We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Mosca Charming House

Certificate of Excellence
Via Antonio Gramsci 17, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Mosca Charming House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Mosca Charming House
Add Photo

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    27
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
67
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

This hotel is located in a lovely villa overlooking the sea. Unfortunately our room was located in a separate building at the back, with no views. This was not evident when booking at all. The room was comfortable and clean, but the fridge was recently broken and the leakage had left behind an unpleasant odour that was there the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry that you have not enjoyed in full your stay here in Villa Mosca Charming House. As we already mentioned in our previous answers, and also thanks to your highlighting, the breakfast buffet has been recently improved, in matter of both supply and service. Regarding the room where you stayed, we cannot be able to verify... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Mosca when over for a family wedding.We had the one room with balcony overlooking the ocean, which whilst not large was perfectly adaquate and came with a spacious bathroom.The views from the balcony ( which was equipped with one sun lounger, two chairs and a table) were wonderful.We found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, we heartly thank you for your splendid review. As you just said, our villa is not indeed a family-run business, but our goal is to make our guests feel as they were at home. Due to the little dimensions of our structure we can dedicate ourselves totally to our customers with all the attention they deserve. Hoping to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Beautiful building in a fab location with amazing light fittings! We paid extra for a sea view and it was lovely to hear the sea and watch the sunsets. Great to borrow bikes and whizz around town / further afield. However, the room was small, the bathroom bijoux and it felt cramped. Most disappointing was the breakfast - poor selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for expressing your opinion. Unfortunately we don’t know in which room you stayed. One of our Superior room, the Garibaldi one, is a little smaller than the others, specifically the bathroom, due to the octagonal shape of the villa. Our structure is under protection by the Fine Arts department so we are not allowed to... More 

NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this gorgeous hotel. I would have stayed longer if possible as it was the most beautiful, relaxing and well-run hotel we visited during our trip. The pictures do not do it justice - It is a breathtaking property on the top of a SMALL hill, very close to town. In the evening,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, we pleasantly remember your stay here in Villa Mosca and we are very happy for the splendid review that you decided to write. They say that the best advertising is what the customer says around, and what kind of advertising could be welcomed more than this? We thank you very much for the nice words you spent for... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Villa Mosca was very pretty. We stayed for ten days and paid about £2500 for just Bed & Breakfast. Although Villa Mosca was pretty the hotel it self was quite run down and we felt it was very expensive for what it was. However the location is perfect and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, as we already made clear in the previous response, we state that to stay in a structure as Villa Mosca is a privilege of few people who can afford it, a privilege really worth the money spent for it. You will surely agree that an ancient and exclusive structure (only 9 rooms) with a 5000 square meters park... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This place is ok but way over priced. At the amount of money charged for the room it's missing all the little extras that make it special. The location if good, walking distance to restaurants and shops and the old city. We had a villa which is essentially a room with a kitchenette and a patio. The door to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, first of all, we thank you kindly for expressing your opinion on our villa. To stay in a over a century old Liberty-style villa, with a view on the whole Alghero bay and a park of almost 5000 square meters is a privilege which few people can afford, therefore it has very different costs to those of other... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights at one of the villas. The positives: private villa, kitchenette, outdoor terrace, views of the ocean while eating breakfast, classical music concerts in the evening in the peak tourists period. The downside: cleanliness wasn't up to standards. We needed to change rooms due to this, which the management did without argument, but dirty floors and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for expressing your opinion on Villa Mosca Charming House. We’re sorry that you couldn’t fully appreciate your stay in our structure. As for the breakfast, thanks to our guests’ feedback, we decided to renew our breakfast buffet, enriching it. As for the cleanness, as all Tripadvisor users can notice, our structure always received very high... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in one of the villa's on the hotel property and enjoyed privacy and peace and quiet. We could sit out in the garden of an evening, and enjoyed the superb air-conditioning each afternoon during siesta. The villa (small cottage) was very spacious and clean, comfortable and light. We weren't impressed with the kitchenette, though, and would recommend cups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guests, We really appreciated your review very much. We’ re sorry that you could not appreciate our chef’s cuisine. A better communication from our personnel would have surely solved it. About this point it’s important to us to specify that our restaurant’s staff has been totally renewed; for the selection we choose professional profiles with the capability to speak... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Pictures do not do Villa Mosca justice. It is even more beautiful than any picture could suggest. The villa has been impeccably restored. The exterior is a classic villa on exquisite grounds with commanding views of both old town Alghero and the entire bay all the way out to the stunning Capo Caccia. Inside is an interior designer’s dream, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, We’re proud of the wonderful review you wrote about us. The splendid words you expressed to describe our structure really did guess the peculiarities and the atmosphere of Villa Mosca. Opinions like yours make our staff proud of their job. We invite you to contact us personally in case you would like to come back to Sardinia and... More 

London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location is wonderful on a pedestrianised strip by the old town where a series of Art Nouveau villas look out over the sea. The road below was only used for a night market and some bars, otherwise it's a cycle lane by day. This is a small hotel, but our room was a good size with huge ceiling heights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Direzione_VM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Mosca Charming House, responded to this review

Dear guest, We’d love to thank you for your great review. We noticed with great pleasure that you could notice all the strongest features of our structure, especially its strategic position and the elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes Villa Mosca so unique. We invite you to come back again soon for another unforgettable experience. Our Kindest regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay