We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Nuovo Nord

Hotel website
Via Balbi 155/r, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    119
    54
    13
    10
See reviews for
41
130
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A nice, little hotel a few minutes walk from the railway station and fifteen minutes walk from the port, which was the main reason for booking this hotel – a good value stay for pre and post cruise. A pleasant room and nice bathroom. A little noisy at night, however, and on our post cruise stay in Mid – May,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind review! We hope to see you again in the near future! More 

New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent clean and pleasant hotel in a great location on Via Balbi just a couple of minutes walk from the main train station and within a minute or two from the Palazzo Reale, probably the most interesting of more than 40 medieval palaces in Genoa. There are many dining options right in front of the hotel. The staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here. See you the next time! More 

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Very good customer service! Despite writing off the refund in January when I thought we were at an impasse (because the hotel's bank was telling them the refund was processed and my bank was telling me no credit had been received); the hotel continued to follow through and resolved the issue. I am impressed. My account has been credited for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very happy that finally everything has been solved. It is our job to try to solve our guests' needs and requests. We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel! More 

Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Cancelled my visit to Genoa due to the flooding and heavy rain. Notified the hotel via email within the required cancellation time-period, sent them my bank information for refund of deposit (per their request) even though deposit was charged to my Visa. Never received a refund or response from hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Direttore at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

From an e-mail written to the guest on 05/02/2015: Dear madam, First of all, we thank you for your e-mail. We checked again with our bank. The bank transfer was made correctly, the clerks can see that the money was withdrawn. They asked us to verify if your bank accepts bank transfers in Euros. It could be a problem of... More 

Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Hotel location is 2 minute walk from the train station. We stayed one night in a quad room which was a split level comprised of 3 floors. It's an older hotel but it was so quant and charming we loved it immediately. Staff is friendly and professional. Got an excellent recommendation from a staff member for a local restaurant --... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for choosing HNN*** for your stay in Genoa. It was a pleasure for all of us to welcome you here as our kind guest. We hope to see you again in the future. A really big "thank you" for your kind words! More 

London, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our tour of several countries in Europe. We had rented a vehicle but I have to stay that I enjoyed driving less in Genoa and northern Italy less than any other country we visited. The hotel does not have parking and, although it is close to the train station, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review and your good mark. We are sorry for the inconvenient of the hot water and we are happy to know that the day after everything was ok again. We are situated in the old town and in a restricted area for traffic. Anyway, we suggest our guests to put "piazza Acquaverde" as destination... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This hotel was superb value. Staff are so friendly & helpful. Bathroom recently modernised. Shower a little small- only complaint. Very clean & well run. Very central. Some reasonable restaurants nearby. Definitely will return. Irene checked us in and was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelnuovonord, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your excellent review! Irene and all our staff hope to see you again soon! More 

Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We planned on staying for 2 nights but extended to three while waiting for luggage to arrive. Had a nicely furnished room on the second floor that was an excellent value for the rate. Room was on street side and air conditioned so noise was not an issue. All hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelnuovonord, Laura, Reception Desk at Hotel Nuovo Nord, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you first of all for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at HNN***! Thank you for underling the comfort of our rooms and our central position in Genua! Look forward to receive your next visit! Best regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

First off, a budget room means no air conditioning and no wi-fi access... other than that, this place was fantastic! From the moment we arrive (Just after the 1030pm cut-off) we were made to feel welcome by the reception staff, who turned out to be very helpful! We received an email about a week before our stay making sure that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel surprised with its price performance. Located in walking distances from all important historic places and fantastic close to railway station. The ladies working in the reception were so kind and helpful and advising very useful tips about nearby region!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay