We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Centrale

2.0 of 5
Via Cecco Angiolieri, 26, 53100 Siena, Italy
Hotel amenities
Hotel Centrale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Siena
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
hejo2015
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location in the old town of Siena, very near to Piazza del Campo and University, some 500 m from the Duomo (Siena Cathedral). In the neighborhood there are some good restaurants with reasonable prices, small shops and lovely, lively streets. Hotel is in 5th floor of a medieval building, no lift! No parking place either, but fascinated views over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Siena was the second part of our stay in Italy. Sadly just before we got to Siena, one of us suffered an injury to their ankle. Nothing serious but lots of bruising and swelling. We knew we had 4 floors of stairs to climb, however when we got to the property, Rosario was kind enough to carry both our suitcases... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is not 5*, it is at the top of a mountain of a staircase, it is dated. Sounds bad? It is also in the most amazing location, incredably charming, remarkable value for money and staffed by really helpful and amusing staff. Even if you don't stay at this hotel use it's location to benchmark where you are staying, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel Centrale is for people like us that enjoy: walking four flights of stairs and burning off lunch; having a private balcony to enjoy a bottle of vino and a panini; enjoy the hosts tips for restaurants; watching as the pulley system brings up our bags from the ground floor; the classic Italian hotel breakfast of yoghurt, a croissant, &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Albergo Centrale is not a hotel but a guesthouse in the top floor of a residential building. Our room was pretty small and somewhat rundown. There was a fridge but it was noisy and so old that it did not work properly anymore. We've been there in April and the room temperatures have been ok, but in summer it must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rosario G, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review

FAKE REVIEW. THE CUSTOMER HAS NEVER've AT OUR HOTEL. WE ASKED A TRIPADVAISOR EA BOOKING.COM TO ASK FOR RECEIPT TESTIMONIA THAT THE PRESENCE OF YOU NOTHING BUT NEVER ARRIVED. ANYONE CAN 'TO WRITE A REVIEW IN TRIPADVAISOR. The following is the email that we sent to the customer. Good evening, We inform you that we have restored the damage caused... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
181 hotel reviews
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a great stay in a basic, but clean spacious room with small fridge, good WiFi and Cable TV. The shower was tiny with little water pressure, but overall this is good value when you consider the central location and that breakfast (continental) is included. The hotel is a good 30 minute walk from the train station but only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were created by our host Rosario upon our arrival. He was gracious and very friendly. We knew we were going to be walking a lot of stairs and he used a lift to pull our bags to the fourth floor. Our room was cozy with a fantastic view of the Tower. It was a very clean and tidy room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

You walk up five floors on narrow and steep stairs, When you get to the top you find a sign that says more or less: "Look don't even think about complaining. We sent you the contract with the conditions. We told you it was on the top floor and there was no elevator. No, we won't cancel your reservation." Frankly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zwevegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a budget hotel, well managed, helpfull staff (they provided me with everything you need to know about Brunello tour etc), I had a lovely little balcony where I had breakfast! Its central location is a big plus! OK there is no elevator, but it is stated in the reservation, so I don't see why people are complaining, parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a great stay here. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony which was great for enjoying a bottle of wine before dinner. Our room also had a mini refrigerator to store food. The staff was more than helpful in suggesting restaurants and activities. Breakfast was continental, pastry with choice of coffee. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question