We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monte Tauro Hotel

#19 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Monte Tauro Hotel
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    178
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
265
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (440)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a week in early May 2015. Room spotless, excellent views. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food and service to a high standard. Hotel well placed for exploring Taormina and for picking up excursions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are delighted to thank you for sharing your positive comments about Hotel Monte Tauro on Tripadvisor . We love to read what our Guest write about us in the way we can improve our services at best for an even better holiday. We are glad to know you have enjoyed an unforgettable stay at our Hotel, both... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The location in Taormina is hard to beat...it's a 3 minutes walk from the centre and the amphiteatre. The views are breathtaking since the hotel is "attached" to the rock...it's simply amazing. The staff is friendly and will go out of their way to help out or find solutions. Getting there can be stressfull if you're driving a rental car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for your kind feedback. We love to read what our Guest write about us in the way we can improve our services at best for an even better holiday. We are glad to know you have enjoyed an unforgettable stay at our Hotel Monte Tauro, both for our room facilities and for the staff warm... More 

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Touring Calabria & Sicilia we decided that Monte Tauro Hotel would be our last stop there. We're glad we did and we founded that gem from so many hotels to choose from. We liked everything about this hotel - location, stunning views and modern styling. However, what we enjoyed the most were people working there. They were truly profesional and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We feel honoured you have chosen Hotel Monte Tauro during your Tour of Sicily and Calabria and thank you for the excellent comments about our staff , the courtesy and professionalism that every day each of them dedicate to our Guests . Hoping to have the... More 

Pretoria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

We arrived without a booking and were kindly taken care of and given a decent rack rate (admittedly well out of season). Room was spotless. Comfy bed and decent free wifi. The view has to be one of the greatest in the world. Worth the price of the room alone. Very efficient service and great to have parking in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments about Hotel Monte Tauro on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read the excellent comments about the efficient service and the stunning location of our Hotel. We always try to do our best for Guest comfort and wellness. Hoping to have the chance of welcoming you back to... More 

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

A bit difficult to find and the first time you take your car down the drive it's a bit hairy, but once you're there, it's comfortablle and well appointed. Friendly welcome, outstanding view (although if you're 4th floor or lower, you won't get a full view of Etna). The restaurant is closed in winter except for breakfast (which is pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Have stayed here twice in the past three years. Love the modern styling and furnishings as well as the impressive views into the bay. Lovely breakfasts in the restaurant, and the views while dining are just beautiful. A steep climb up out of the hotel,not easy for a woman in heels, but dress accordingly and it's well worth the climb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Although the hotel could not fix the very bad weather during our stay in Taormina, they did nothing to make it better or more pleasant. All the offered for the rain was old broken umbrellas, during the worst of the storm, they closed their dining room. Breakfast was only adequate. They charged three euros for use of a teabag and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonteTauro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to write us your suggestions through Tripadvisor. We always keep in high regard our Guest comments in order to improve our service standards. We are sorry to read you have not enjoyed your stay at our House due to extremely bad weather condition on last December. Even us, we were not... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We came in late from Napoli courtesy of Trenitalia but the ferry crossing wth the train on board was spectacular. We did not appreciate Monte Tauro and Taormina until sunrise wow we were rewarded with a great view from our balcony. We have the full view G Noxas which we visited by car. Accept for the walk up from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We had reservations through Booking.com to stay at a different hotel in Taormina, but were notified a few days before reaching Taormina, that it had overbooked. With help from Booking.com (from a woman at the US customer service) we were transferred to Hotel Monte Tauro, at the same price, with a room and balcony on the 6th floor looking out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed in the Monte Tauro Hotel in Taormina in Sicily in late summer. We found it be in a good location, within 2/3 minutes waking distance from the Main Street in Taormina and yet set on a slope with fabulous views of the sea and Mount Etna nearby. It has a swimming pool which has these views and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities