We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

#12 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Viale Kennedy, 28, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Nickoteeta London
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
21
62
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here because my flight from Catania to Milan was cancelled. It meant I had to rebook and as I was staying on the Aeolian islands I had nowhere to stay. The grounds and hotel lobby etc are beautifully laid out. Room was very comfortable. Pool is beautiful. Breakfast nice buffet. It was very convenient for the airport. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Onchan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here after our flight from Gatwick. The hotel was empty, but clean. The room offered was not the twin we had booked so we had to go back to reception, where we were given a room at the other end of the hotel. It was adequate, but quite small. We had dinner in the hotel's dining room; this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The chef is excellent, and the rooms fine (although typically poorly lit) with balconies overlooking the garden and nice big swimming pool the best option. Buffet breakfast can be eaten on the terrace which is a treat. However the internet didn't happen although the wifi signal was said to be good... and it wasn't secure anyway. And the beach, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okay, will start from the beginning. Once we got the sat navigation working it was easy to find from the airport, although I did feel a touch of dread driving down the long seafront road, everything looked closed and a bit broken. But, the hotel looked great. We parked up, ignored the valet parking and went to check in. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve , Thank you for choosing our hotel and have appreciated our services. Sorry we've found the beach dirty, but this is not a private beach run by us. The wait for his next stay . Best regards. Simona, Responsible for public relations More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

we booked this hotel because it was 5* and the photos of the interior looked in keeping with Italian style. on arrival the receptionist asked us how long we were staying.we answered a week and his words were "nobody stays more than 2 nights".great start. there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room,so the fridge had to be used for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. barbara, We've asked you to be extremely disappointed in your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Meanwhile, we are sorry that you did not appreciate the area in general. But our hotel has a strategic site that facilitates many excursions, activities and guided tours of the city, such as Taormina, Syracuse, Enna, etc. (all... More 

Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I arrived to this hotel by recommendation of a colleague of mine for business trip. this is very nice hotel (although I been there out of season so...), clean and comfortable, with nice treatment from the employers (specially the reception employers), and very nice and comfortable rooms - my room had a balcony with tenth beds. also the beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel, but above all the professionalism and punctuality of our services. We do our best to never disappoint the expectations of our customers. Having made your stay so enjoyable makes us proud of our work. We... More 

USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying recently at the Romano Palace, my second such stay and my place of choice in Catania. The hotel is very majestic yet the customer service is incredibly friendly and efficient. The reception team and concierge met my every need and request, they are superb. The lounge is elegant and friendly. My room was extremely comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Egregio viaggiatore, La ringraziamo per aver scelto di soggiornare presso la nostra struttura e averla definita "meravigliosa". Siamo entusiasti del... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

First the good points: nice, functional room; lovely outdoor dinner patio; good breakfast. Now the bad ones: dismissive receptionists (especially the one in charge); access to beach is questionable at best; not near any of Catania's sites; recommendations from the staff to see a nearby beach was hilarious... I actually think they sent me to a harbour on purpose. Why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Kathy, We've asked you to be extremely disappointed in your expectations, satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Meanwhile, thanks for appreciating our rooms, our panoramic terrace and rich breakfast and crafts. Instead, we are deeply sorry for his dissatisfaction about for example the beach, which unfortunately is not private, and therefore not managed by us: we... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is clean, modern and quiet if strangely decorated. This is more a place for business travelers or people needing to be very close to the airport. Do not think that this is the place to take a seaside holiday - the neighborhood is not good and the beach is lousy. Catania has many better beaches you should explore.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I visited this hotel during late September / early October 2014 for a business trip. Overall the hotel grounds and reception area are lovely & are really the attraction for this hotel. Rooms are a bit small, but that is expected for a European hotel. Each room on the 2nd Fl has a balcony & they rock. I sat out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sign. Nick, Thanks for choosing our structure, we are grateful for taking the time to review your so detailed. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful park of 25,000 acres of land and the sea front, as well as the courtesy of the staff. Sorry to have found, however, our location lontata from the center of the city to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (103)
Viewed
201 - De Luxe room (13)
Viewed
206 - Suite Japanese (14)
Viewed
222 - Classic room (12)
Viewed
312 - Triple room (12)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay