We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,263 Rome hotels

Hotel Philia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Philia to your Saves list
Hotel Philia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #879 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013
Venere M London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    8
    17
    24
See reviews for
14
25
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel for a week end in November... I was a bit afraid because of the other rewiew but I can say that I really felt home. My room was on the third floor and of I remember well the number should be 334. That room has 3 windows, it' s a very big room and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Riga Region, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Bad hotel. No hot water 80% of time. Problems with shower - didn't work door. Water in shower doesn't go out. We was told about this problem on reception,but problem doesn't resolved. Wifi 5 Euro per 12h. Very expensive in 21 century. And work just with one device. Breakfast in 9.00 ful for 15% . But very good roomkeaper. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I Spent in this family-run hotel 3 days in November. The room was great, it was very clean and everything worked Well. The TV worked even if it has just italian channels, the wifi work properly, the heating was super and at the end of the Day I could take my shower in a Marble Jacuzzi shower... I really loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I only paid 40$ a night, but i still think this hotel sucks.. Its clean, but old, and nothing works. We had cold water for 5 days and tv did not work. The area is ok, but not great. Pretty far away from the attractions but close to the termini, main metro and bus station

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Hello Mr Casper, I'm very sorry for your experience but I'd like to remember you that you choosed a B&B and you arrived here, in a 3 stars, just because they had an overbooking. We hold your booking without changing conditions. I can understand you were disappointed but we always try to offer to our guests the best service we... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pictures online of this hotel are completely different then the actual hotel. The area of the hotel is not great and definitely not safe after dark. Our rooms had no A/C, TV didn't work, and we had to have phones brought to our room. The cleaning staff spent a total of 5 minutes cleaning the room. You must be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Radstock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel Philia is in a reasonably central situation, just a few minutes from both the main railway station/Metro (Termini) and Metro (Castro Pretorio). The Metro is seemingly always crowded and one rarely gets a seat. However, a MetroBus ticket for a week only costs 24 euro. If you enjoy walking, then all major sites of interest are within fairly easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Dear Coffeandjuice, We always try to do our best for our guests and we are really proud of ourselves when we read that you had a "splendid treatment". Thank you for the kind words and I do hope to see you once again in the future if you ever decide to return to Rome. Warmest regards Sharon More

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights at this basic and poor tasted lodging. We had the worst experience, especially from the service given. We did not have hot water in our shower and though we alerted the staff about it 4 times, nothing was done. Each time we were given a different excuse. At the last time the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lolly89, Direttore at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We usually use to trust to our guests and we also use to check if there is something wrong with the rooms or if they have a problem. We checked your room and there was the hot water, you and your girlfriend were the only two guest in the hotel to complain about that. We were fully-booked so... More

Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Finding a decent hotel in Rome can be quite difficult. What we really like about Hotel Philia is its excellent location (near the train station and the Metro station Castro Pretorio). All mainstream attractions of the eternal city are easy to reach, but also less touristic places like our beloved "San Lorenzo" (the university's neighborhood http://www.feelhomeinrome.com/rome-blog/index.php/san-lorenzo/). Also the "Pizzeria del... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as it was close to Termini Sation (300m). It is clearly a budget hotel and had many young people staying. Our room was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent and was a great start to the day. It was relatively close to the major... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Arrived 7 pm and were under impression it was 3 * Adventure Hotel we booked into. Rate for last minute was E100 which according to them was special rate .They said normal rate was E125-145. When we got to the room it was 2* Philia Hotel. The air con did not work at all,just fan, and had to sleep with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Philia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.