We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Donatello

Piazza Indipendenza 23, 50129 Florence, Italy
Hotel amenities
Hotel Donatello
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #325 of 458 Hotels in Florence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Javier S Nashville, Tennessee
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    93
    94
    55
    60
See reviews for
53
123
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our last of 3 hotels we stay in Italy and it was a mix experience. First the location was horrible even when you have a the Porta Maggiore ancient wall from the 52 AD across the street. Let me say is not a nice looking side of town. The hotel is small, more like a boutique. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I went with my girlfriend just for 3 nights. It was a great offer and dispites the uneven reviews, we decided to take it. And was a really great decision! The staff was really nice, always trying to help us everytime we need. The room was worm and the bed was confortable. They change the towels every day (if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDonatello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, grazie per la sua opinione e speriamo di accogliervi presto. Lavoriamo su internet More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I have just spent a night with a group of young people in this hotel. The first impression was terrible we were told that since we were a group they could not give us any attention because they had more vip guests. We left our luggages in the basement without any assurance and came back in the late afternoon. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDonatello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

I remember well this group. The group arrived at 9.30 A.M: when the check-inn is after 2 P.M. The single room which the client reserved was a regular single room. In January the aircondition is not working because the heat is on. If the client felt warm she could phone to the reception ( in all the rooms are discriptions... More 

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

There seemed to be a bit of Fawlty Towers about this hotel. Rooms were strange shapes and sizes. Staff were quite unhelpful and rude on one hand and other times they were wonderful and would do anything to help. Bathroom was refreshingly good and clean. Good hot water and shower head. But the hairdryer really needs updating. Heated towel rail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDonatello, Responsabile reception at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive comment. We are sorry if something wasn't good for You.. We always try to please our Guest, and we will try to improve our service. We hope to still have You as our guest Best Regards More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I am very happy staying in hotel Donatello. Nice atmosphere, nice location, cosy hotel and warm relations!!! Thank you Hotel Donatello!!!! We were in a business trip and used also the parking of the hotel, which is available and was very comfortable for us. Thanks, Albena Kostova

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDonatello, Responsabile reception at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are happy if your stay was confortable in our Hotel. Thank you for you comment. we hope to still have You as our guest Best Regards More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My travel girlfriend and I just returned from a whirlwind Venice-Florence 3-day weekend. I booked Hotel Donatello on booking.com based on its location near the historic quarter. To get here from the train station, exit through the front door of Firenze SMN Station, cross the street, go right to the corner (McDonalds on left). Turn left at the stoplight then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDonatello, Responsabile reception at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for having furnished precise road indications. It's really important that other guests know that we are near to the historical center. Thank you also for the positive comment on ours Murano glass chandeliers. Best Regards More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is a charming hotel. We had a very spacious room with a comfortable and large double bed. The bathroom was very large, and had a corner bath which worked well as a shower too.There was also a bidet. It was a short walk to the city centre which has more restaurants and bars than you can shake a stick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelDonatello, Responsabile reception at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your positive comments. We thank you also for comment on Breakfast.. so we'll try to improve our service. Best Regards Veronica More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I've contacted the hotel via phone from Australia 4 times to speak to my mother from last night to this morning still have had no luck in speaking to her as the incompetent reception staff are unable to find out which room my mother is in, they are asking me the number of her room, do they not believe in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cupar Fife
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights with a group of friends at this hotel, we were given room 109 which is accessed from the garden courtyard. The room was a reasonable size but the major problem was the mosquitoes getting into the room from the garden and feasting on us! The hotel is reasonably central for the centre. Breakfast buffet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Average but it could be easily improved. Good location and good breakfast makes are this hotel best features. The staff was really nice as well but it sucks that even these days they charge you for WiFI. There's free wifi all around Florence anyway so it's no big problem. Weird room numeration as well, sometimes 2XX won't be in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question