We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Messeplatz 12, Basel CH4058, Switzerland
Special Offer
Package Deal
RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Basel
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Ron G Spalding, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    173
    204
    69
    12
    10
See reviews for
28
143
36
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (468)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Professional welcome on check-in. Happy with room. Good facilities. Good breakfast. Trams close by for Bahnhofstrasse and Altstadt. Very enjoyable stay. Good wi-fi and English TV channels available. Sky Room on 30th floor worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay here in Basel. I have passed the compliments on to the staff and hope that we might welcome back again here at the Ramada Plaza Basel Hotel. Kind regards Thomas Taanum Hotelmanager More 

D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst the hotel was clean the staff pleasant there were just too many small things which made this 2night stay dissapointing. Having previously stayed at the Stucci and Dorint in Basel, from the outward appearance I expected similar from the Ramada. The issues I found (photos included) were small but numerous: The wardrobe was extremely small barely large enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback and the nice compliment regarding the the clean hotel and the nice staff. This you can be sure that I will pass on to them. Regarding your other issues, you can ofcourse also be sure that I will check up on all the issues which you have pointed out. We take... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ramada is located close to the city center! The staff is very polite and they are doing everything in order to help! The breakfast has just everything and I really liked the lunch, which offers tastes for everybody!! Free wifi everywhere!! I will come back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us on tripadvisor, and for the nice comments reharding your stay here in Basel. I was very pleased to read about your stay here and I will pass on your kinds words regarding the staff to them at the next meeting. I hope that we will see you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ramada offers a good value for money, rooms are generally spacious and the view is an added bonus. We spent few weeks in this hotel. Breakfast is generous but not exceptional, room are ok but they look cheap when you look at the furniture, facilities are ok but not great. Restaurant is average but probably better than many other place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your Kind Review and I was happy to read that you had a nice stay here in Basel. It is always nice to get the Feedback from our guests and I sincerely hope that you might return to the Ramada Plaza Basel during your next stay here. Kind regards Thomas Taanum Hotelmanager More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

This Ramada is only a 4 stars but have to admit that it looks pretty similar to some decent 5 stars. I believe the reason of the classification as 4 stars is probably some amenities or facilities they don't offer. The building is a high rise glasss tower in the center of Basel. They are few such towering hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for this nice review on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read that you had a pleasent stay and I look Forward to welcome you back again. I will make sure to pass on the good Feedback to the staff which I am sure that they will find nice to receive. I wish you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

This is a three star hotel. An excellent three star hotel certainly, but not a four star hotel as advertised. Like all hotels, it has its good and bad. GOOD: 1) Staff - The staff were excellent, from the reception staff to the bar/restaurant staff. All were most friendly and were happy to take time to make local recommendations. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing us some feedback here on Tripadvisor. I was happy to read that you complimented the staff all over the hotel and I have passed it on to the staff. As you stated the view from Skylounge is wonderfull and spectacular, and from there you can see Germany, Switzerland and France. I am very sorry... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Pay let's say 100 EUR/night and you get a soap dispenser in the bathroom. For 150 EUR you may expect the full monty: soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and all the other amenities that could come in handy. For 200 EUR you get the same but in that deluxe edition that puts a smile on your face and makes you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your honest Feedback on Tripadvisor. Im am sorry that you did not like our soapdespensers, however we use those in all of our 4 star Hotels here in Switzerland, however please inform us next time your here so we can bring you the small tubes up to your room on request. I still... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is new and full of glass walls and windows from bottom to ceiling. Hence no windows can open; very stuffy atmosphere and constant airconditioning. Staff excellent food good enough location good Wifi needs improvement price way to high (185 incl breakfast)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for writing us on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not like the tall glas building here in Basel. I am however happy to hear that you experienced our staff in a very positive way, and therefore I would like to thank you on that comment aswell. I hope that you... More 

Antwerpen-BELGIUM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This rather charmless hotel is staffed with very friendly people and well located near the center of the city. The rooms however are small and expensive . The rooms on the lower floors have a poor view and worn out carpet. On the higher levels they are renovated, but still small and too expensive for what they offer. The bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us. I was happy to read the comments regarding the friendly staff. This is always nice to hear. Since the Hotel is situated in an Office building the Lobby might seem very big in the night when only Hotel guests walkes around here. I however hope that we... More 

Staad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We found this hotel very conveniently placed for what we wanted to do in Basel. Easy check-in and check-out and friendly, helpful staff. We got a free tram ticket, which was really appreciated. We had a spacious room on the 12th floor which was clean and had a nice view. This is definitely a business hotel but good for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThomasTaanum, Manager at RAMADA PLAZA Basel Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback regarding your stay here in Basel. I was very happy to read that you were satisfied with your entire stay. Concerning the breakfast price I am happy to tell you that you also can buy a early breakfast down at the check Point bar, aswell as different choices of a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

212 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Vorstädte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top