We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel

3.0 of 5 Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly "Novotel")
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    97
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
50
13
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pleasant enough stay here for a week. Rooms were pretty small with little storage available but not the end of the world. They were more importantly immaculately clean with superb shower facilities. Breakfast was often busy but everything was there for a tasty meal. Staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. Only real downside for me was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe 3.5 stars and rounding up but good location just outside the city but easy access by tram which is a 5min walk away and runs about every 8 minutes. Rooms are modern despite dated hotel exterior. However, wifi did not work at all in room and wired while fast went out a few times and was difficult to log... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

got a room that faced the roche new office, view was wonderful during sunrise, had a good view of the smoke coming out of the chimney, neighbourhood apartments, and roche far away. while the exterior of the building seemed dated, the interior was all nicely done up. room was clean and modern. room even came with kettle and tea bags.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dorintbasel, Guest Relations at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your positive feedback tou our staff. However, we have to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the internet connection. We are already searching for a solution to this matter. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Well situated near Conference Center, Badisher Bahnhof and trolley stops to downtown. The hotel is well appointed, highly competent and extremely helpful staff. Hotel restaurant was very good with an excellent wine selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dorintbasel, Gästebetreuung at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will forward you positive feedback to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel. Kind Regards Irina Briellmann Guest Relations More 

Panaji, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2014. Hotel is located in a good location close to the city center. Hotel provided us with a free travel card which was very convenient. You can use it on all forms of public transport. Breakfast is superb!! They have a huge spread. Staff is kind. Rooms are decent. Hotel looks much better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed in a newly refurbished room which had minimal contemporary styling. Staff were very friendly and cheery. Breakfast buffet had great selection, cooked, continental, fruit and cereal. Located in quite neighborhood, but easy base to explore city with nearby tram connections.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dorintbasel, Gästebetreuung at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your comment. It is our pleasure to forward your positive feedback to our staff. We would be glad to be your host again. Kind Regards Irina Briellmann Guest Relation More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights. The main reason for our trip was a business conference my wife was attending. The location is OK. It is safe and nestled in a residential neighbourhood. You can take public transit to the hotel from the train station (a tram and a bus or tram and 10 minute walk). If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dorintbasel, Gästebetreuung at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Brad, We thank you that you took time to comment our Dorint. We are glad to see that your stay was satisfactory. However, we would like to apologize for some issues at the Front Office which seemed to be too busy to take time to explain causes properly. We forwarded this issue to the concerned department and actions have... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night just passing through. Couldn't believe how lovely Basel was. The hotel staff were friendly, room excellent and you get a free transport ticket for your stay. The city was 4 stops on the tram which was 1 minute walk from the hotel. The air conditioning struggled to keep up in the hot weather. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dorintbasel, Gästebetreuung at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will forward your positive feedback to our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay in Basel. It would be a pleasure for us to host you during your next stay. Kind Regards Irina Briellmann Guest Relation More 

England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days during the Basel Tattoo and had a good stay. The hotel reception is quite modern and the hotel itself is reasonably compact. Reception staff are very friendly and very keen to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The rooms are more minimalist than a UK Travelodge but comfortable all the same. The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dorintbasel, Gästebetreuung at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. However, we would like to thank you for the given feedback. Regarding the cleaning of the rooms, please notice that it has been agreed in the contract that during the Basel Tattoo the cleaning only takes place every 3 days. For your next... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

They were carrying out some refurbishment on floor 3 during my 2 week stay and the noise could be herd on every floor. This was a business / working stay and I was working nights but was unable to sleep past 8 in the morning due to the noise. The rooms were small, you had to pay extra for tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wunderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer service. Thank you for your feedback. Based on the information provided we are assuming that you belong to the Basel Tattoo group. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel

Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly "Novotel")
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dorint Hotel An der Messe / Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Basel

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay