We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Rex

Via Faenza 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
Add Photo

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    73
    58
    35
    47
See reviews for
36
90
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel is in a great location. The Quadruple room we stayed in was quite small for 4 people and the layout was not nice. The bathroom was very tiny, the TV and intercom were not working when we got in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Location good but old man at front counter not interested. Pretended not to know anything. Don't bother with breakfast. Rooms were old bathroom dirty and mouldy. Wifi only worked downstairs in the foyer barely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We spent 1 night in this hotel. Rooms and its bathroom are spacious and sparklingly clean. Its location is in the middle of the tourist attractions. Basilica di San Lorenzo is just 400m away. The Santa Maria Novella Train Station is 5 minutes walk only. The tourist attractions such Palazzo Vecchio, Boboli Gardens, Pitti Palace, etc can be accessed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The hotel is well situated but parking is a big problem and very expensive. If u come by car look for a better hotel. Our room is small and dirty with no mini bar. The hotel website promised a mini bar but no, they sent me to the made to put our food in kitchen fridge. Not recomended at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
sangiorgio, Owner at Hotel Rex, responded to this review

Dear Guest, after we checked the room ,we did not find anything wrong; garage is not our property it's a cooperation to furnish a best service to the clients ; MInibar was out of work ,sometimes happens ,you might asked for another one!!!! all above does not justify so bad words about our Hotel when we did our best for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I stayed at hotel Rex in November 2014. Front desk staff was very nice. The location was central to a bustling street, which I enjoyed. The room was microscopic, slightly bigger than the mattress. However the bathroom was surprisingly large by comparison. There was also a decent continental breakfast offered. with the basic Italian breakfast foods and coffee. I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Great location, close to shops/restaurants and landmarks, but the rooms themselves do not look and well kept/clean/new as the photos on the website portray. The showers are ridiculously tiny (standard double room) - if you're bigger than average you'll struggle fitting, luckily it's just a shower curtain keeping the water in the "shower" from the sink/toilet... Also the tv is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cuenca, Ecuador
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I just stayed here for almost 2 weeks. Adrian who is the young man who works the front desk is so friendly and helpful. And I enjoyed all the staff. This is not a fancy place but for the price it's awesome. The location is 2 short blocks from Santa Maria del Fiore. It is in the big Lorenzo Plaza... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Very centrally located for shopping and local market. It is not fancy but very basic, and what you need for a night . Very helpful well articulated and friendly receptionist gentlemen. A place to sleep at and have a basic breakfast. Attractive priced and good value for money. Carpark just around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The location was great! The room was what we expect from a european room, same with the breakfast. Wifi was horrible, also what we usually expect when traveling. The staff was nice, except do not interrupt the older gentleman that works there WHILE he is watching the news. Other than that, it was a decent place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay