappointing you thought otherwise. Maybe you just reached the kitchen after another guest left it in a... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

terrible hostel. i've stayed 6 nights in a 4dorm. it was a nightmare from start to end. my mat had bed bugs! one night their alarm went on all night. this place has nobody on duty at night, so there was nothing to be done. on the friday night, a group of drunken swiss made a mess all night. screaming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. What we don't understand, keept staying for 6 nights on this disgusting place!!! We have been informed neither by you or other guests,... More

Been to Lion Lodge Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Lodge Lucerne

Also Known As:
Lion Lodge Lucerne Hotel Lucerne
Lion Lodge Lucerne Hotel
Address: Zurichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Lodge is right in the centre of Lucerne within walking distance from the train station and main attractions like the nearby Lion Monument. The historic part of town, the famous Chapel Bridge, supermarkets and restaurants are just minutes away.You have a choice between two bed rooms, 4 bed dormitories and a 6 bed dorm with common bathrooms and showers.The hostel also has a self catering kitchen, cozy verandas, a large common area with books and games.We offer economic prices for a comfortable stay. Just perfect for ++CITY HOPPERS++ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lion Lodge Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Lodge Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.