We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 105 Geneva hotels

Hotel des Alpes

14 Rue des Alpes, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Pâquis-Temple)
Hotel amenities
Hotel des Alpes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Ranked #70 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Dennis Z Abuja
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
5
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Abuja
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice small hotel situated in the heart of Geneva. Closely located to the Train and bus stations, a wide sections of bars and restaurants. Avoid rooms facing main street as they are noisy. Rooms a bit small. Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston,USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is kind of dated and could use remodeling, but it is very clean and very convenient to the train station, the lake, restaurants and the bus station where so many tours leave from. I booked a tour to Mount Blanc and set my alarm wrong. I woke up 15 minutes before the bus was due to leave, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hoteldesalpesgeneve, Directeur général at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We first would like to thank you very much for the very interesting and precise comment you have posted on Trip Advisor. We are really glad you have appreciated our hotel and our services and that we have succeed in finding your reservation . I will pass on to our team your excellent comment about our services. The... More 

Europe
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
200 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Des Alpes is located approx. 5 minutes walk from the Central Railway station and tram/bus stops. In Geneva, hotel guests are provided a card enabling them to travel on public transport for free. A tram drive from Central Station to for example the United Nations main building is 15 minutes and a walk from the hotel to the old town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. As a place to rest, good sized room and location was very good. Location was brilliant in regards to the lake and station too. Weather was fantastic too thankfully. Only downside was breakfast and some of the side streets were unsavoury. There was some noise but its a city,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

But anyone else would be best advised to steer clear. Which is a shame as the reception staff are very friendly and efficient and it is in a great location, half way between the rail station and the lake and close to lots of shops and restaurants. Unfortunately, the sound insulation between the rooms is non-existent and opening the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a basic hotel, which is very clean, with very helpful, friendly staff. Its location is excellent, just around the corner is Gare Cornavin and every tram, bus and train from around the city seems to stop here. The rooms were too hot for me, making sleep almost impossible and the room doors bang loudly when being shut, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Clean, but very basic. For some strange reason they placed the smoking rooms in the quieter back of the hotel, the non-smoking rooms along the noisy street. An electric fan in the room drowned out some of the noise, but bring earplugs. Toiletries in bathroom. Can get breakfast 7-10am included in your room rate. Pillows were absolutely worthless, deflated on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Good location, staff very helpful at the reception. Rooms are small (typical european size). it seems there is no control for heating and hence need to regulate temp by opening the window. if you get a street facing room, it can be noisy. wi-fi is average, seems to disconnect for no reason. lots of restaurants nearby, also close to railway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel because I had no other choice for 1 night since it was next to the train station and I was taking the train early next morning. To be straightforward this is probably the worst quality price hotel I have ever been to in my life, 180 francs for a piece of garbage. It looked like a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Voronezh, Russia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed in hotel Des Alpes in april 2013. Hotel situated on Rue des Alpes in 5 minutes by walk from Geneva railway station. It is almost city centre so all the main streets and attractions are in 5-15 minutes by walk. Very suitable hotel for city trips. Rooms are mall but good (just like the whole hotel).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 14 Rue des Alpes, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Geneva

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay