We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Basel hotels

Hilton Basel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4002, Switzerland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From CHF 130
Save Saved
You added Hilton Basel to your Saves list
Hilton Basel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
georgew907
  • Overview
  • Reviews (346)
  • Photos (109)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    149
    91
    25
    15
See reviews for
41
83
44
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed i this hotel after concluding a Rhine River cruise. Although the ship recommended a taxi we could have taken a tram from the ship. This nice hotel is very near the train station. Easy access to any place you wanted to go via the free tram system. Well informed staff was very helpful. Rooms were very well kept.... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at Hilton Basel. We are most pleased to recognise that you spent wonderful days at our property after your Rhine River cruise. It is very delightful for us to know that convenient transport opportunities, staff service and room atmosphere were to your complete satisfaction. Please rest assured... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location close the train station, clean and spacious room with perfect beds, old fashioned decor but everything worked and was well maintained, the bathroom had a tub and great products, there was good service from the staff, check inn was easy and we got a free travel card for the trams in Basel. There were only two draw backs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you writing down your experiences at Hilton Basel and for bringing your impressions to our attention. We are most happy to know that you felt very welcomed and enjoyed your stay – especially due to convenient location, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good maintenance, good bathroom amenities and most importantly great staff service. However we regret to know... More

Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It would not be particularly helpful for me to recite and review all the positives of this hotel since it has been reviewed in detail by others. I agree it has a great location very near the main train station in Basel. I agree the staff is friendly and helpful in attempting to honor your every request. However, what the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review about Hilton Basel. First we want to express that we are very sorry for the inconveniences caused. Of course the mistakes in customer service you mentioned do not represent our expectations of service quality. We deeply regret the mentioned service gaps and will immediately discuss these issues with our front desk manager... More

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Hilton Basel for 3nights,it was a nice&great stay,the hotel staff was very helpfull,especially Front Desk&Breakfast teams,so I could recomanded the hotel to everyone who's going to Basel.They have a nice,small pool,my little girl had try it&enjoy it,it will be great if the program could be a little longer in weekends(now is only at 8 am).And I would... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words in regards of your families recent stay at Hilton Basel. It is to our pleasure that you experienced a great stay with us. Of course we are also very happy to know that your daughter was fond of our pool and especially of the birthday cake. We appreciate your recommendation... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hilton in Basel is in a perfect location for jumping on a train to go to any destination or the tram to get around the city. Wifi was not included in my room and they wanted a $25 per day fee to get it so I used the free lobby wifi when possible. The bar staff is friendly but... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you have written down your impressions about Hilton Basel since guest feedback like yours helps us to constantly improve the quality of our products and services. We have been happy to know were satisfied with the service provided and the facilities of our hotel especially regarding front desk service and location. On the other hand... More

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 3 nights and couldn't be happier with this hotel. Only five minutes from the train station, and only 10 minutes to the downtown area on the tram. We had a mini suite which was very up-to-date including two bathrooms and large very comfortable king-size bed. Free tram tickets were provided, and the executive lounge offered a great starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation for Hilton Basel. It fills us with happiness to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our services as well as the beautiful city of Basel. Needless to say we will forward your comment about our staff to our operational teams to make them... More

Tucson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not only do they not have irons/ironing boards in the rooms, they won't bring one to you either. You have to iron in the maid's area, which was really crappy. They said it was a hazard to have it in the room, but this was a lie because the other hotel i stayed at in town allowed me to have... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Your summary of impressions is much appreciated. We are sorry to recognise that you were not satisfied with the service provided and the facilities of our hotel especially regarding ironing facilities, room atmosphere and billing. Please accept our apologies for all inconveniences caused. Kindly be informed that – due to the constructional and... More

london
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location 3 mins walk from the station, and 10-15 mins from the lovely Old Town and Rhine. Very helpful staff. Fairly characterless, and plain ugly from the outside. Exec lounge is small, but well run and stocked. Breakfast area is in a semi-basement, and normal Hilton buffet style, but with very high quality produce as you might expect in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate that you have summarized your impressions about Hilton Basel and shared them on tripadvisor. Thank you also for recognising helpfulness of staff, breakfast quality, mobility ticket and excellent location. We will surely communicate this appreciation to our team member. On the other hand please accept our apologies for the fact that outside appearance of... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

...literally! Even a flat tyre did not faze the staff at this iconic 70s Hilton which I have used since the 80s. A warm and surprisingly Swiss feel to the service in this conveniently close to the main railway station and main motorways located hotel. But when I got stuck with a flat tyre, which on a Saturday morning in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your experiences at Hilton Basel. Of course it was a pleasure for our staff to help you out regarding the flat tyre and it is always great to know that engagement like this, where people go the extra mile for our guests, is so much appreciated. Also we are glad... More

North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very good stay apart from lack of dining facilities available. The restaurant is closed on Saturday nights and the bar food available is the same that is on all day in a very dark room. Breakfast was a fairly disappointing buffet type and not like the old Hilton presentation but I think this is true except Gatwick which although always... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSLHI, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Hilton Basel. Your feedback is much appreciated as they help us to constantly improve the quality of our products and services. We have been pleased to read that you were satisfied with helpfulness of staff and cleanliness. However we regret knowing that your expectations have not been met... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Basel

Address: Aeschengraben 31, Basel CH 4002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Basel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Basel Hotel Basel
Hilton International Basel
Basel Hilton International

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Green Hotel in Basel #15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the beautiful city of Basel, Hilton Basel is within walking distance to the central railway station and city airport public shuttle terminal. The Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Exploring Basel is easy, as we offer complimentary public transport tickets to our guests staying at the hotel. After a day of sightseeing or working in multi-cultural Basel, we invite you to our cosy restaurant Wettstein and our bar with a great selection of international and Swiss specialities as well as delicious daily buffet. Our guests may relax or work out in the fitness area, indulge in a massage or refresh at the indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
220

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer