We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Venice

Certificate of Excellence
1.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hostel itself was really cool, had good food and good atmosphere. But once you left you could tell it wasn't the most traveler - friendly area. There wasn't much on Giudecca itself and you had to take the water taxi to get to the main area of Venice.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one week during Carnevale. No complaints with cleanliness, staff or security. There's a great atmosphere around the bar/diner area in the evening and the barstaff are all very polite and friendly. The hostel offers superb views and is only one stop on the waterbus to Piazza San Marco & St Mark's Square. I'll definitely stay there again on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyNomad48
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Happy N, We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us here at Generator Venice, Your comments and feedback will be really well received by the team, who work tirelessly to ensure our guests are getting the best possible service and enjoy a memorable time with us. So pleased to hear we’ve met the mark... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From Friday to Sunday, I went to Venice to see the carnival. Oh! My god beautiful. It was my first time in Venice. A lot of walking, I am paying for it at the moment as my legs are really hurting. But was it worth it?. YES it was in did. I did not have time to go to murano... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicky e
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Nicky e, Thank you for your lovely feedback after your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that we have created a memorable stay for you and we hope to see you back at Generator Venice again. Best Wishes, Generator Venice Team More 

Paris
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel is cosy and confortable, i really appreciated the public space on the lobby and the price of the food was great. The room was a bit small for 16 bed however if you can sleep with a little noise on the back ground due to other people, i truly recommend this hostel. best price ever for venice !!... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmilieCharlotte
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear EmilieCharlotte, Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and be a part of you Venice adventure. Thank you for choosing Generator Venice and I hope we will see you again in the future. Best Wishes, Generator Venice Team More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The lobby, including a sitting area, bar, and restaurant, is quite nice! The rooms are very clean. The staff members are hit or miss with respect to being available and friendly (not to say there were not some friendly staff members!). One example: we were interested in having a beer and there was no one behind the bar - we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful facilities. Great staff. The views were stunning, the drinks were inexpensive and food was good. I'd come back to this hostel again when I return to Venice! A bit pricy for transportation, but it's the best place I've stayed in my three visits to Venice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Ashley K, Firstly can we say a massive thank you for sharing your lovely comments after your recent stay with us. We’re thrilled to have your feedback and of course we will look forward to welcoming you back to Generator Venice again really soon. Best Wishes, Generator Venice Team More 

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice party place! And still quiet rooms ! I was there for the carnaval and it was awesome ! People were very friendly and i met a lot of travellers who wanted to party too. It was perfect. Drinks were great and they threw a latino night party on saturday night hahaha it went crazy with the mojitos and all... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barthesicard
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

dear Barthesicard, Wow, what a great review. It’s so lovely to read your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on all your wonderful comment to the Team, who will be delighted. I really hope we’ll see you again in the near future Best Wishes More 

Wien
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

they put all the money into the luxurious lobby, and try to look very cool. however, the rooms are so-so, there are few showers and the breakfast is poor. (also you can buy a standard muffin for 3 Euros ...)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toassu
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Toassu, Thank you for you review, We have taken on board your comments concerning our buffet breakfast, we do also offer different kind of plates like scrambled eggs with bacon, vegetarian omelettes and Italian breakfast, we hope to welcome you back in Venice in the near future. Best wishes Generator Venice Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Admittedly I haven't stayed in a hostel before. And it really didn't disappoint the accommodation is fantastic and I had a view of San Marco, which was beautiful. I think a couple of changes would make the place perfect. Perhaps more variety at breakfast as it's the same everyday. Cereal Yogurt Tinned fruit Orange and pineapple juice Bread rolls Meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for you review, we are happy to see that you loved your stay, we have taken on board your comments concerning our buffet breakfast, we do also offer different kind of plates like scrambled eggs with bacon, vegetarian omelettes and Italian breakfast. We hope to welcome you back in Venice in the near future Best wishes... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, suitable for people who love to stay in Venice for more than 1 night! Although it is not in the central island, it still very convenient by waterbus! The hostel is in an amazing old building, I really love the way they re-created inside as a modern space! I stayed in 12-bed room during the carnival season, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Angela S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Generator Venice. We are glad to hear that your stay met your expectations on this occasion. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Generator Venice Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#191 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Cannaregio
Stella Alpina Edelweiss
Stella Alpina Edelweiss
#228 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#113 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#137 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighborhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay