We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Magnolia B&B

Hotel website
via Mordini 63 | 55100 Lucca, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Magnolia B&B
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Magnolia B&B
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WIFI is non-existent. Useless. She who provided breakfast was all smiles and very helpful and made the rooms clean and tidy. The communication with the owners was very poor. Almost rude. The rooms were adequate but needed maintenance. The location was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

..besides the nice place (all lucca is nice) They yell too much at clients for no reason and are very rude! I was in the city with my mother for a couple of days She had to sustain a foot surgery, 1 day prior the surgery and one day after, so she could rest in the hotel instead of remain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave your feedback though you haven't stayed at our place. I'm sorry you had a non positive experience with the person you spoke with over the phone. The availability is something very dinamic, at one moment there is one room still vacant and the second after there isn't anymore so I'm sorry... More 

Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location in the heart of Lucca old town (inside walls). Lovely entrance of an old Palazzo with  breakfast served in a quaint outdoor ‎area.  The bedroom has a neat and clean aesthetic as it shows in pictures. Unfortunately, as is case with many Italian lodgings, the threadbare mattress lacked cushioning and support and therefore springs were very evident. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for taking some time to leave your feedback about your stay. We take every single comment as a challenge and as a starting point to improve our service . About breakfast,we believe that every taste is different so it's pretty difficult to make everybody's happy but we try to do our best to satisfy at least the most of... More 

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had an excellent stay in La Magnolia during a two-week language course. Clean room with large bathroom, nice breakfast served every morning and in the evening there was always a nice bottle of wine or something else to drink. Mille grazie a Gloria per la sua ospitalità !

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia More 

Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mis dispiace io parlo italiano solamente un po', mai la mia vacanza in Lucca sta al Magnolia B & B molto bene. Gloria e benissimo. I do not know the words in italiano yet. Gloria was helpful and my stay at Magnolia was lovely. Gloria set out a tasty colazione ogni mattina e vino some evenings. My room was tended... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia More 

Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had wanted to stay within the walls of Lucca. This B&B was affordable and centrally located once we figured out where it was. Although Gloria had offered to meet us, we declined and walked from the train station. It was necessary to use both the directions on line along with a map to find the B&B. This I feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia More 

Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As others have written, Gloria is the new owner and she has gone out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. There were the little extra things that made our stay there nice. For example, during our three weeks in Italy this was the only hotel that had a box of tissue in the bathroom and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grazie. Sono felice che i piccoli gesti di attenzione alla persona siano apprezzati, questo è il mio modo di essere.... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

When I booked in April this looked excellent. Oh how things have changed. It seems Andrea is no longer there and while Gloria the new owner is really trying but she doesn't have a lot to work with. Things look shabby and some things unclean. My friend's outlet in her bathroom did not work but Gloria instantly got someone over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentili signori, non sono solita replicare, ma in questo caso due o tre cose devo dirle a rispetto del vero.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The pictures on the site would lead you to believe that this was an ideal choice. How wrong! We only booked for one night and were glad that we hadn't committed for longer. The rooms were sparse with only a sofa and the bed. The bathroom was equally sparse. There was an old TV that was not working. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have just stayed at La Magnolia and was very happy with the accommodation. It is in the old part of town within the walled area so you step out the door straight onto the narrow, cobbled streets. The building of this B and B was originally a 1600s palace so it has a great feel to it as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay