We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Passeggio Adorno, 10/12 | Passeggio Adorno 10/12, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
sweenoid Wales UK
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    229
    130
    70
    47
See reviews for
112
368
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (684)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (234)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Wales UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We didn't stay in the hotel , but on 2 late afternoons we frequented the rooftop cocktail bar. It's a sublime location giving a panoramic view over the harbour, castle and almost immediately above The Springs of Artemis. The cocktails are quite expensive ( 10 euros) but they serve a lovely selection of crisps , delicious olives, breadsticks and other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will begin with the positives. This hotel is in a great location and in close proximity to all the major sights. The hotel has a beautiful roof terrace which provides great 360 views of the town and bay. The staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful. And now for the negatives, for which there are quite a few.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FCaselli, General Manager at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kiama42, First of all I wish to thank you for the time spent in writing your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad to know you have noticed how beautiful our roof terrace is. As per the balcony of your room, I wish to precise that our hotel is an historical building and as a... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has a great view of the harbor. The location is perfect and the breakfast was good. While we did not take advantage of the spa services they looked good Staff was helpful attentive and plentiful. The only complaint is that the room was a little tatty. Shower was rusted and the door was broken. It detracted from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rob L Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An exceptional location, amazing views and pleasant service. I believe my enjoyment of the hotel resulted from having no expectations, as such I was treated to a super clean room, functioning bathroom, and a roof top terrace to die for! ....wow the hotel is ideally located, classical design, and just very understated.......... expect nothing and you will be surprised

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Peter D Thank you for your time spent to write review, for us it is a pleasure to read that your stay was enjoyable best regards Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is probably in the best location in Ortigia, overlooking the bay and close to practically everything and everywhere in Ortigia. It is a 5 star hotel, but it isn't as 5 star as the Grand Hotel de La Ville in Sorrento. We had a deluxe bedroom facing the bay, with a small balcony. The room was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RoseCoupl Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a balcony onto the seafront which was lovely. Very good rooftop bar with stunning views of the water and Ortiga. Close to the Duomo (cathredral) and lots of good restaurants. Wonderful bed linen. Staff helpful especially the reception staff. Our room was large and kept very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear hilLondon Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

This is sold as a 5 star hotel, and is priced accordingly but unfortunately, being the only 5 star establishment on Ortygia, the staff seriously think they are the mega stars!!! Our whole experience was less than average - from the check in, to the room, to the breakfast to the spa. You will get equally as good (or better!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Penelope Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything. I'm sorry that reports negative assessments about things that most of our guests appreciate how the SPA and restaurant. best regards Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

great location on Ortegia. Beautiful renovation and conversion of two waterfront buildings form this hotel. Good breakfast. We thought we booked and pre-payed for a junior suite facing water with a king bed (very difficult to find). Got here and all we can get was a queen. A/c was not working so slept with windows open. We were on second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marciacas Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything. I make a note about air conditioning that currently working in hot and cold will be reversed as soon as temperatures rise. best regards Francesco Caselli Hotel Manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Best seafront location. Very helpful staff. Nice spa. Could do with some maintenance, example broken shower, squeaky lifts, turkish bath in spa not working. But on the whole will recommend and will myself return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ruby D Thank you for your time spent to write review, we will treasure as reported to improve everything Francesco Caselli Hotel manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

LONDON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

l just cannot believe that some of the reviewers visited the same hotel that we did. Spotlessly clean, pristine white bedclothes, pleasant helpful staff and surroundings that just reek of old fashioned elegance. We were given a sea facing room which was a pleasant surprise as we had not paid for this. Breakfast was good. We never used the spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear BIGBAD-DA thank you for your time spent to write review, the entire staff works every day to improve and make your stay unforgettable. Thanks for having appreciated the beauty of Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA Best regards Francesco Caselli Hotel Manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

311 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (259)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities