We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Helvetia

3.0 of 5 Piazza della Nunziata 1, 16124 Genoa, Italy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Helvetia
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    126
    81
    23
    4
See reviews for
89
84
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Sotogrande, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Helvetia, is in a great location for downtown Genoa and the Port, from here public transport is close by. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included, buffet style and there is a good internet service. The only slight down is if staying in the front of the building the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Hotel Helvetia is quite deceiving. When we arrived at the front it looked quite uncared for and of course it is an old building so you have to be prepared for this. Inside the lady on reception was really helpful and recommended a few restaurants to us - we went to one just a few hundred yards along the street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it is a good location for seeing the sights of Genoa. The hotel is pretty basic and our bathroom could have done with some modernisation but the hotel is reasonably priced so can't complain. The air conditioning worked well which is just as well as the noise outside means the windows need to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

For the third year we booked rooms at the Helvetia and invited friends to join us so 2 rooms were booked. When we arrived at 12 noon you can imagine our disappointment, annoyance and embarrassment to be told that we were to be transferred to another hotel at the docks due to some water problem. Following a heated discussion it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Jennifer C., I'm very sorry for your disappointment expecially since you and your husband have been our guests twice in the past and have always been satisfied by our service. Unfortunately that day we had a sudden plumbing problem that occured i the morning and we didn't have time enough to fix it before your arrival, that's why we... More

Bolton Lancs
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in late May with my wife .The hotel is perfectly situated near to the old port and old town with the underground and main station a few minutes walk away the hotel is opposite the marvellous baroque church of the Assumption.We arrived late as we were delayed on the train but were greeted with a warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent in the hotel a week at bussiness trip. And all in all I was satisfied. The location is perfect close to downtown. Usually I walked to the downtown and I do not need to use public transport but the train station Principe Sotterranea is close as well - 10 min of walk. The bus from airport stops at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and found it absolutely perfect for my needs.Upon arrival,I was greeted with a welcoming smile by the young lady at reception.Always a good start,check-in was quick and I was shown my fifth floor room at the back of the hotel,furnished with a very comfortable bed and a brand newly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yambol, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Hotel “Helvetia” is situated opposite the one of most beautiful baroque churches of Genoa, the Basilica della Santissima Annunziata, on the homonymous square. The hotel is in the historical heart of the city, between main streets “Cairoli”-“Garibaldi” and “Balbi” on which can be seen the most magnificent palaces. Because of that it is on short distance from main historical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just back from a three-night stay in Hotel Helvetia and cannot praise it highly enough. The welcome I received the minute I walked through the door made me realise immediately that I was going to enjoy my time here. My room was on the 5th floor at the front of the building so was a bit noisy during the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A convenient location for a stay in Genoa. Rooms fairly small and a bit dark but clean and quite adequate if you are not intending to spend much time in them apart from sleeping. A room at the back will be less noisy but you may still need to keep the windows shut - there is air conditioning. Staff friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Jamesread, thank you very much for your nice words, very appreciated from the whole staff. The hotel is centrally located indeed, so you're right about not using the car!!! We're looking forward to have you back as a fine guest at the soonest! Nedo Ottonello General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Piazza della Nunziata 1, 16124 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay