We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monte Tauro Hotel

#20 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Monte Tauro Hotel
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    179
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
265
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (443)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Naples, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed this hotel, which was the first of 4 hotels we visited while touring Sicily. The food, service and rooms were perfect. Each of the couple's we ltraveled with had spectacular water views off the patio. My biggest concern is this hotel is built on the side of a cliff and unless you are in excellent condition you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teaneck, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location and value. Friendly and professional staff. Fantastic views from room with huge terrace. Geraniums galore Steep driveway leading down to the hotel may be a problem for a few visitors but not for the average person. It's well worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was part of a long planned trip with our friends David and Kate Hastings to tour south of Italy and Sicily embracing Italy’s years of history and culture along with the current. To do this we asked Planetrail to plan our whole trip which started with a flight to Rome where we stayed for three nights at the Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a week in early May 2015. Room spotless, excellent views. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food and service to a high standard. Hotel well placed for exploring Taormina and for picking up excursions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are delighted to thank you for sharing your positive comments about Hotel Monte Tauro on Tripadvisor . We love to read what our Guest write about us in the way we can improve our services at best for an even better holiday. We are glad to know you have enjoyed an unforgettable stay at our Hotel, both... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The location in Taormina is hard to beat...it's a 3 minutes walk from the centre and the amphiteatre. The views are breathtaking since the hotel is "attached" to the rock...it's simply amazing. The staff is friendly and will go out of their way to help out or find solutions. Getting there can be stressfull if you're driving a rental car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for your kind feedback. We love to read what our Guest write about us in the way we can improve our services at best for an even better holiday. We are glad to know you have enjoyed an unforgettable stay at our Hotel Monte Tauro, both for our room facilities and for the staff warm... More 

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Touring Calabria & Sicilia we decided that Monte Tauro Hotel would be our last stop there. We're glad we did and we founded that gem from so many hotels to choose from. We liked everything about this hotel - location, stunning views and modern styling. However, what we enjoyed the most were people working there. They were truly profesional and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We feel honoured you have chosen Hotel Monte Tauro during your Tour of Sicily and Calabria and thank you for the excellent comments about our staff , the courtesy and professionalism that every day each of them dedicate to our Guests . Hoping to have the... More 

Pretoria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

We arrived without a booking and were kindly taken care of and given a decent rack rate (admittedly well out of season). Room was spotless. Comfy bed and decent free wifi. The view has to be one of the greatest in the world. Worth the price of the room alone. Very efficient service and great to have parking in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments about Hotel Monte Tauro on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read the excellent comments about the efficient service and the stunning location of our Hotel. We always try to do our best for Guest comfort and wellness. Hoping to have the chance of welcoming you back to... More 

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

A bit difficult to find and the first time you take your car down the drive it's a bit hairy, but once you're there, it's comfortablle and well appointed. Friendly welcome, outstanding view (although if you're 4th floor or lower, you won't get a full view of Etna). The restaurant is closed in winter except for breakfast (which is pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Have stayed here twice in the past three years. Love the modern styling and furnishings as well as the impressive views into the bay. Lovely breakfasts in the restaurant, and the views while dining are just beautiful. A steep climb up out of the hotel,not easy for a woman in heels, but dress accordingly and it's well worth the climb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Although the hotel could not fix the very bad weather during our stay in Taormina, they did nothing to make it better or more pleasant. All the offered for the rain was old broken umbrellas, during the worst of the storm, they closed their dining room. Breakfast was only adequate. They charged three euros for use of a teabag and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to write us your suggestions through Tripadvisor. We always keep in high regard our Guest comments in order to improve our service standards. We are sorry to read you have not enjoyed your stay at our House due to extremely bad weather condition on last December. Even us, we were not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

223 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (215)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay