We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Giglio Rosso

Guido Monaco 25, 50144 Florence, Italy
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Giglio Rosso
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Il Giglio Rosso
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
62
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The host, Carlos, was really welcoming and helpful even before we got there! All email enquiries were replied promptly. We stayed there for 6 nights, although we had trouble with the shower at the beginning, the problem was fixed on the same day as we notified Carlos. It is within walking distance to santa Maria novella station, so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Overall a good accomodation experience, specially compared with staying in Florence's overpriced and needing renovation hotels... If you are driving it is really tough to park, but the B&B has a parking agreement with a parking close by. Check in first before parking. What I really enjoyed: - Friendly staff (ask them for recommendations on where to eat, etc.); -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just want to say how wonderful it was to stay at this location. While I was in Italy recently, I made several stops in different cities and Florence was one of them. I must say what a great relief to stay at this place I loved it!!!! We were 3 girls and we all agreed this was a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went there for few nights, arrived late, without any problems as they had given me a code to enter the building. Only few minutes from Santa Maria Novella train station and into city centre aswell. Room was bright and the furniture looked like new, lcd tv, aircon, fan and bathroom was spacious. Breakfast is simple, good coffee and some pastry.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I know the owner and his wife and they are too kind!!!! they gave me all the informations I needed!!! Strategic position.....modern b&b,They gave me also an enter code to get in to the building so my arrival was too easy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

plus: low cost, negative: no front desk, no one available later in the day, rooms too small, bathroom and shower clean but very tight , I cat imagine being over 180 lb and being able to fit in the shower. walk at night very scary but noneventful.... so if u are alone , DO Not choose this place. breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry if your experience here at Il Giglio Rosso has been under your expectations and we apologize for this. Since we bought this b&b, on may 2013, we always work to welcome you and let you stay as best as we can, so thanks for your feedback: I have to improove my job... Anyway about the... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was average. I probably wouldn't stay there again. We stayed 1 night. The place is easy to find and to get into. The floors were really dirty and probably hadn't been cleaned (or swept) in a while. The bathroom was average size, we had some problems with the toilet when we first arrived (it kept running) but somehow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your detailed feedback: usefull to improve our work. When you arrived we were here maybe from 20 days so... You know we could have inherit also some problem as we could have done some mistake due to a new begining ... We really apologize for the problem you found during your stay here, althought I... More 

Bellville, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Il Giglio Rosso in Florence was fair in terms of location if walking is something you don't mind, which we quite enjoy. Quite safe, but the breakfast and bathroom are really below what we expected. The owner was very helpful when there but mostly staff where only available until 13:00 and with the different staff almost daily it was impossible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, it is really what we need to improove our job. As You maybe know me and my wife bought Il Giglio Rosso few weeks ago with a lot of ideas and project to make it better, to make it own. Unfortunatly so far we had not much time to spend in renewing our... More 

Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We didn't pay very much to stay in this b&b. It wasn't that bad, but if I'm going back to Florence I will consider paying a little bit more and stay in a more central hotel or b&b. The b&b is only about 10 minutes by foot from the railway station, but it takes about 30 minutes to walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's a unique Bed & Breakfast, you feel like at home, you get an accessing code that you recieve before your arrival. The owner is there just in the morning for breakfast, making great cappucinos and in case you want to he also gives you all the information that you need about Florence, very professional and polite person.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Il Giglio Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Rosso

Address: Guido Monaco 25, 50144 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Giglio Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Rosso Hotel Florence

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay