We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steinenschanze Stadthotel

#6 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Steinengraben 69, Basel CH - 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel Steinenschanze)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean, friendly, good value, central location, owned by a charity. Profits of the hotel go to help people. Another nice and unusual feature: evening free soft drinks, beer, coffee and munchies as well as a nice place to sit down to eat your take away supper. Nice buffete breakfast, maybe a little too expensive,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank metula
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. As you have mentioned, our staff is always trying to give the best service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes. One of the main reason, why... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

That was my life's most expensive student dorm room - exquisitely designed and well planned, but still a student dorm room with a very red plastic carpet. Being in Basel at the same time as Swissbau do not a cheap hotel room make... Excellent breakfast, and a brilliant concocted solution to avoid minibars... beer and wine available in the afternoon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vaksan
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest We thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our welcome drink! We are also proud of our breakfast because we have fresh products and we try to have Swiss products. We are attentive at the feedback from our guest's about our service but... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend in early December to see the Christmas Markets and Basel, The hotel is clean and tidy, our room was the base type (comfortable, not large with strange wardrobes!) but had all we needed including a very will appointed recently refitted modern bathroom. There is complementary tea and coffee available in the breakfast area... More 

Helpful?
Thank L0GCH0PPER
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to give the kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. We always communicate the ratings in our team meetings, and our staff is happy to hear your comments. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes. One of the main reason, why guest book our... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

I was on a business trip to Basel and choose this hotel for my week long stay. Staffs were friendly. Clean and comfortable rooms with enough light. I liked the dining and garden area. It was a pleasant stay. After a long days work snacks and drinks served in the evenings was very helpful. Overall it was a relaxing experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Manigandan R
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that your enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We would like to wish you a happy new year! Best regards from Basel Michaela-Maria Nazarek - Manager More 

Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Spent one night before a river cruise. Room 309 has a nice view of the courtyard and is your typical European size room. The staff went out of their way to make sure I was enjoying myself. A one day transportation pass was included and covered all the buses and streetcars. Also a welcome glass of wine or beer with... More 

Helpful?
Thank meteng
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy new year! With our best regards Michaela-Maria Nazarek - Manager More 

Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Excellent buffet. Room maybe a bit small, but comfortable. Excellent internet. We'd like to mention that we experienced a problem but it was taken care of quickly and efficiently. We recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc F
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking time for a feedback. We are also glad that our staff could help you with your problem and that you could you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We have different category of rooms. Don't hesitate to call us in the future so that we can choose together what would be the best category... More 

aurora, colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We were visiting Basel for the Christmas markets prior to our Rhine river cruise and couldn't have picked a better hotel for our needs. It was a 5 minute walk to the main market!! The accommodations were very good....clean, efficient, great shower, and good location overlooking the garden (quiet). The staff was incredible!! They were very helpful in suggestions for... More 

Helpful?
Thank cruiserdoc
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope that you had a nice river cruise. The Christmas market is a wonderful moment to visit Basel but also during the summer, it is very interesting! There are always different events in the city and we have more then 30 museums to visit! it would be a pleasure to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I have stayed in Basel many times over the years and usually end up in one of the big named hotels. This time I tried this to be a little different, and was not disappointed. The outside of the hotel is bland, but inside was nicely decorated, the staff were all awesome, there was complimentary coffee, wine and snacks in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maggsy_99
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your feedback. You mentioned some of our “strong points” but we are particularly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned it, we have the advantage to be very near from the city center and even so we have a wonderful and quiet garden. During the summer, we serve also the... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

This was a very friendly, comfortable and clean hotel in a great location - very convenient to the train station and about a 3 minute walk to the Old Town and the Christmas markets. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank yyzCanada2015
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. As you have mentioned, our staff try always to give the best service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes. One of the main reason, why guest... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel situated within walki g distance of many sights and the city center. I visited for Christmas markets, and had no problem walking to the two main ones in town. The staff is also helpful with arranging taxis or recommending places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for rating us. The reviews are always important to find out how to optimize the service. As you have mentioned, guest enjoy the good service and the lounge with a welcome drink. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of recommendations or special wishes. One of the main reason, why... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Hotel Basel
#4 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#8 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay