We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Locanda Vivaldi

#47 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Announcement
Arrive in style!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Vivaldi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Locanda Vivaldi
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    416
    196
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
143
398
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (663)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (190)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
There are newer reviews for Locanda Vivaldi
See the most recent reviews
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Locanda Vivaldi is beautiful, elegant, and in perfect location - on the Grand Canal 2 bridges from Piazza San Marco. The water taxi took us directly to the hotel side entrance and the hotel provided free water taxi to Murano. Our room was very large by Venice standards and spotless. The breakfast buffet was delicious and abundant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Thank you and see you soon again in Venice! Roberto More 

hollywood
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We booked a Double Superior corner room on the first floor (Italian first floor is second US). When we arrived we saw we were staring at the throngs of people on the elevated pedestrian bridge outside of the window, which the hotel did not disclose to us. My wife was irate that she would be staring at thousands of people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, The corner room is one of the most requested rooms we have. It is NOT at all at the same level of the bridge, you are much higher. Saint Mark area is the city centre, it means that is very busy during the day (but not during the night!!!), it's normal that there are many people walking in... More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Reserved a double room. It was the smallest room I've ever stayed in, not large enough for two people! The shower was the size found in a motor home. I seriously doubt a large man would have fit. The hotel was close to St. Mark's Square but wished we had stayed somewhere closer to restaurants, bars and shops. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, I'm sorry that you didn't find your room adeguate. As you said you booked a Standard Double. We gave you a room big enought for two persons. As everybody can see form your pictures (thanks for posting them!!!) the bed has two pillows, so large enought for two persons (it's a king size bed, even if it seems... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Loved this hotel- it was like a little jewel in the glittering crown of Venice! We felt very pampered even before our arrival, as we stopped in a day early. The concierge and bellman were extremely helpful. The breakfast was included and perfect for our large group of eight (two families with children ranging from 10-22). Loved relaxing in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, what can I say? THANK YOU!!! I hope to welcome you all again soon. Warmest regards, Roberto More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

we stayed at the hotel in july and had a fabulous time, we wanted to recommend it to friends and told them to email roberto (manager) but unfortunately the hotel does not seem to be contactable direct by email

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, Thank you for your kind feedback and thank you also for contacting me directly by private message here in tripadvisor, to let me know about the trouble with the email. It has been very helpful!!! I confirm you that the hotel can be reached directly by email, fax or telephone. Probably your first message has been moved automatically... More 

Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Venice itself is kind of a rip-off & it took me a second trip there to figure it out but this hotel was better than the other 2 hotels that I had stayed in before. It is actually a 4-star quality hotel as opposed to the other one I tried the last time. This was my second hotel on this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Buongiorno! I'm sorry for the late reply to this feedback. I'm sorry that you had some troubles with the water while you were here at Locanda Vivaldi. We checked with the technicians and everything is in order now. The air conditioning was (and is right now) working properly in all the room. All the machines are attached together, so if... More 

Owings Mills, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We found the concierge who was there most of the time to be very unfriendly and unhelpful. The one restaurant that was recommended by the hotel was awful. And, we didn't even know that there was a rooftop terrace until looking at these reviews after having already been there!! Location is terrific. The breakfast was very good. The air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, I'm sorry that you didn't feel comfortable in our hotel. It sounds strangeanyway that the concienrge has not been helpfull, usually our staff is very kind and well appreciated by our guests (as stated by the previous review!!!). In any case I'm sorry for that. If you could give me more information about who you are talking about... More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I agree with everything that has been said about the location, views, loveliness of the rooms. I do want to add that the air conditioning in our room worked better than any other place we stayed in Italy. Also, since finding suitable, reasonable accomodations for families can be difficult, I wanted to address that issue. We have 2 children (10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Dear Friend, thanks a lot for your kind review! It has been a pleasure to have you and your children here. I hope that they enjoyed the city! Warmest regards, Roberto More 

Southern California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband, my two teens and I stayed here for three nights in early June and found the hotel to be charming, very well located and a comfortable place to find refuge from the huge crowds in Venice. We had connecting rooms with a view of the canal and a terrace with a view of the open water. Our terrace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback! I'm sure that we will improve those smaller details befero you will be back again here in Venice! Should you have any other suggestion do not hesitate to contact me, warmest regards! Roberto More 

Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Yes, you can stay off the Grand Canal for less but also for a whole lot more. This is a old standard, small hotel right smack on the Grand Canal. Your front door is right across the walkway from a Vaporetto stop, very close to the Bridge of Sighs, 1/2 "block" to San Marco, etc etc. Typically small-ish rooms but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I hope to see you soon again here. Have a nice day, Roberto More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

739 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (358)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (108)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (88)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (359)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
Suite (90)
Viewed
Superior Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#27 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Castello

Neighborhood Profile
Castello
Castello is the largest of the six sestieri (districts), and the only one not facing onto the Grand Canal. More than half of Castello is situated within Arsenale, the naval base, which occupies over one-fifth the area of Venice. This gentrified maritime neighborhood feels busy but casual. Castello’s side streets are laid back, with small boats lining canals criss-crossed by laundry. Semiannual exhibitions add a strong artsy current to the Arsenale area. Via Garibaldi in Castello, with its shops and bars, has one of Venice's rare straight and wide boulevards. When a large ship turns around the Lido to enter the Giudecca Canal, the startling sight creates an illusion that it will run aground right on Via Garibaldi! Families treasure Giardini near the island's tip, green with rare trees and grass, and Riva degli Schiavoni is a popular spot for Venetians to take a stroll to watch the sunset.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay