We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grifone Firenze

Via G Pilati 20-22, 50136 Florence, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grifone Firenze
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Grifone Firenze
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    79
    83
    36
    27
See reviews for
51
72
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For those that aren't spending too much time in the hotel rooms, this may be a good fit. It is a little removed from downtown Florence, but the rooms offer all the necessary accommodations. The rooms have free wifi, which does work most of the time, and is clean and well-kept (even if the rooms are a bit run down).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dino C, Direttore at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Client, we thank you for the time spent in writing your review. We appreciate very much the plus of our hotel and we inform you that since few months started a completely renovation of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future to show you our improvement. Kindest regards Dino C. More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went as part of a tour and the experience was not good at all... The room was hot during my 2 day stay. When I notified it on the first night, the person who was at reception seemed to be really bothered by my commenting about the A/C not working. When I asked, she made a face like I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dino C, Direttore at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Ruthie, I am very disappointed for the the manner you have been treated. If you can describe the person had a so rude behavior, I will take serious steps. It is true we had particular hot days, but we could lend a fan for example, if the machine did not work properly, or it was not set in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a bit run down, but it is clean and pleasant. Fortunately, we were too tired by the time we got back to the hotel each evening to notice any other problems. They only serve breakfast. The variety is good, though the eggs tasted oddly, so I left them alone. The wifi was spotty at best, even in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dino C, Direttore at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Client, we thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. We inform you that we are renewing all the hotel and, within the end of the year, we will have a lot of suprises. We hope that we can show them to you in your next trip to Florence. Kindest regards Dino C. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We arrived at the Hotel Grifone at the end of a bike tour. It was the worst hotel we found on our trip. The airconditioning did not work in our first room, so we changed rooms and got marginally cooler in the second. The room temperature never dropped below 25 deg though. Everything is worn and tired; stains on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dino C, Direttore at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry you did not find comfortable our Hotel. Concerning the temperature in the room, I have to say there was something like 38 degrees (centigrade) in those days outside, so the macchine of air conditioning worked so hard We showed to the guest various rooms and they chose that one they preferred. I hope to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

I slept several times in the hotel during my visits to the city. It is a simple hotel (the photos corresponds to reality), with the right price (remember the hotel categories are not the same in all countries) and not too far from the center city (some minutes by foot to the historic center). What I appreciate most of all,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dino C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Client, from all the staff of Hotel Grifone many thanks for your kind words about our job. We hope to see you again in the next trip to Italy. Kindest regards Dino C. More 

Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Luca, the man who was at the front desk is overwhelmed by his job. The people who give service supposed to be cheerful and helpful, but instead was rude, impatient and had no time to give an advice or information. When we arrived, tired he just kept talking at the phone arguing all the time. The rooms were old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dino C, Direttore at Hotel Grifone Firenze, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I spoke to my collegue Luca, and he told me he remained alone as his collegues were assisting other clients. It was a really busy moment, and he apologize for the not excellent attention reserved to you. He tried as well to calm the group of young people, but he had success only after a certain time. I... More 

Teverola, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The Grifone was a comfortable hotel for us. The bus stop to take us to the main area of Florence was about one block away. Very good pricing (we had two rooms). Front desk was helpful. Breakfast was normal Italian. Very few resturants around the area, eat in other area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I stayed twice in this hotel and each time for several mights. I find this hotel an extremely good compromise for a city like Florence that has either good hotels with excessive prices or rather bad hotels with prices too high for what they offer. Here we have clean, remodeled and functional rooms, in a modern-like hotel with parking facilities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed one night in the side building of the hotel. Our spatious rooms downstairs had a smell of damp and mold inside. Otherwise the hotel was comfortable and service was very good. Also buffet breakfast was generous and tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed couple days here as a stop before heading to rome. Room was nice nothing special bed was hard but every hotel we stayed in italy had hard bed so maybe thats how they all are. Wifi was great, staff was nice and super helpful, breakfast was good. Not close to train station but quick bus trip away to hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Meridiana
#306 of 463 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Il Granduca
Hotel Il Granduca
#149 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#234 of 463 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quadra Key Residence
#185 of 463 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Select Hotel
#311 of 463 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Hotel Raffaello Florence
#310 of 463 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay