We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

J.J. Balmer Strasse 1, Basel 4053, Switzerland (Formerly Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Apaliving Hotel is a budget hotel in Basel suited for the thrifty traveler or the weekly commuting business traveler. They have rooms with the Nespresso machine, mini-fridge and hot water pot which allows you to prepare your own meal or snack which is heaven if you've been eating hotel breakfasts for too long. It's a good alternative, staff are friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tgancayco
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tgancayco! Thanks for that great review! We hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, your Apaliving More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I loved this hotel with the neat, spacious, comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with all the information and they are so efficient with informing well in advance about self check ins and check outs. I will highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Richa S
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richa S! Thank you very much for your great review and for having chosen us! We hope to see you very soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I like the rooms, nice furnishing And equipped of fridge, nespresso coffee machine, boiler And a choice of tea bags. The problem is that if you arrive after they close the reception And theres a problem you are left to your own. Once the code to get the Key did not work. Rooms are too hot during summer, no air... More 

Helpful?
Thank LivingDeadMeow
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LivingDeadMeow. Thank you for your review! We have removed the wasp's nest immediatly after your notification - thank you! We check our rooms very carefully and we are very sorry that you had this inconvenient. Please also note, that we have a helpline you can call outside our reception opening hours in case you have any trouble. We hope... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The room was very basic, but spotless. It had an Ikea feel about it. I thought it was large enough to hold an aerobics class! Well, not quite, but it was spacious. Nice bathroom with nice towels. When you book, make sure you get your confirmation. It'll have the information you need to get into the hotel and to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wordtech
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wordtech. Thanks for your great review and for having chosen us! :-) We hope to see you soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving More 

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I book a room today via booking.com and when I click submit. I've just realise that this booking is non-refundable. I immediately try to contact the hotel and ask if they could cancel this booking. btw- I book the hotel 3 months in advance. The receptionist is listen to my request and she said that she will talk to her... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pongpatra P
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pongpatra! Thank you for your statement. I am sorry for this unpleasant and awkward situation, but we will find a solution. Please just give consideration that the situation was very confusing due to your several bookings, cancellations and phone calls. I will get in touch with you by e-mail. Thank you for your understanding and kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Basel hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Vercorin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Just stayed in this hotel to visit the Basel Christmas Market.Room was very clean with excellent bathroom,BUT,the hotel reception does not tell you there is no room service at the weekend.After Friday room cleaning there is no fresh towels or bed making for 2 days and the price is still the same.I did not like the fact that reception closed... More 

Helpful?
Thank iangray13
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian! Thank your for having stayed at our hotel. I very much appreciate your straight forward review and will instantly try to improve our way of informing our guests, so that the expectations meet the reality. Regarding your safety concerns, I wish to point out that the hotel is absolutely safe and that we have more than the minimum... More 

London-Brighton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Stayed here for the Art Basel (June), price went up in whole Basel including this one, £100 / night for a budget hotel is a lot but that's the way it is and it's Switzerland! Location is good only few minutes walk to the closest tram stop which go all the way to the main exhibition centre. To the main... More 

Helpful?
Thank luv2ravel
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear luv2ravel! Thank you very much for this great review! Merry Christmas and hopefully we can again welcoming you in 2015! Best regards, your Apaliving More 

Basel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We spent three nights here in October and were very happy with the price, the location and the facilities, particularly the great set of washers and driers in the basement free to use - perfect when away for an extended period to get all the clothes clean. Cheap under cover parking which in Basel is brilliant especially with their great... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, John, for this great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again! Merry Christmas and best regards, your Apaliving More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I booked a room for three nights whilst my apartment was getting ready to be moved in to. An hour after I booked I called the hotel to cancel my reservation as I had received a call from my landlord that I could now move in. The hotel wrote down my message and said that I would have to call... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claudine R
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claudine! I am very sorry that you had that a negative experience in our hotel. I wish to explain that you booked a cheap non refundable rate. Unfortunately this rate has restrictions and therefore can't neither be cancelled nor refunded. If you need total flexibility, I recommend to book the regular daily rate. I am sorry again and wish... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Good location about 10 minute walk from SBB station. Received complimentary tram ticket to use to visit all tourist spots. Room size adequate for two people. Tea and coffee facilities provided. Wifi good

Helpful?
Thank Tigers1945
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tiger! Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Basel and thanks for the great review! We are happy that you enjoyed it with us and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel! Kindest regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#37 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Stadthof
Hotel Stadthof
#40 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel Rochat
Hotel Rochat
#16 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#38 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay