We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

#17 of 51 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Viale Kennedy, 28, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
joe292 Dublin, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    68
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
23
70
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There's nothing luxury in this hotel. They have 125 rooms and not enough space in the swimming pool for all of them. The gym is not a gym it's a joke in a roof. The breakfast buffet, I can do better in my place, not natural juices, only 3 different fresh fruits... The spa is a Thai lady in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I never judge a hotel from other people's reviews as I am very laid back and travel a lot and stay anywhere. I could not believe this hotel had a 5* rating. The room was nice and the pool but everything else was terrible on every level. When I booked the hotel the agent promised a free shuttle to Catania... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night. Got in late and left early. Room was nice but looked a bit dark and outdated. Not sure if theye were going for an italien or arabic theme. I had a look at the menu but it seemed expensive for what it was. Didnt have breakfast but the breakfast room looked nice. Asked reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a lovely hotel. Clean rooms, great pool, lovely breakfast and a lovely evening Resturant. However it's the small things which can leave a sour taste. Having just spent 100 euros in the Resturant I asked if I could borrow two wine glasses for the room. They wanted to charge 5 euros... Not acceptable in my view... But others may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 8 days ago for 3 nights. Not positioned with safe walking distance from Catania centre or restaurants. Reception willing to change our room. Room clean, Hotel gardens pleasant, swimming pool lovely, and breakfast pleasant, but we stayed as part of a Titan Tour (UK tour guide company). Tour guide had not stayed there previously and said Titan has transferred... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I stayed here because my flight from Catania to Milan was cancelled. It meant I had to rebook and as I was staying on the Aeolian islands I had nowhere to stay. The grounds and hotel lobby etc are beautifully laid out. Room was very comfortable. Pool is beautiful. Breakfast nice buffet. It was very convenient for the airport. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stayed here after our flight from Gatwick. The hotel was empty, but clean. The room offered was not the twin we had booked so we had to go back to reception, where we were given a room at the other end of the hotel. It was adequate, but quite small. We had dinner in the hotel's dining room; this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

The chef is excellent, and the rooms fine (although typically poorly lit) with balconies overlooking the garden and nice big swimming pool the best option. Buffet breakfast can be eaten on the terrace which is a treat. However the internet didn't happen although the wifi signal was said to be good... and it wasn't secure anyway. And the beach, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Okay, will start from the beginning. Once we got the sat navigation working it was easy to find from the airport, although I did feel a touch of dread driving down the long seafront road, everything looked closed and a bit broken. But, the hotel looked great. We parked up, ignored the valet parking and went to check in. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve , Thank you for choosing our hotel and have appreciated our services. Sorry we've found the beach dirty, but this is not a private beach run by us. The wait for his next stay . Best regards. Simona, Responsible for public relations More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

we booked this hotel because it was 5* and the photos of the interior looked in keeping with Italian style. on arrival the receptionist asked us how long we were staying.we answered a week and his words were "nobody stays more than 2 nights".great start. there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room,so the fridge had to be used for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. barbara, We've asked you to be extremely disappointed in your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Meanwhile, we are sorry that you did not appreciate the area in general. But our hotel has a strategic site that facilitates many excursions, activities and guided tours of the city, such as Taormina, Syracuse, Enna, etc. (all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (103)
Viewed
201 - De Luxe room (13)
Viewed
206 - Suite Japanese (14)
Viewed
222 - Classic room (12)
Viewed
312 - Triple room (12)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay