We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Messeplatz 12, Basel CH4058, Switzerland
Special Offer
Package Deal
RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Basel
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Usofaki
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    170
    203
    65
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
138
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (460)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ramada is located close to the city center! The staff is very polite and they are doing everything in order to help! The breakfast has just everything and I really liked the lunch, which offers tastes for everybody!! Free wifi everywhere!! I will come back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ramada offers a good value for money, rooms are generally spacious and the view is an added bonus. We spent few weeks in this hotel. Breakfast is generous but not exceptional, room are ok but they look cheap when you look at the furniture, facilities are ok but not great. Restaurant is average but probably better than many other place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Ramada is only a 4 stars but have to admit that it looks pretty similar to some decent 5 stars. I believe the reason of the classification as 4 stars is probably some amenities or facilities they don't offer. The building is a high rise glasss tower in the center of Basel. They are few such towering hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for this nice review on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read that you had a pleasent stay and I look Forward to welcome you back again. I will make sure to pass on the good Feedback to the staff which I am sure that they will find nice to receive. I wish you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a three star hotel. An excellent three star hotel certainly, but not a four star hotel as advertised. Like all hotels, it has its good and bad. GOOD: 1) Staff - The staff were excellent, from the reception staff to the bar/restaurant staff. All were most friendly and were happy to take time to make local recommendations. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing us some feedback here on Tripadvisor. I was happy to read that you complimented the staff all over the hotel and I have passed it on to the staff. As you stated the view from Skylounge is wonderfull and spectacular, and from there you can see Germany, Switzerland and France. I am very sorry... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Pay let's say 100 EUR/night and you get a soap dispenser in the bathroom. For 150 EUR you may expect the full monty: soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and all the other amenities that could come in handy. For 200 EUR you get the same but in that deluxe edition that puts a smile on your face and makes you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your honest Feedback on Tripadvisor. Im am sorry that you did not like our soapdespensers, however we use those in all of our 4 star Hotels here in Switzerland, however please inform us next time your here so we can bring you the small tubes up to your room on request. I still... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is new and full of glass walls and windows from bottom to ceiling. Hence no windows can open; very stuffy atmosphere and constant airconditioning. Staff excellent food good enough location good Wifi needs improvement price way to high (185 incl breakfast)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for writing us on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not like the tall glas building here in Basel. I am however happy to hear that you experienced our staff in a very positive way, and therefore I would like to thank you on that comment aswell. I hope that you... More 

Antwerpen-BELGIUM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This rather charmless hotel is staffed with very friendly people and well located near the center of the city. The rooms however are small and expensive . The rooms on the lower floors have a poor view and worn out carpet. On the higher levels they are renovated, but still small and too expensive for what they offer. The bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us. I was happy to read the comments regarding the friendly staff. This is always nice to hear. Since the Hotel is situated in an Office building the Lobby might seem very big in the night when only Hotel guests walkes around here. I however hope that we... More 

Staad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We found this hotel very conveniently placed for what we wanted to do in Basel. Easy check-in and check-out and friendly, helpful staff. We got a free tram ticket, which was really appreciated. We had a spacious room on the 12th floor which was clean and had a nice view. This is definitely a business hotel but good for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback regarding your stay here in Basel. I was very happy to read that you were satisfied with your entire stay. Concerning the breakfast price I am happy to tell you that you also can buy a early breakfast down at the check Point bar, aswell as different choices of a... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This is a business hotel which is clean and functional. I would say it is overpriced for what it offers. The rooms are spacious but the airconditioning is noisy and you cannot open the windows. It is very centrally located.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your feedback which I was happy to receive. I will pass the compliment regarding the cleaniness of the Hotel on to our housekeeper and im very sure that she will be happy to hear that. I hope that we might see you again in the future, and until then I remain. Kind regards... More 

Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Vert convenient location just at the congress center with easy access downtown. The rooms are very "Scandinavian" ie very Spartan and functional but comfortable. Beware no fresh air and a relative loud air conditioner. Free wifi but strangely enough empty minibars which can be refurbished at the vending machines in front of the elevators (that is if you are carrying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback which I was happy to read. It was nice to hear that ypu liked the rooms and we know that the lift System can be very difficult. I hope that we might have the pleasure of our staying with us again in the near future. Kind regards Thomas Taanum Hotelmanager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay