We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,264 Rome hotels

Hotel Philia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Philia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Philia to your Saves list
Ranked #896 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
Pinco P
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    14
    21
    31
See reviews for
18
43
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

All in all wouldn't have been too bad except for the lack of hot water. Room is nothing special, bathroom is small and our's had a broken toilet seat. Internet wasn't free, but it was a close walk to the train station. The breakfast, however, was quite good but didn't make up for the lack of basic accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent here 3 days and We enjoyed our stay. The staff Was very nice, Sharon and Alessia helped us in finding restaurants, bars, clubs. They booked us the tickets for the Sistine Chapel and for the Galleria Borghese. The breakfast Was great even though it Was just a continental breakfast without salads and meat, the boy Who served us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and once i entered the room it is clean and neat. I read some of the reviews and was imagining a nasty hotel. But i was wrong, plus the staff was great they helped me a lot and suggested me good places to go to. Thank you miss sharon!! Good luck on everything and God... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the hotel three nights while in Rome. The hotel was average with nice people working there. The breakfast was good, with breads and pastries available. The hotel was very close to the Termini which was great because you can get a lot of things you need there. Walking from this location to the sights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I chose this hotel specifically for its location. It is near enough (5 mins leisurely walk) to Termini station to be a launching pad for everything. It is on the 2nd floor of a multi-hotel building along Via Palestro. There is an elevator. I was surprised at the size of the room. I was fully expecting a tiny, typically European... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate the fact that you spent your time on writing it. I hope you enjoyed your staying in our hotel and I wish to see you again in your next trip to Rome. Wishing you all the best Sharon More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel for a week end in November... I was a bit afraid because of the other rewiew but I can say that I really felt home. My room was on the third floor and of I remember well the number should be 334. That room has 3 windows, it' s a very big room and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Riga Region, Latvia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Bad hotel. No hot water 80% of time. Problems with shower - didn't work door. Water in shower doesn't go out. We was told about this problem on reception,but problem doesn't resolved. Wifi 5 Euro per 12h. Very expensive in 21 century. And work just with one device. Breakfast in 9.00 ful for 15% . But very good roomkeaper. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I Spent in this family-run hotel 3 days in November. The room was great, it was very clean and everything worked Well. The TV worked even if it has just italian channels, the wifi work properly, the heating was super and at the end of the Day I could take my shower in a Marble Jacuzzi shower... I really loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I only paid 40$ a night, but i still think this hotel sucks.. Its clean, but old, and nothing works. We had cold water for 5 days and tv did not work. The area is ok, but not great. Pretty far away from the attractions but close to the termini, main metro and bus station

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Hello Mr Casper, I'm very sorry for your experience but I'd like to remember you that you choosed a B&B and you arrived here, in a 3 stars, just because they had an overbooking. We hold your booking without changing conditions. I can understand you were disappointed but we always try to offer to our guests the best service we... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pictures online of this hotel are completely different then the actual hotel. The area of the hotel is not great and definitely not safe after dark. Our rooms had no A/C, TV didn't work, and we had to have phones brought to our room. The cleaning staff spent a total of 5 minutes cleaning the room. You must be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay