We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lido Palace Hotel

Strada Statale del Sempione 30, 28831 Baveno, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Lido Palace Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    131
    36
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
106
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First things first, this Hotel is situated perfectly just off the shores of Lake Maggiore. The hotel whilst a little tired in places has a warmth and charm often amiss with Hotel Chains...our room which had a balcony and lake view was just right and ticked all the right boxes......the meal of an evening whilst not to everyone's taste was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Lido Palace in August for two weeks. We are a family with two children age 9 and 11. The hotel is beautiful, pool lovely and food delicious. The private beach is also worth visiting.The staff were generally friendly. The hotel's situation is very good for exploring Lake Maggiorre. We found the portion sizes small at first,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
brough
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful building in need of a lot of money spending on it, unfortunately its heyday has passed and it appears to have jumped on the ship them in ship them out coach tour wagon. The view over the lake is second to none, some of the staff are lovely others need to remember who is keeping them in a job.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LidoPalace, Direttore at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Gentile Signora, thanks for your review. I am sorry for your comments and that you did not consider our hotel a four star hotel, on our side we believe you were not anyway a four star hotel customer. . You were the typical package holiday guests who would go around together with other fellows in your party complaining for everything... More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This charming hotel made a refreshing change from the large corporate establishments we normally stay in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; the young lady serving at breakfast offered to bring us something to eat then we came down late one morning and our lovely restaurant waitress, Elena, chose a different Italian wine for us to try with dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Imagine our disappointment - only 6 weeks until our holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary - to be told that the hotel had booked out our room, including others, to a party of German guests. Reflects bad management and poor PR. At least we found out before arrival, would not be tempted to try again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LidoPalace, Direttore at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, sorry for your disappointment. If only you would have contacted us directly rather then through Tripadvisor we would have explained the situation ,since there were a misunderstanding with your tour operator. Only three rooms were booked from an allocation in a moment when a big event took the entire hotel . How you can talk about bad PR... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and chose the hotel for its vintage charm. The rooms are quite okay but we were missing a single possibility to hang up a single towel in the bathroom. No hooks or a rack at all. Pool area is worth being renovated. As a guest you have to pay 2€ per towel and it is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LidoPalace, Direttore at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Gentili Signori , I take the opportunity to reply to your comment. First of all the LP is a solid and historic 154 years old building ,not a vintage one. You arrived and were escorted to a deluxe room by our valet. The room has well mantained Maggiolini style furnishing , deluxe bathroom with jacuzzi and a splendid pink marble... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 3 nights and were upgradet without any charge. We got the biggest room in the hotel, the suite where Sir Churchill spent his honeymoney in September 1908. It is a quiet hotel with a private pool. The building is 150 years old, very glorious. The staff is extremely friendly. I will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
knaresborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 week in July. Thus hotel certainly harks back to a sedate and grand era. Beautiful chandaliers and a breath taking view from the dining room, particularly in the morning when the sun glints off the lake, almost had to wear sunglasses at breakfast ! Envied those persons who had a room at the front overlooking the lake. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a relaxing ten day stay at the Lido Palace. The atmosphere of the place is very laid back and the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Paolo, who could not have been nicer. The main plus points of the hotel are: (i) the fantastic views over the lake and, in particular, of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel looks like an old fashion palace that you could in a novel of agatha Christie. But, despite of a wonderfull view and a nice location in the lac maggiore, the rooms are coming from an old age, the swimming pool is infested by the mosquito and the fitness room is really poor.. Even if the freezer of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LidoPalace, Direttore at Lido Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks for this review. Althought taking into high consideration guests point of view I may reply on couples of things. First of all the picture posted showned somebody sleeping in a very dark room .Just the idea that somebody posted a picture of his wife sleeping in the dark rather then the fantastic view you have from room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.7 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#2 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#5 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#3 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ripa
Hotel La Ripa
#6 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay