We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN City Hotel

#5 of 88 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Via San Sebastiano 6, 16123 Genoa, Italy
Special Offer
Best Deals
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    452
    346
    64
    11
    5
See reviews for
260
323
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (878)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (303)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (221)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location was excellent, the hotel was a decent 4* hotel, but very corporate. I felt that it was more geared up for business than tourism. The breakfast was plentiful, fresh and had a good variety. The room was large, clean and well presented, though totally lacking any character. The bathroom was clean and new, though the door to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

+ The breakfast was fantastic (plus it only costs 4 Euros) + Very friendly staff, they helped us check in early + Quiet and clean + Very central + Air conditioning - As usual with hotels, rock-hard mattress

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was very big. Breakfast was busy but a huge variety of food, definitely worth it. Hotel staff were very helpful. Hotel is tucked away in a little lane off a main street. Our room had a large terrace which we used to sit out in the evening and have a wine, also to hang out some clothes to dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here during the summer heatwave so were very grateful for the air conditioning whose effects were felt as soon as we walked into reception! In addition, rooms have electric shutters, meaning that the heat and light of the sun could be kept out of the room, meaning some great nights' sleep and lie-ins for all of us! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was clean and had a large terrace shared with other rooms, very nice. This hotel has an exceptional buffet breakfast, well worth the nominal 3 extra Euros per person. The hotel is on a little side street which does not have traffic which keeps it quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately our rooms were not renovated although the furniture was quite old, but the cleanliness and facilities worked very well. Close to the downtown and Marina area, this hotel is great place for a few days holiday. Nice place ... pity that we only stayed a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a little trouble finding the hotel (its about a block from another Best Western), but overall a good hotel. Not much trouble checking in. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was very central. Highly recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had 2 nights in Genoa and chose Best Western City Hotel for it's convenient location. We found our stay to far surpass our expectations. Our room was very well appointed in a contemporary style, the terrace provided a great view of old Genoa, and the staff was warm and helpful. Everything was clean and well maintained so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews. Apart from its good location, it was a disaster. AVOID it as much as you can! - Poor wifi connection: I was told it was because there were many people connected… It sometimes took me minutes to load a page… - Bathroom door was broken with screw on the floor and nail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Direzione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emmanuel, we read your review at the beginning of your stay. It is really a pity you did not want to speak directly with us during these 6 nights. We are really sorry about your disappoint and we cannot understand why, as the points you wrote about have been immediately resolved or even not reported/checked (food under the carpet?).... More 

Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an all-around wonderful experience!! The City Hotel BW was spotless, with updated modern decor; the staff was courteous and helpful; and the location was perfect...albeit a little difficult to find as it is tucked down a small side street. Grace at the front desk was the best...she went above and beyond. We would return to this hotel without hesitation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

858 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (622)
Viewed
Essence Single (59)
Viewed
Feel Quadruple (69)
Viewed
Look Superior (74)
Viewed
Look Triple (67)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (121)
Viewed
Sound Standard (66)
Viewed
Suite (109)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Hotel Continental
#6 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Genoa City
#19 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Melia Genova
#2 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay