We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Crespi

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Via G Fava 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Crespi
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    329
    56
    24
    18
    11
See reviews for
51
285
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (438)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night on our way to Ascona. Excellent property. Only 14 rooms!! The restaurant has a famous chef and the food was amazing! The building has Arabic carvings on it. Excellent place to stop by. Highly recommended both hotel and restaurant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a cool place thats tastefully renovated back to its original style. Hire some bikes and do the lake by day. 40 km all round. Eat out at cafe Venus in the historical village or brace a 2 star Michellen chef at the hotel itself. No pool, but the lake is the cleanest alphine water I've seen in a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am not normally the type to leave a review but, without doubt this was the best dining experience my wife and I have ever had. The staff were attentive and informative the food was amazing and upon finding out we were on honeymoon we were gifted with extra courses to our dinner. Truly a magnificent dining experience and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Villacrespi, Direttore at Villa Crespi, responded to this review

Dear Mr And Mrs Fisher Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, against your normal inclinations, and thank you also for the wonderful comment you have left. We are honoured you chose Villa Crespi for your special treat while honeymooning and wish to renew our best wishes for your future life together. We are thrilled... More 

Upholland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed 3 nights at this hotel, simply sensational. It's like travelling back in time, sumptuous, luxurious and elegant. The staff, the location the grounds and the architecture is unbelievable. Decorated with finesse and fitting the era of the building, a visual feast. The restaurant and service was superb, there is nothing negative to say about this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at Hotel Giardinetto which is owned by the same family and they suggested we went here for a meal. And are we glad we did! It's not cheap, but the food and service is exceptional. We went for the tasting menu which was truly exceptional, it's a fairly formal dining atmosphere but the service is superb and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After my first lengthy, detailed review was mysteriously removed, even though I am confident that no guidelines were breached (but possibly because "someone" complained?), I'm forced to submit another. So here goes: I had booked all 14 rooms--the entire Villa--for a group of 25 opera lovers (plus 7 others who stayed elsewhere). Apart from very kind service from everyone at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Villacrespi, Direttore at Villa Crespi, responded to this review

Dear Sir Your comments are entirely out of place in a public network where the intention is that final clients exchange their views and experiences in establishments of all levels. Yours is a complaint that should have been dealt with privately with the mutual desire to find a solution, it should not reduce our business to the level of a... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a magical day we had - 16 guests for our wedding with the courtyard to ourselves. Excellent service, attentive and friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Sadly we didn't stay at the hotel but went to San Rocco to stay. We are planning a return next year for our 5 year anniversary and I cannot wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Villacrespi, Direttore at Villa Crespi, responded to this review

Dear Liz, We are absolutely delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us at Villa Crespi. A wedding is probably the most important day of any person’s life and honouring that day at future times is certainly no less so. We feel most privileged to have given you your magic moments and magic memories. When you you start... More 

Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked into one of the larger suites. Bed was poor. Bathroom was poorly laid out. No shower-only shower device was a hose with a shower head. Thought we would have a great view of the lake, but it was mostly blocked by trees. Dinner in main dining room was mediocre. Don't understand the 2 star rating. Room charge was prepaid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Villacrespi, Proprietario at Villa Crespi, responded to this review

Dear David C, Your comments are appreciated but we feel that you have not been fair in attributing such negative comments and scores to Villa Crespi. You were part of a small, exclusive group which was evidently less than satisfied with your booking agent's business practice. Our explanation is therefore important for you and for other readers of this review.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,815 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,971 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

From the moment we saw the villa, perched on a hillside, overlooking Lake Orta, we couldn't help chuckling at this elaborate ginger-bread castle that looks straight out of the Arabian Nights. And see it you will, for its minaret with an onion dome ending in a pointed needle, stretches up above the trees and is visible from far away. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This was an excpensive and totally overprised hotel. If it had costed 1/10 of the price we could have accepted it. Nobody really cared about you. Spa was a single room With poor massage and Music from her iPhone! Great restaurant (Michelin), but stay away from the hotel and use Your many for something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Villacrespi, Direttore generale at Villa Crespi, responded to this review

Dear Einar e Thank you for writing to us and making your observations. We are delighted you enjoyed the restaurant but very sorry that you are dissatisfied with the hotel and we feel that you and other TA readers might appreciate our feedback in the interests of accuracy. Firstly, regarding the price: Villa Crespi is a 4*S hotel in a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

522 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Other (101)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (255)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Gold Suite (59)
Viewed
Imperial Suite (51)
Viewed
Regina Vittoria Suite (48)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay