We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Spalentor Basel

4.0 of 5 Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Hotel website
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    169
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
209
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly staff and a great location just on the edge of the main city. Easy 10mins walking into the centre of town with the option of a free tram from just outside the door if you prefer. We luckily got upgraded so we had a view of the spalentor gate as well. The only downside was a limited breakfast which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay and your nice review on tripadvisor. Awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a lovely wintertime and hope to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

Ludhiana, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location was nice,staff was very helpful,room was spacious,but the bathroom was horrible.The wash basin was broken and was dirty.During check inn the hotel people handed free tram tickets for 2days which was of great help.Other wise very average hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay with us and your review on tripadvisor. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and were not satisfied. We hope to welcoming you again in Basle and wish you all the best. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went with my family and friends for the second time to this Hotel, we were doing the Christmas markets, again.We stayed 3 nights. The hotel was just as good as it was last time, clean and tidy with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff being as helpful and obliging as they possibly could.The food was excellent, the micarta... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your second stay with us and your nice review on tripadvisor. Awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We wish you a lovely wintertime and are looking forward to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

Natick, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This little hotel was tucked in a quiet location just outside the tower gates leading to the older part of Basel. Very easily accessed from a quick bus ride from the main train terminal, we were happy to be in such a pleasant environment. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful with great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay with us and your nice review on tripadvisor. We are really happy that you were satisfied with your stay, the location of our hotel as well as our service. We wish you a lovely wintertime and hope to welcoming you again at the Hotel Spalentor in Basle. More 

Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights prior to our Viking River Cruise. So close to many sites yet on a quiet street. Room was clean and a nice size, bed comfortable, staff wonderful, loved the little snacks each day! Public transportation very close and FREE for most of the zones. No one even checks for tickets...even to/from Airport. Be sure to research... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we wish you a happy new year. Awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us before starting your river cruise. We are happy that you were satisfied with our location, your room with the comfortable bed as well as our staff. We wish you a lovely time and hope to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were sad that we were only able to spend 1 night at the Hotel Spalentor two weeks ago. The staff is very friendly and we received a free upgrade to a spacious suite. Bathroom was also a good size. The location is perfect for getting around the city. Walking distance to many sites and right by public transportation if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we wish you a happy new year and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with your room and our brekfast. We hope to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The people are really friends and we got a room upgrade. Breakfast is really good and the hotel is at walking distance from the main attractions (xmas market, etc). They gave us free public transportation tickets for the time we were there! They offered a glass of champagne and cookies at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay and your nice review on tripadvisor. Awesome that you were satisfied and enjoyed our welcome drink. We wish you a happy new year and are looking forward to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

- Hotel is in good location - Rooms are spacious and bright - Bathroom is a bit small and outdated - Tassimo coffee machine is a plus - Beds and mattresses are good - Location is good just seconds away from the beginning of the old town - Breakfast is very good with nice selection of cheeses and some hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and hope to welcoming you again in Basle. More 

Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

A most enjoyable stay, the Hotel staff was very helpful in all aspects and the room was excellent. The closeness of the public transportation was great, also the complementary travel pass made travel around town easy.The old part of Basel and the Christmas Markets were within walking distance made the Hotel a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor. Awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and were satisfied with our staff, your room as well as the location of our hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel. We wish you all the best and a wonderful Christmas time. More 

North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We spent one night at Hotel Spalentor following a river cruise last week (Dec 15). We arrived before our room was available but the front desk staff invited us to have breakfast upstairs, which was wonderful. (And,since we left the following morning at 4:30am, we were unable to partake of again). The hotel is in a wonderful location - very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor. Awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with your room as well as the location. Thanks a lot for your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers. We wish you all the best and a wonderful Christmas time. Hope to welcoming you again in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
#5 Family Hotel in Basel

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay