We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Guelfo Bianco

#16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
Expert photos View all
Browse nearby
Il Guelfo Bianco
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    369
    57
    13
    3
See reviews for
407
846
60
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1697)
  • Mar-May only
    (449)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (440)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (502)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (306)
All months
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Based on TA reviews, my wife and I made reservations months before our trip to Florence, and we were not disappointed. We were given a room with a private terrace. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety. The location is unbeatable. Service was beyond reproach. Everyone was extremely warm and helpful. Perfect place for a stay in Florence.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mahon, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The situation is perfect. close to almost everywhere most people want to go. We had a room at the back, whch was large and very quiet. Breakfast good. The "bistro next door" is excellent, particularly for vegetarians and lovers of "biological" wines. And if you do not want to eat there (or it is full) there are plenty of restaurnats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davis, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Italy. It is within walking distance of the train station on a fairly main street, in fact just down the street from the Duomo. Our room was small but had a nice balcony. Others we saw were larger without a balcony. The building itself is quite interesting and displays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Urbana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We can't believe that the previous reviewer stayed in the same hotel. Our room was clean, cool and spacious for a couple. The windows and shutters closed so tightly that we ended up sleeping in every morning. Our room looked over the street. The only noise we heard were an occasional ambulance (everybody hears them) and a brief morning protest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was really pleased with my small room at this hotel, which was on the top floor and featured a beamed ceiling and lovely views. This hotel had everything I needed for my week in Florence - a nice bathroom, plenty of closet space, a comfy bed, excellent wifi signal, a good breakfast and a loaner umbrella for the rain.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is all about location ! Walking distance from most of the Florence attractions, cafes and a whole lot of places. Good size room. Same old boring breakfast though. No change over the two days we spent there. And hospitality from the server at the breakfast table - NON EXISTING. Could do so much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst hotel that I've stayed at in a long time. Upon check in I found the room to be poorly lit and less than clean. I'm a frequent traveler and have stayed at many other Italian hotels with which to compare this one and this one ranks as one of the worst. The first night there we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GUELFOMANAGER, Direttore at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

At Il Guelfo Bianco, we try very hard to accommodate our guests. We want them to have a great experience and we usually succeed in doing so. We only found out about your issues at check-out, you never gave us an opportunity to make it right during your stay: we could have offered another room for example. We don’t allow... More 

Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week with a baby and couldn't be happier. The deluxe room was huge, beautifully decorated, and had a genuine Florentine feel. The staff were endlessly gracious and helpful, and the breakfast delicious. The rooms were kept impeccably clean (notwithstanding the mess that only a baby can make). The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being equidistant from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GUELFOMANAGER, Direttore at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Gabriella b, we have been so happy to welcome you her with your mother and your daughter here at our hotel. We will have a lots a host of warm memories about you three. Me and my staff we wish to thank you very much for the nice words you had for all of us especially our chambermaid are... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. We had booked the apartment since we knew we were going to be jetlagged and it worked out perfectly as we adjusted to the new timezone as we could each adapt to the time change at our own speed. The apartment was spacious (indeed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located, has excellent amenities, delicious breakfast and a wonderful restaurant attached. The staff are helpful polite and always welcoming, you can tell it is a family run business and that they genuinely care for their clients. Overall we had a wonderful experience thanks to Il Guelfo Bianco I highly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

809 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (449)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (141)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (334)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #108 (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #336 (48)
Viewed
Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities