We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Giglio Rosso

Hotel website
Guido Monaco 25, 50144 Florence, Italy
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Giglio Rosso
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Il Giglio Rosso
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    33
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 3 night stay here in May 2015. Despite the initial hiccups (we had trouble finding the building, and then Agoda screwed up our reservation), I must say we had a pretty good stay. The whole B&B is decked out in a very attractive quirky design which makes you feel glad to return at the end of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Funky little B&B within walking distance to the train station. We arrived late but had emailed the hotel and were given the access code to the building and told where to find the keys. Upon entering our room we were delighted to find that it was exactly like the pictures we had seen online. The bed was super comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

The rooms were spacious, by European standards. But finding the place, if you blink you will miss it. The host was fantastic and so very helpful. We walked into the main part of the city everyday and it was close to the train line. Breakfast was good and the host was so attentive in making us coffee every morning. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Thanks Megan for your kind feedback! We hope to welcome you again in Florence! Carlo&Silvia More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

The host, Carlos, was really welcoming and helpful even before we got there! All email enquiries were replied promptly. We stayed there for 6 nights, although we had trouble with the shower at the beginning, the problem was fixed on the same day as we notified Carlos. It is within walking distance to santa Maria novella station, so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Yannis thanks for your beautiful feedback! We hope to welcome you soon in Florence again! Carlo&Silvia More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Overall a good accomodation experience, specially compared with staying in Florence's overpriced and needing renovation hotels... If you are driving it is really tough to park, but the B&B has a parking agreement with a parking close by. Check in first before parking. What I really enjoyed: - Friendly staff (ask them for recommendations on where to eat, etc.); -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just want to say how wonderful it was to stay at this location. While I was in Italy recently, I made several stops in different cities and Florence was one of them. I must say what a great relief to stay at this place I loved it!!!! We were 3 girls and we all agreed this was a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went there for few nights, arrived late, without any problems as they had given me a code to enter the building. Only few minutes from Santa Maria Novella train station and into city centre aswell. Room was bright and the furniture looked like new, lcd tv, aircon, fan and bathroom was spacious. Breakfast is simple, good coffee and some pastry.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I know the owner and his wife and they are too kind!!!! they gave me all the informations I needed!!! Strategic position.....modern b&b,They gave me also an enter code to get in to the building so my arrival was too easy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

plus: low cost, negative: no front desk, no one available later in the day, rooms too small, bathroom and shower clean but very tight , I cat imagine being over 180 lb and being able to fit in the shower. walk at night very scary but noneventful.... so if u are alone , DO Not choose this place. breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry if your experience here at Il Giglio Rosso has been under your expectations and we apologize for this. Since we bought this b&b, on may 2013, we always work to welcome you and let you stay as best as we can, so thanks for your feedback: I have to improove my job... Anyway about the... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was average. I probably wouldn't stay there again. We stayed 1 night. The place is easy to find and to get into. The floors were really dirty and probably hadn't been cleaned (or swept) in a while. The bathroom was average size, we had some problems with the toilet when we first arrived (it kept running) but somehow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your detailed feedback: usefull to improve our work. When you arrived we were here maybe from 20 days so... You know we could have inherit also some problem as we could have done some mistake due to a new begining ... We really apologize for the problem you found during your stay here, althought I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay