We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Martelli Hotel

3.0 of 5
Via Panzani 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martelli Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Martelli Hotel
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    75
    120
    55
    62
See reviews for
51
143
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

So, everything you have read about this hotel is correct. The good and the bad. The only question is what kind of traveler are you. If you are a needy traveler who spends time down at the concierge/front desk making requests, or need wifi and TV or Nespresso in your room you will not be happy. The rooms are huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Dear customer, thanks for choosing us and for sharing your experience at Martelli on this website. We are pleased you've had a nice stay and your comment is important for us .I am sorry if you've found that the staff was rude generally it is not and I will ensure that it will not happen again. Hope to see you... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to Florence by train (from the UK) and walked the couple of hundred yards to the hotel - we had booked a bit randomly so were delighted to find that our room had a chandelier, a painted ceiling and lots of well polished free standing wooden furniture (19th century?) giving endless storage space. The hotel itself occupies two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Dearest Miss Helena, thank you so much for choosing us and thank you for the detailed description .We always try to keep an original and distinctive warm hotel for those who like this kind of structure.We are pleased that you've appreciate it . Hope to welcome you soon Kindest regards Francesca More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Our room lacked a shower head that was attached to the wall, thus we were required to hold the shower head while bathing. The staff moved us to a suite later that day because their maintenance man could not fix it. We did not complain. The suite has a view of both the front of the hotel and street, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Stayed two nights. The only good thing about this hotel is its location, near the train station and shopping. Everything else is below average or poor. The Internet does not work, although we were promised 'free internet'. The lady at the reception is not helpful, room is cold and TV is still the 14" CRT type. The breakfast is nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Urrghh...bad experience!!! Upon arrival the reception area was nice enough and we both thought it would be ok. How very wrong we were!! We were given Room 55 (bearing in mind, there are only 54 rooms according to booking.com)! The night staff gave us our key and told us how to find the room. After 2 lifts and a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Our room (44) was spacious. The staff was friendly but the best thing about the hotel is its location! In the heart of the city, within walking distance from everything! When compared to other hotels of the city centre, it provides lower rates and bigger rooms. This was the reason we stayed here two times so far. However I must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

"Terrible" is too generous of a rating for this hotel. Read some other reviews about this hotel - the people saying it is terrible are telling the truth. So, if you end up staying here and have a terrible time - it's your fault because you've been warned. This hotel is filthy...and I can't even say it is falling apart,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Located about 5 minutes from the train station and within walking distance to the Duomo are about the only positive things I have to say about this hotel. The staff are on the whole very unfriendly, especially those who work in the breakfast room. Don't expect a friendly greeting or even a cup of coffee then seem to go out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bacau, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The location of this hotel is indeed great! About 7 min till the train station and less than 10 minutes on foot to the main attractions of the city. The staff was ok, the room I received didn't look like the ones in their photos (with a painted ceiling and nice furniture). As far as I could tell, there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Drammen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location in Florence. Short walking distance to all sights, and also the train station. Nice and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Clean rooms with air-condition. Overall good value.

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question