We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Helvetia

3.0 of 5 Piazza Della Nunziata 1 - 16124 - Genoa - Italy | Historical Downtown, 16124 Genoa, Italy
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Helvetia
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    133
    88
    23
    7
See reviews for
94
90
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (305)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After searching the streets of Genoa we stumbled upon this great Hotel. We did not have a reservation but this wasn't a problem. We were four people and were immediately given a room. The price was extremely cheap (85e/room + breakfast). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us very good instructions on where to go in Genoa,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

How to thank you for a so marvellous feed back ! We are really happy you appreciated so much your stay in Helvetia, we coudn't ask more as guests! Thank you again from the whole staff we hope to have you again in Hotel Helvetia Regards, Nedo Ottonello Manager More 

Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Less than ten minutes' walk from Principe railway station (where the airport bus drops you), and the same to the old town in the other direction - the location is ideal. There's a lift to all floors. Bedroom very spacious, and comfy bed. Bedding and towels changed every day. Loads of hot water. No noise from the street. Generous cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Briisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is very convenient to all the main attractions on the water front and public transport goes past the door. Staff very helpful and breakfast was typical Italian selection. The room was an adequate size but the bathroom was very small and uncomfortable but very new and clean. However the hand basin was to big for the space and its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights in this hotel during a work trip. Negative: * Rooms are dated * Not enough space around the toilet * Cannot close the curtains * Mattresses are old and "preshaped" by previous guests * Shower is either very hot or ice cold, no in between Positive: * Very friendly and helpful people. On the first night it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Gwen, first of all thank you for the nice words you wrote about the Staff, my collegues are helpful indeed as you underlined, so maybe if they had known that you were having those incidents they would have easily solved them (for example, there's a little rope that looses the curtains and they could have showed it to you...)... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the train station and there is public transport right outside. It is in the centre of the main attractions also. The hotel room was quite clean, but our bathroom was very narrow and small. We aren't big people, so I think others might struggle to comfortable move around in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bec-F-C, thank you very much for your nice review, I couldn't have explained better the centrality of our position! As you could see all buildings downtown are historical, tha one we are in is dated 1585, and protected by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage; it's not possible for us to modify all features of the rooms, that's why we... More 

Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I was here on my business trip in December. Hotel is very clean and the staff very nice. It's at reasonably price. Only thing which I was just a bit disappointed was breakfast - most of food is sweet and there is nothing warm (like eggs), but it's probably standard in Italy. Hotel location is in good place to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sotogrande, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Hotel Helvetia, is in a great location for downtown Genoa and the Port, from here public transport is close by. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included, buffet style and there is a good internet service. The only slight down is if staying in the front of the building the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Hotel Helvetia is quite deceiving. When we arrived at the front it looked quite uncared for and of course it is an old building so you have to be prepared for this. Inside the lady on reception was really helpful and recommended a few restaurants to us - we went to one just a few hundred yards along the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it is a good location for seeing the sights of Genoa. The hotel is pretty basic and our bathroom could have done with some modernisation but the hotel is reasonably priced so can't complain. The air conditioning worked well which is just as well as the noise outside means the windows need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

For the third year we booked rooms at the Helvetia and invited friends to join us so 2 rooms were booked. When we arrived at 12 noon you can imagine our disappointment, annoyance and embarrassment to be told that we were to be transferred to another hotel at the docks due to some water problem. Following a heated discussion it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Jennifer C., I'm very sorry for your disappointment expecially since you and your husband have been our guests twice in the past and have always been satisfied by our service. Unfortunately that day we had a sudden plumbing problem that occured i the morning and we didn't have time enough to fix it before your arrival, that's why we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Piazza Della Nunziata 1 - 16124 - Genoa - Italy | Historical Downtown, 16124 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay