We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

President Hotel Splendid

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Via Dietro Cappuccini, 10, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
President Hotel Splendid
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    52
    48
    35
    39
See reviews for
17
104
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good value, but the hotels pretty mediocre. Ok breakfast, the pool only gets sun until 1 or 2pm, and the bathroom in our room was a bit smelly. Definitely pay up for a room with a balcony. I was impressed with the size of the balcony, and the view is incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed last week for a week with my boyfriend. and we were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. I was nervous prior to arrival I as had read some really negative Trip Advisor reviews regarding the hotel - my low expectations were more than met! PROS: - Free Wifi (this was a little weak at times BUT this was provided for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a five star experience then this isn't for you. However, the hotel is a good 3 star, clean and quirky hotel. Previously a convent, it is ideally located in the centre of Taormina. Restaurants and shops a 2 miinute walk away. The view is fab from the hotel. The hotel has a small pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off, when comparing prices, remember that aircondition costs extra (€10 for us). Not including AC in the price of the room earns them a lower grade right away. A bad trick to try and appear cheaper when comparing prices. The first room I got had a door directly to the pool area. Nice I thought, but within the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Milford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

My Girlfriend and I have just returned from 1 week in Taormina where we stayed in the Hotel Splendid, we had the most enjoyable stay. The hotel is very clean, the staff are extremely friendly, the food at the pool bar is gorgeous although only available 12.30-3pm, the breakfast in adequate and the view from breakfast is stunning. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

On arrival at 5:30pm our room wasn't ready and neither was the next one we were offered, so we spent the first night in a small, musty room next to the pool. The guy on reception had no authority to reassure us that we would be able to change rooms again and wouldn't/couldn't give us extra sheets so that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

- price -quality relation is bad - the hotel was very old, some things broken ( ceiling fan was noisy, shutters were broken, so we had to fix them) - breakfast was poor, it would be much better with vegetables, fruits and some warm food such as omelette and bacon. - no lunch/dinner at the hotel - wi-fi doesn't work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

Below I'll enumerate some pros and cons which, would have resulted in a 3-star review, and then explain why we enjoyed the hotel enough to bump it up to 4 stars. Hotel Pros: -Amazing views, even from the breakfast dining room. -Balcony is huge on the fifth floor, with solid wood deck chairs (great for sunbathing) and plastic dining chairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
viphotel, Responsabile reception at President Hotel Splendid, responded to this review
Google Translation

Abbiamo varie tipologie di camera quelle più economiche naturalmente non hanno la vista e affacciano nel cortile interno dell'hotel quindi... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We had a very good experience at Hotel Splendid. Rooms were large and so was the bathroom. They could have had more places to put luggage, but for the two nights we stayed, we only had 2 carry-ons and we were fine. They had a beautiful pool area - which we did not get a chance to use, but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel we were pleasantly surprised, it was clean, tidy, warm welcome, free parking, great views, excellent value for money, comfortable and overall a decent little hotel, could do with Wifi in the room but hey, I'm on holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#60 of 89 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Greta
Hotel Villa Greta
#50 of 89 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#51 of 89 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#59 of 89 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay