We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swissotel Metropole Geneva

#8 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel website
34 Quai General Guisan | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swissotel Metropole Geneva
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at a signature room facing the lake. The room was clean and fairly spacious with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately there was a problem with the shower which meant that the bathroom floor was constantly flooding which made things very diffucult. We did report this problem immediately to the hotel staff but they just said that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theodoti
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. Great for shopping and within walking distance to the old city. Housekeeping does a beautiful job servicing the guest rooms daily. The concierge was a huge help in checking our flights and issuing our boarding passes. Couldn't really ask for more.

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank leslee60
Prosper
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If coming to Geneva, look no further than the Hotel Metropole. Wonderful location, sweet and Professional Staff, great food & Bar, as well as so very clean. It feels like home every time I stay there.

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there few days ago . We booked 2 rooms for 3 days. We were pleasantly surprised, the rooms have been totally renovated in a warm and cosy way however very bright and contemporary , the service was excellent , the staff was attentive and accommodating. An old hotel with a tradition hospitality at high level. Excellent location in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tamar A
Jeddah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the heart of Geneva very near to everything. Overs fantastic view over the lake. Very clean and have excellent and very cooperative staff. I visited Geneva in January with my wife. In spite of the cold weather this hotel made our stay full of warm feelings. It was an experience to be repeated.

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank N4401LWalia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed 6 days at the Swissotel Metropol a small (112 room) hotel. Its location--right at the Old City and among shopping and tourist sites--is PERFECCT. Public transportation by tram or bus is within a block or two of the hotel at the most, making it easy to get around Geneva. Lake Geneva is right across the street and many rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank rmwhitt
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at Swissotel Metropole Geneva on a Sunday evening After a long flight from Los Angeles, with a connection in Zurich, we only had an hour and a half before dinner. We were hoping for a speedy, smooth check-in and we were not disappointed The front desk reception person was professional, efficient and knowledgeable. We had reserved a Signature... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Theresa S. We all at Swissotel Metropole Geneva appreciate the time you have dedicated to write the review on Tripadvisor and we all thank you for having stayed with us whilst visiting Geneva. It is simply great to receive such positive feedback and we are glad to learn that you have been satisfied with the room and all services... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very stylish hotel, great interiors with a modern, chic look, centrally located right on the lake promenade. I loved the room decor and the all glass bathroom. The TV is incorporated inside the mirror in your room which I find very fancy. Lovely staff that know how to do their job, very professional and smiley. I got my wake up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blanka P
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Blanka P It is with great pleasure that I have shared the review with the colleagues and we all thank you for the positive feedback posted on Tripadvisor. Recognizing our professional service which we provide daily, is an outstanding compliment dear Blanka P. Thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to your next visit. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here on our dream holiday. We paid a high price for a room on the 2nd floor with no view. It was so noisy with street noise ........my husband and I were so exhausted as not having much sleep. Being a five star hotel I would have expected tea bags to be replaced and provide a flannels......and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gavish
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Gavish Thank you for having chosen Swissotel Metropole Geneva as part of your holidays and we highly appreciate the fact that you have provided us with valuable feedback with regards to your recent stay. Our wish is to develop a great relationship with you, therefore we want to reassure you that the lack of amenities provided is not our... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel location was perfect for us since we wanted to explore the old town which was just a few minutes walk away. Lake Geneva is right in front of the hotel. Many shops in the area too. We booked the twin bed signature lakeside view room (116) which had a nice view of the lake. There are bridges you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howdy holiday
ManagerGeneva, Quality manager at Swissotel Metropole Geneva, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the time dedicated to write the review. The information provided is very important for future guests, and in some cases decisive when choosing a destination. Please note that when booking directly your room with the hotel, the reservation agent will answer to any questions you might have and upon check in the reception agent will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel De La Paix Geneva
#28 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay