We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Basilea Dipendenza

Rio Marin 804 B, 30135 Venice, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We managed just a one night stand, even though I must say I was pretty surprised how clean & tidy the hotel was. With a separate bathroom in our room we couldn't get more. The hotel's quite close to the parking lot and so it's to the city center. Also food shops and restaurants are at hand. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with all the readers of Tripadvisor and with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the stay in the room with separate bathroom: this is actually an economy solution, which anyhow guarantees a good comfort in a fine and central location. As you have also seen, our common facilities are daily... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room was very narrow and small and there was no air conditioning which meant it was sooo hot in the room which was really uncomfortable! We asked in reception if there was a fan we could use and when we returned from our day there was one in our room which made our stay a lot more pleasant! It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting this review, that allows us to clarify the issues you raised. First of all, as you certainly noticed, the reservation you made was for an economy room at Hotel Basilea Dependance, a solution designed for travellers on a tight budget that want to visit Venice. This kind of room, and if you had read... More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We read all of the reviews, and some weren't pretty. However we have been pleasantly surprised. Though we didn't come to Venice to watch TV or surf the internet. The room was comfortable enough and well presented. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was just fine. Best of all was the location. Good value for money in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the readers of TripAdvisor and with us. We are pleased that you appreciated those which are the qualities of Basilea Dipendenza: the cleanness, comfort, the central location, these are strenghts of a hotel that, through its simplicity, offers agreeable stays to an excellent price. Thank you again... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As usual I will give a totally honest report and this has more bad points than good unfortunately. The good: Excellent location, five mins walk to the water bus, taxi, and train station and about 8 mins to the bus station that services the airport. The reception staff were very helpful, very friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor's readers and with us. Thanks still for your compliments on the staff, the thorough cleaning of the facility, and to have underlined, you as many others, the hotel's very good location, notable for comfort and quiet. Now, the flaws: we promise to improve on those aspects you report us, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel location is amazing, 3 min away of the train station, the stuff is very friendly specially a french person at the counter. However, the hotel amenities are old , the room was not very delightful or relaxing... no internet... The breakfast quantity was not enough for the whole guest despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We felt great bitterness while reading of your stay and because of your so severe vote about our facility. Since you have stayed here some time ago, we inform you that the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza was subjected to an adjustement, for the satisfaction of its customers (and to put remedy also those flaws which you referred to). Actually,... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel, if you could even call it that, didn't even have wifi. For what we were paying, we had no internet access, literally one outlet in the entire room, and no breakfast. Don't know about other Venetian hotels/hostels, but this one was not very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We read with disappointment your review, and we would like to answer it. We remind you that you have booked an "economy twin room shared bathroom not breakfast included", payment of 52,20 euro per night. We specify that you have stayed on Saturday and in April, so on high season. On the website moreover was indicated with accuracy... More 

Mooresville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location. There is nothing that is too far from this hotel. The rooms aren't bad and the beds are clean. The shower didn't contain water very well and the bathroom floor was soaked for the majority of the stay. Water pressure was great though. Price was about right, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza. We truly appreciate your comment concerning the amazing location where the Hotel is situated. We may offer you our apologies for the uneasy: we assure you that the problem with the bathroom is resolved now. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards. Hotel Basilea... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the hotel 3nights in December and unfortunately had a very unpleasant experience. In the description they forgot to mention that some of the rooms don’t have a heating in the bathrooms and concrete flooring in the room. It is incredibly cold and bathroom has a very bad smell due to dampness. We kindly asked to change the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We read your review with disappointment. If what you say it's true, what happened was an unfortunate episode which we keep in mind: it is customary of the hotel to switch off the heating at a certain hour of the night, and this method has never presented any discomfort (because the heating will switch on again just a... More 

Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The price is too high for this hotel all I can say is the position I good but the room very basic 3 tv channels and the bathroom pretty disgusting, the WAC seat fell off every time the shower was held up by a prayer and the shower head shot water everywhere. Tiles broken and badly on need of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We want first to remember that the Hotel Basilea Dependancy (where your sisters have stayed) has a classification of two stars category (instead the Hotel basilea has three). The problems you have underlined were resolved after the adjustment of the central building and the dependancy: however, we recommend... More 

England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Venice is such a hard place to find a good bed unless you loosen the purse strings. We had a long trip to Italy including Milano, Verona and Venice, the last being the most trying when searching for a nice hotel. Venice its self is an amazing place, a long weekend is plenty. You will find alot of the hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Santa Croce

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Croce
Santa Croce gained importance as a sestiere (district) when Piazzale Roma was created in the 1930s to bring cars and buses close to the center of Venice. Constitution Bridge spans the Grand Canal linking Piazzale Roma to the train station. This area buzzes with energy from travelers and students. Historic palaces and former industrial buildings house some departments of Ca' Foscari and IUAV Architecture universities. On the Fondaco dei Turchi, Venice's Museum of Natural History offers Venetians prehistoric thrills, plus an overview of lagoon fish and wildlife. The Grand Canal, northern boundary of Santa Croce, is lined with palaces and decorated by the tall green dome of San Simeon Piccolo. Ca' Pesaro attracts Venetians to its contemporary art exhibitions. The Grand Canal exposes only one face of these buildings. On the opposite side, the palace often interacts with a square or a busy street to represent its neighborhood identity.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay