We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Antica Locanda Sturion

#122 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
679 San Polo | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Antica Locanda Sturion
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    105
    83
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
56
117
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved this hotel with its typical old Venetian style and decor. The view from the breakfast room was just what we expected. Friendly and helpful staff and the best breakfasts we have had in Italy so far with lots to choose from. I particularly liked that you could nearly make your own cereal, with the variety of seeds available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff here is very nice and helpful, but the rooms themselves are dated and be prepared for the stairs. The stairs alone could prevent some people from being able to stay here since there's no elevator. As you can see from the pictures, the rooms themselves are kind old, the then again the building is like 800 years old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was expecting something more from this hotel, but didn't get it. It has a view of the Rialto Bridge (which is currently being restored) and the location is quite central. The staff were reasonably friendly, but not overly helpful. The breakfast was disappointing. The climb up all of those stairs after walking around Venice was not fun. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chelmsford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

This hotel is rather basic but well located. The stairs to the third floor where the reception is are a steep climb. The rooms are small and dated which in its self is ok but the key downside is that all but three rooms adjoin public space. Two room walk onto the breakfast room, mine opened into the kitchen. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear Merlin03; Thank you for your feedback. I object your many statements on tripadvisor because unfortunately in the hotel was not possible because you did not complain. "Rooms are small" it depends on the type of room. Basic rooms are the smallest. The charme room which is the one you booked is 20 m2 and is not a small room... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights. After reading the reviews we were well aware of the climb to the hotel but for us it wasn't an issue. The room is decorated in typical Venetian style which to us was exactly what we wanted staying in Venice. It was small but big enough and was clean and cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear hbryan91; thank you for your review and for your kind words about your stay in our hotel. Hope to see you again! Yours Sincerely LOCANDA STURION STAFF More 

Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The hotel was very nice. Thank goodness it had air conditioning. The staff was very friendly. Be prepared to hike up 3 flights of stairs with your luggage. The breakfast was very good with a lot of selection.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear Mamazurk; Thank you very much for your review. We are really thankful that your stay in our hotel was pleasant. Hope to Welcome You again here and do not forget to contact Us for all the Special Offers available. Yours Sincerely LOCANDA STURION STAFF More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The do NOT have an elevator. Only after they watched me carry two heavy suitcases up FOUR flights of steps did they ask if I needed help. The room was nice. The people were nice. The location was nice. All other things considered, it was a nice stay. Be prepared to not leave your room without double-checking if you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear JoeRivera; Thank you for your review and for your words about our staff and rooms. We are very sorry for our staircase but i think that is very well explained that we don't have elevator and we are located on the third floor of an ancient Venetian Palace. In Venice. It is hard to find in Venice historic buildings... More 

Birmingham England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The location is great, near to the Rialto bridge and over the bridge to the Rialto vaperetto water boat stop, and orange line from the airport. Walking distance to some good restaurants and bars that are away from the regular tourist traps. Also near to the Rialto market which is open 7am-2pm. We were given room number 11 which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear TaraR09; Thank you for your review. I am sorry that someone has tried to get into your room from the staircase, we are providing. For the A/C in room number 11 there are two A/C units. One is close to the window and the other one on the right of the entrance door. Unfortunately when is very hot, and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Really lovely hotel in Venetian style, nice room and bathroom really close to the Rialto bridge but tucked away so not noisy at all, friendly helpful staff - please note though there are steep steps inside the hotel- didn't bother us but might some visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear Nicola K. Thank you for your perfect review. Is always a pleasure for us to know that our guests' stay was enjoyable Hope to see you again here. Yours Sincerly LOCANDA STURION STAFF More 

Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The hotel is located in a great location and there are shops and dining all around. The staff is super friendly and helpful and made the stay very easy and painless. There are several stairs but if you are in reasonably good shape and you take it slow you will be just fine. If you happen to have brought giant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Locanda_Sturion, Responsabile reception at Antica Locanda Sturion, responded to this review

Dear kareshack; First of all, thank yu for your stay and thank you for your review. Our Venetian House is one of the first 25 Hotels in Venice and we prefer to maintain the Venetian style with red damask and antique furniture with suitable services for a pleasant stay. Hope to Welcome you again in the future. Your Sincerely LOCANDA... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Ovidius
Locanda Ovidius
#220 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#195 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#165 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#81 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Polo

Neighborhood Profile
San Polo
The Rialto Bridge is the most famous sight along the Grand Canal in San Polo, smallest of Venice's six sestieri (districts) and by far the busiest neighborhood. Morning Venetians arrive to peruse the markets for fish, fruit and vegetables, while shops display goods from cheese to wine to desserts. San Silvestro and Rialto Market vaporetto (water taxi) stops add to the steady stream of foot traffic. San Polo is defined by churches including Basilica dei Frari, one of the most important churches sought by art lovers.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay