We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel des Alpes

14 Rue des Alpes, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Hotel des Alpes
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #65 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Sidse T
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
5
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From entering the hotel, it was a good experience: The reception staff was friendly, the room was nice and with a great view to the street. The bathroom clean and with plenty of shelves - it's a common challenge to find a place for toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet, located in the basement, was also fine, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeville, Hawaii
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Booked this place as a last minute option, because my original booking in another hotel was sold to someone else, as the city was full during the car show. Was very lucky to find a room in the center for a reasonable price. The room (603) was very clean and well equipped, with a fantastic terrace. Simple but satisfying breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abuja
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Nice small hotel situated in the heart of Geneva. Closely located to the Train and bus stations, a wide sections of bars and restaurants. Avoid rooms facing main street as they are noisy. Rooms a bit small. Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston,USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This hotel is kind of dated and could use remodeling, but it is very clean and very convenient to the train station, the lake, restaurants and the bus station where so many tours leave from. I booked a tour to Mount Blanc and set my alarm wrong. I woke up 15 minutes before the bus was due to leave, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hoteldesalpesgeneve, Directeur général at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We first would like to thank you very much for the very interesting and precise comment you have posted on Trip Advisor. We are really glad you have appreciated our hotel and our services and that we have succeed in finding your reservation . I will pass on to our team your excellent comment about our services. The... More 

Europe
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
211 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Des Alpes is located approx. 5 minutes walk from the Central Railway station and tram/bus stops. In Geneva, hotel guests are provided a card enabling them to travel on public transport for free. A tram drive from Central Station to for example the United Nations main building is 15 minutes and a walk from the hotel to the old town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. As a place to rest, good sized room and location was very good. Location was brilliant in regards to the lake and station too. Weather was fantastic too thankfully. Only downside was breakfast and some of the side streets were unsavoury. There was some noise but its a city,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

But anyone else would be best advised to steer clear. Which is a shame as the reception staff are very friendly and efficient and it is in a great location, half way between the rail station and the lake and close to lots of shops and restaurants. Unfortunately, the sound insulation between the rooms is non-existent and opening the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a basic hotel, which is very clean, with very helpful, friendly staff. Its location is excellent, just around the corner is Gare Cornavin and every tram, bus and train from around the city seems to stop here. The rooms were too hot for me, making sleep almost impossible and the room doors bang loudly when being shut, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Clean, but very basic. For some strange reason they placed the smoking rooms in the quieter back of the hotel, the non-smoking rooms along the noisy street. An electric fan in the room drowned out some of the noise, but bring earplugs. Toiletries in bathroom. Can get breakfast 7-10am included in your room rate. Pillows were absolutely worthless, deflated on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Good location, staff very helpful at the reception. Rooms are small (typical european size). it seems there is no control for heating and hence need to regulate temp by opening the window. if you get a street facing room, it can be noisy. wi-fi is average, seems to disconnect for no reason. lots of restaurants nearby, also close to railway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities