We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Helvetia

Hotel website
Piazza Della Nunziata 1 - 16124 - Genoa - Italy | Historical Downtown, 16124 Genoa, Italy
Special Offer
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Hotel Helvetia
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    152
    98
    24
    11
See reviews for
111
97
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
wessl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my family in a two room apartment which was a very good size compared to some places I've stayed in Italy, the room was clean but unfortunately very loud as it was on the first floor and faced the street. The bathroom was however very small and cramped, a larger person would struggle to get past the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

If you like to find out after two nights in a hotel, when returning there for your night's rest in the evening, that they've given your room to someone else... If you like to hear that your underwear and other personal belongings are tossed in a garbage bag, because the receptionist couldn't open your suitcase although he'd tried... And if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Szechenyi, I’m sorry for the words you wrote because there’s an easy explaination for what happened: you made a reservation for two nights and tried to ask for one night more even if we told you we were already fully booked, we told you maybe we could help you find another accomodation nearby, just to be kind to you,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel with my university students and I must say that I find it terribly convenient. The people at the reception desk are always very helpful and full of kind advice. The rooms are not modern but they are clean and well warmed up. Breakfast is nice and rich though they serve only cold food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Prof.Aldopata, thank you so much for your nice words, you and your students are always welcome because of your kindness and reliability, and we all hope to meet you again very soon! Thank you and best regards Nedo Ottonello General Manager More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

After searching the streets of Genoa we stumbled upon this great Hotel. We did not have a reservation but this wasn't a problem. We were four people and were immediately given a room. The price was extremely cheap (85e/room + breakfast). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us very good instructions on where to go in Genoa,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

How to thank you for a so marvellous feed back ! We are really happy you appreciated so much your stay in Helvetia, we coudn't ask more as guests! Thank you again from the whole staff we hope to have you again in Hotel Helvetia Regards, Nedo Ottonello Manager More 

Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Less than ten minutes' walk from Principe railway station (where the airport bus drops you), and the same to the old town in the other direction - the location is ideal. There's a lift to all floors. Bedroom very spacious, and comfy bed. Bedding and towels changed every day. Loads of hot water. No noise from the street. Generous cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Briisbane Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Hotel is very convenient to all the main attractions on the water front and public transport goes past the door. Staff very helpful and breakfast was typical Italian selection. The room was an adequate size but the bathroom was very small and uncomfortable but very new and clean. However the hand basin was to big for the space and its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Spent 4 nights in this hotel during a work trip. Negative: * Rooms are dated * Not enough space around the toilet * Cannot close the curtains * Mattresses are old and "preshaped" by previous guests * Shower is either very hot or ice cold, no in between Positive: * Very friendly and helpful people. On the first night it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Gwen, first of all thank you for the nice words you wrote about the Staff, my collegues are helpful indeed as you underlined, so maybe if they had known that you were having those incidents they would have easily solved them (for example, there's a little rope that looses the curtains and they could have showed it to you...)... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the train station and there is public transport right outside. It is in the centre of the main attractions also. The hotel room was quite clean, but our bathroom was very narrow and small. We aren't big people, so I think others might struggle to comfortable move around in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bec-F-C, thank you very much for your nice review, I couldn't have explained better the centrality of our position! As you could see all buildings downtown are historical, tha one we are in is dated 1585, and protected by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage; it's not possible for us to modify all features of the rooms, that's why we... More 

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I was here on my business trip in December. Hotel is very clean and the staff very nice. It's at reasonably price. Only thing which I was just a bit disappointed was breakfast - most of food is sweet and there is nothing warm (like eggs), but it's probably standard in Italy. Hotel location is in good place to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Hotel Helvetia, is in a great location for downtown Genoa and the Port, from here public transport is close by. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included, buffet style and there is a good internet service. The only slight down is if staying in the front of the building the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#43 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Hotel Assarotti
#51 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balbi Family Hotel
#33 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#20 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay