We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

#784 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Via degli Scolopi 31, 00136 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Horrible hotel, had to move to three different rooms as our rooms had so many things broken and damaged. Very noisy and people are not friendly. TV doesn't work, there was a leak in the bathroom, the shower was very small and claustrophobic and the shower head was going everywhere. The door handle was broken and the card didnt work... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nadia W
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Nadia W, We are very sorry to read your review about our hotel. Thank you for your report, every comment is a reason to do always more in order to satisfy all our guests’ preferences and guarantee a pleasant journey together with us. In relation to rooms, your booking was for a standard room type and we have tried... More 

Tsada, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a good value venue with the public areas and dining room up to 4 stars, however my bedroom was a little stark no wall pictures and the wifi was disappointing by coming and going. The breakfast was good and enjoyable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David I
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear David I, many thanks for your review about our Excel Roma Montemario. We are glad to understand you spent good time in our hotel together with us and you appreciated our public areas and dining room; we are also happy you liked our buffet breakfast in the morning, composed by a large selection of fresh and delicious products. In... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had to move rooms as our room had so many things damaged. Lots of noise from other people could hear the person talking in the room next door. Food was good. Staff very helpful. Would stay closer to centre to be more central. Room very basic and small

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Alison H, thank you for your review about our Excel Roma Montemario. We are glad you have found our staff helpful and you liked the food we serve in our excellent M&G Restaurant. In relation to our position we are located just outside the main city centre of Rome, but it is very easy to reach the most important... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is not very good, it's at least 30 min into Rome by bus although that is cheap. The hotel it quite comfortable as furnishings go but when we arrived having booked a twin room for two days it was very busy. On going up to the 4th floor we found our (myself and my daughter) room was a double... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenn_oliver_13
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Jenn_oliver_13, We are very sorry to understand about the inconveniences happened during your journey in our hotel. All the descriptions that you can find in the internet explain where we are located, outside the main city center of Rome but at the meantime very close to it and reachable by the local buses, there is a bus stop just... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room - basic but comfortable, however shower was approx 2sq feet which was a downside. Rest of hotel is clearly 4 star. Location- Get your bus tickets from Rome centre as there is nowhere near hotel to get tickets, trust me we tried and we tried! We spent €3 for both of us to get to hotel, 30 minute ride... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Richard B, Many thanks for your review about our Excel Roma Montemario. We are very happy you spent good time in our hotel during your journey in Rome and you appreciated our rooms; guest’ satisfaction is our main goal. Regarding the position, as you correctly have said, we are outside the chaotic main city center, in the outskirts of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived early evening.....desk staff didn't acknowledge us, until we were right in front of them and had said hello. We stayed three nights and not once were we greeted without us first saying hello. Room was grubby, shower cubicle so small, tv didn't work, no one answered the phone when we called The front desk or room service. Tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sousan P
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Sousan P, we are sorry you didn't spend good time in our hotel and to understand your opinion about our staff. We are certain it deals with a misunderstanding; our staff, as you can read from other several reviews, is always at our guest's disposal and helpful with theme. However, we involved all the staff in the reading of... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights. the rooms are nice and comfortable. The breakfast is very nice. The main disadvantage is the location. There is no direct bus from roma termini. First you have to take the metro and then a bus. Secondly, the fitness club is chargeable. Overall, if you want to stay at a quiet place, you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piyushb88
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Piyushb88, many thanks for your review about our Excel Roma Montemario. We are happy to understand you have found our rooms nice and comfortable and you have appreciated our buffet breakfast, made by several fresh products for all tastes. Regarding our position, as you correctly have said we are in a very quiet area and at the meantime close... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Our room was so basic - so quilt covers just a blanket, the TV didnt work and when we rang for room services 4 times nobody answered. We had to walk down to the resturant to order then they charged us for service!! Crazy. Also, cost us 60 Euro in taxi fare to the hotel from ciampino and 20 euros... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jade R
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Jade R, thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn’t spend good time in our structure and that you didn’t find the room up to your expectations; we have two different types of rooms: standard and minimalist, superior and modern. We suggest you to try a different room next time, we are sure it would satisfy your... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel, yes it was on the outskirts of the CENTER but to be honest we preferred it. It's a short walk up the road outside the hotel, turn right and walk to the local tobacconist shop where you can purchase bus/metro tickets for €1.50 that lasts 100mins. The 913 bus is the one to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea B
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Andrea B, many thanks for your review about our Excel Roma Montemario, we are happy to know you have spent good time together with us and very grateful for your positive comments. You described our structure, its amenities and our staff with lovely words and we are very proud reading it; guest's satisfaction is our main goal and we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Having arrived at 11pm due to our train arriving late from Venice we were given a room with a double bed instead of a room with 2 beds. On the positive they did allocate another room for the night and switched the next day, but only single beds. No teas/coffee made not sure if this is normal for Italy as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cazl67
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Cazl67, thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad you found our staff helpfull, it is a very important feature for us and fundamental for our job. We are happy we could have been able to satisfy your preference for the room setting immediately, we always do our best to satisfy our guest's requests. On the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

260 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (243)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Sunrise Hotel
#757 of 1,271 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#516 of 1,271 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Raganelli Hotel
#559 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,055 reviews
Hotel Artis
#443 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Black Hotel
#601 of 1,271 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay