We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mari 1

Via Palestro, 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mari 1
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Mari 1
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    3
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got there at 11pm as indicated on our sheet but there was no one at reception - after climbing 4 flights (which are actually 8 flights) up to the hotel. We didn't have a italian sim so had to find a place to call the number given on the little sheet on the door which just said Hotel Mari... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in July and for the price I was happy. Yes, reception is on the second floor and rooms are on the fourth, so expect to climb quite a few steps. I personally found the staff helpful and pleasant but there were a couple of negatives. Although connecting to the hotel wifi network was easy,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing our hotel Mari 1 for your stay in Rome. We are very glad to know that you appreciated the hotel and also the good value for money. We also thak you for your suggestions : we will do our best to fix them. It will be a big pleasure... More

Gainesville, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I went to the hotel after climbing 4 flights of stairs, they said they could not charge my credit card when I booked online and I had to pay cash for the booking. This is a scam. They charge everyone twice!! NEVER go to this hotel. When I said I did not have cash, they kicked me out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but I am pleased to point out something very important: sometimes it happens that credit cards give problems, and in fact there has happened more than once that we are being denied the transaction but in fact the money was taken anyway. I want to emphasize, however, that all the guests that has happened this... More

Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First and foremost,we booked for 4 nights and knew we are goin to climb the stairs but never thought 4 flights of stairs. People with heavy lugguages,lack of stamina and with small kids,Iwould not recommend this hotel. Though it was cheap but staying with open windows at night,is a nightmare. People patronising at those restaurants down below are annoying because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate very much. It is in fact the hotel has no lift and for technical reasons we were not able to install it yet but we are working on that and there are good possibilities. we are pleased that you found the hotel clean and the breakfast satisfactory. We are pleased that you appreciate the... More

san francisco, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First and foremost, if you don't like going up 4 flights of stairs with all your luggage, DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are on the 4th story and it's very tough to carry your luggage up that high. Secondly, you have to check in at the other Hotel Mari 2, which is probably a 15 minute walk, with all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

dear girls thank you for your review. We appreciate your advice that no doubt will help us to improve. We are pleased that the rooms are to your liking and they were clean. We are pleased that the staff was friendly and courteous. In addition, we are pleased that the strategic location did you allow to move freely around the... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day. More

Haifa, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The price that we paid for the room was really not worth it. No elevators. The receptionist was really unfriendly. The fan and lights in the room were not working.In short, that was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Don't be tempted to accept either this hotel or its sister the Mari 2 as suitable hotels for school groups. They may be inexpensive and relatively centrally located, but we had an extremely stressful stay here. Because of an accident that happened on the first morning of our visit, the managers locked us out of our rooms each evening and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Mari 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

Address: Via Palestro, 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay