We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Mosca Charming House

Certificate of Excellence
Via Antonio Gramsci 17, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Mosca Charming House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    30
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location over the entire gulf. Number one view on the sunset, also for a drink. Not all the chambers are at standard for the price. Very kind personnel. Choose front sea rooms. Breakfast to improove. A bit noisy but not untill very late. The Direction must choose between parties and marriages or charming tourism.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for all the nice speeches. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Villa Mosca. At the same time we would like to let you note that all the rooms on the last floor have definitely a lower price than the ones located on the first floor with sea view, even if the comforts... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The villa itself is perfectly situated, it´s a cute small place. Unfortunatelly not perfect and the question is - if it ever will be. We love small boutique hotels. The Mosca met our expectation but the problem is - as generally - the staff and cleanness. They should be more controled and work on their efficiency and proficiency. We accept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for expressing your opinion. In all fairness your review has left us a little astounded, because, despite an almost maximum score, you listed mainly negative experiences of your stay. We take into consideration your criticisms about the waiting staff and the long waits, and we apologize with you for them; we are puzzled about the opinions... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

First time in Sardinia and this was the first port of call. Lovely old villa, tastefully restored with comfortable rooms etc. Stayed in a front facing room with views out to sea and over the garden. Very comfortable. Good bathroom, goodish breakfast, helpful staff once they'd decided they liked you. Only problem was parking ..... there are only 4 places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are grateful for your words of appreciation regarding your stay at Villa Mosca. We thank you so much for the wonderful review and we invite you to contact us by mail as soon as you want to spend another stay here. Best regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The Villa is a fabulous old building in a fantastic location. Breakfast looked uninviting so we went to a local cafe. Staff seemed distant & not too helpful. We were in the very top of the villa at the top of lots of stairs. When we checked out, even though he was doing nothing else, one male member of staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry you did not appreciate at full your stay here at Villa Mosca, but thank you anyway for expressing your opinion. We apologise for the behavior of our staff, but most for the employee who did not help your husband as he carried the bags out from your room on the second floor to the... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

This hotel is located in a lovely villa overlooking the sea. Unfortunately our room was located in a separate building at the back, with no views. This was not evident when booking at all. The room was comfortable and clean, but the fridge was recently broken and the leakage had left behind an unpleasant odour that was there the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry that you have not enjoyed in full your stay here in Villa Mosca Charming House. As we already mentioned in our previous answers, and also thanks to your highlighting, the breakfast buffet has been recently improved, in matter of both supply and service. Regarding the room where you stayed, we cannot be able to verify... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Mosca when over for a family wedding.We had the one room with balcony overlooking the ocean, which whilst not large was perfectly adaquate and came with a spacious bathroom.The views from the balcony ( which was equipped with one sun lounger, two chairs and a table) were wonderful.We found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, we heartly thank you for your splendid review. As you just said, our villa is not indeed a family-run business, but our goal is to make our guests feel as they were at home. Due to the little dimensions of our structure we can dedicate ourselves totally to our customers with all the attention they deserve. Hoping to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Beautiful building in a fab location with amazing light fittings! We paid extra for a sea view and it was lovely to hear the sea and watch the sunsets. Great to borrow bikes and whizz around town / further afield. However, the room was small, the bathroom bijoux and it felt cramped. Most disappointing was the breakfast - poor selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for expressing your opinion. Unfortunately we don’t know in which room you stayed. One of our Superior room, the Garibaldi one, is a little smaller than the others, specifically the bathroom, due to the octagonal shape of the villa. Our structure is under protection by the Fine Arts department so we are not allowed to... More 

NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this gorgeous hotel. I would have stayed longer if possible as it was the most beautiful, relaxing and well-run hotel we visited during our trip. The pictures do not do it justice - It is a breathtaking property on the top of a SMALL hill, very close to town. In the evening,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, we pleasantly remember your stay here in Villa Mosca and we are very happy for the splendid review that you decided to write. They say that the best advertising is what the customer says around, and what kind of advertising could be welcomed more than this? We thank you very much for the nice words you spent for... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Villa Mosca was very pretty. We stayed for ten days and paid about £2500 for just Bed & Breakfast. Although Villa Mosca was pretty the hotel it self was quite run down and we felt it was very expensive for what it was. However the location is perfect and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, as we already made clear in the previous response, we state that to stay in a structure as Villa Mosca is a privilege of few people who can afford it, a privilege really worth the money spent for it. You will surely agree that an ancient and exclusive structure (only 9 rooms) with a 5000 square meters park... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This place is ok but way over priced. At the amount of money charged for the room it's missing all the little extras that make it special. The location if good, walking distance to restaurants and shops and the old city. We had a villa which is essentially a room with a kitchenette and a patio. The door to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, first of all, we thank you kindly for expressing your opinion on our villa. To stay in a over a century old Liberty-style villa, with a view on the whole Alghero bay and a park of almost 5000 square meters is a privilege which few people can afford, therefore it has very different costs to those of other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#10 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay