We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YMCA Hostel Basel

Certificate of Excellence
Gempenstrasse 64 | 4053 Basel, Basel CH-4053, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YMCA Hostel Basel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel itself is well kept, clean and all. But the breakfast offered is juice with a croissant and a small bread piece nothing more. The hostel says they give free access to wifi but the truth is it does not work and never lets you connect. The showers look extremely bad and unclean. Overall not worth a visit for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kuba O
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Kuba O, thank you for your feedback. Kindly note that officially we do not offer any breakfast at all, what we serve in the morning is complimentary and meant as a plesant surprise. If you want to have a full breakfast we cannot offer that. Usually, our wi-fi works fine, though we are aware that during your stay we... More 

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Have being here at December 2015. Very good location, nice stuff, good view, quiet. It was Family Weihnacht vacation. Everything was good. Zolly is not so far away. It is possible just walk to the center of the city. The kitchen in our room was a little bit old and some cabinets was broken. But the hotel is the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maxim P
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Maxim P, thank you very much for your feedback! It was our pleasure to welcoming you and we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Fabian More 

cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Location 10 Clean 10 Staff very helpfull Price u cannot find price/location/clean ratio as high as ymca Close to main station Walking distance to main sightseeings Breakfast and daily bus/tram pass/ linens is included in the price But breakfast is weak

Helpful?
Thank halilCyprus
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear halilCyprus, thank you for your positive words. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to welcome you soon again! Warm regards, Fabian More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

We were a group of students staying for one night. This hostel is well situated in Basel, the host are very welcoming and helpful, the building is very clean and cosy, with a nice breakfast. There is a big room where you can eat and a shared kitchen where you can cook your own food. Also a "chillout room" with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clara C
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Liebe Clara C, vielen Dank für den positiven Review! Es war uns ein Vergnügen, Eure Gruppe zu beherbergen und wir... More 

Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

i brought the problem to the attention of fabian, the assistant manager and he took no action; he asked me why i tried the other lockers, what an idiot i double check everywhere i go fabian displayed a non management attitude and has in general a very poor attitude he walks around like he was the general manager ; i... More 

Helpful?
Thank 248bill248
Fabian K, Manager at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear 248bill248, thank you for your review. The situation was brought to my attention as well. I have spoken with Fabian personally and he will face consequeneces. We are fixing the locker key situation as we know about the insecurities. Kind regards, Marco More 

Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

I booked this hotels together with EasyJet. The location, price, and photos look nice so that I booked it, since I will have some discount by booking through Easyjet. As I remember the location is just around 400 meter away from the back side of the Basel SBB, so its quiet convenient. The room that I booked is a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoyWang0512
Fabian K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hallo Swisslittletrip, vielen Dank für dein Feedback. Es freut uns, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat und wir hoffen,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

The hostel has a good atmosphere with a mixed clientele (not just 18-25 year olds). It's in a very convenient location (just behind the Basel train station and it's great that the hostel provides guests with a travel pass giving you access to buses and trams to get you about in town. There is a nice open dining room/communal space... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LDN_18
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear LDN_18, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you some other time again! Best regards, Fabian More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

Our first room was a 4-bed one with private bathroom, which was located next to the main hostel's building. It seemed as since the previous visitors left, there was no housekeeping. Staff was friendly and willing enough to change our room with another one in slightly better condition. It was still not that clean. Rooms are comfortable and would be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Chris_D
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Liebe Eva_Chris_D, vielen Dank für den Review. Wir arbeiten jeden Tag daran, die Studios zu optimieren. Wir hoffen, euch bald... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

I would give this hostel zero stars if I could. Myself and four other friends had a room for five booked to ourselves. While I was in the middle of changing clothes (wearing nothing but underwear), a grown man walked into our room and proceeded to throw his things onto one of my friend's beds while she was sleeping. Evidently... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle H, thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read about your unpleasant stay with us. I apologize sincerely for the mistake of the reception team to assign somebody into a wrong bed. Additionally, I had a word with the receptionist about the way of communicating with our guests. Guest relation always comes first! With all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#37 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#7 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay