We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Basel

#30 of 49 Hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4051, Switzerland
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Hilton Basel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mistermaui bc canada
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    204
    125
    42
    22
See reviews for
61
125
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (490)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
bc canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The traveller reviews helped me choose this hotel, and I was very pleased to have stayed there. Location perfect if travelling by train; it is across the street. Ditto for the trams. The building IS a bit monstrous 1970's, but immaculately maintained. For the life of me, I can't see why they would be redeveloping, but I understand it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay at the Hilton Basel. We were exceedingly pleased that you have enjoyed yourself so thoroughly whilst in Basel and that you were very satisfied with our facilities and the services that we provided. Please be assured that your review... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location virtually opposite the SBB. Architecturally the hotel is straight out of the 60's/70's with room decor from the 80's/90's. Hotel needs a refurb but have heard its closing this year. Service was very good otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback on your last stay in the Hilton Basel. We were very pleased to read, that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the service that we provided, as well as with the great location of our hotel. We hope that you had... More 

Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Alas, this venerable old rectangular box will soon be torn down to make way for a new, taller building. I hope they install better WiFi in that one, which would remedy the one true annoyance I experienced during my two-night stay. The rest of the experience was classic, elegant Hilton: excellent and personal service; gracious hosts and good food including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your very kind and detailed review. We are very pleased to have read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you made great use of the complimentary City Pass, which enables you to move around Basel for free in public transport. Please rest assured that your comments will be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hilton has some character (which is unusual for Switzerland). The service was excellent. The amenities are good, although there is no seperate fitness centre. Be aware of adults being naked in the mixed sauna, as this can be shocking if you are not used to it or expecting it and is surprising for an American chain. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review on your last stay in our Hilton Basel. We were very happy to read, that you overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially our good location and the service provided by our Team Members. We are happy to forward your feedback to our Team Members, whose upmost goal it... More 

Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Hilton Basel for business. Extremely high prices for a hotel that's clearly had little investment for a long time. Tiny gym with little equipment, breakfast costs crazy, inattentive bar staff and an internet service that rivals dial-up from the 1980s.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you that you tool the time to write a feedback on your last stay in the Hilton Basel. However, we are very sorry to read that you were not satisfied at all with our hotel or the service we provided. We would like to apologize sincerely for the inconveniences this... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The worst experience in my life. Shame to be call hilton shame to have 5 stars on the door. Its old, dirty, smelly and specially dirty I really can t believe the Hilton has this hotel and the sell it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. As we have already told you in our e-mail conversation, we are very sorry that you were disappointed by the facilities, the service and the cleanliness of our hotel. Moreover, we do deeply regret the fact that you did not agree with our offer upon your arrival regarding the room change... More 

Philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Accomodations were fine as long as you weren't spending a good deal of the day in the room. Room Service was very quick. Bed could have been softer. Location is perfect for making public transportation connections in Basel.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at our Hilton Basel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us, especially thanks to the hotel's location and the efficiency of our room service. We have noted that the bed was not soft enough for you, but we hope that you were nevertheless able... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Normally I'll stay the The Passage but this week's BaselWorld has meant a rare trip to the Hilton. In short I'm looking forward to next week when the watch dealers go home and I can return to the Passage. The Hilton is functionally ok but has no soul, a luke warm reception from the front desk, over priced water in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at our Hilton Basel with us. We are sorry to read that the hotel's facilities and services did not completely meet your expectations and that you are therefore less likely to stay at our property again. We do definitely accept your opinion... More 

Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I read several reviews on this property before we went, but being a "Hilton" guy...I still went. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, my room was a little out dated. Yes, the hotel is closing In August. But the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was terrific and the presentation nice. Classic old school style in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation on tripadvisor. We are glad you had chosen our Hilton Basel for your current stay in our city and we are happy to read that you did not regret your choice! We have already shared your kind comments with our hotel staff who do definitely enjoy the positive... More 

Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Great location for a business hotel. It is located right opposite the central train/ tram station making access to it one of its biggest strengths. Slew of eateries around the hotel along with lot of grocery/ convenience stores is another big plus. Coming to the hotel, it is a slightly older property but premises are clean and well kept. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much your very kind review. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We were especially delighted that our Team Member were able to create a home away from home for you. We hope that you had save travels back home and that we will be able to welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question