We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,265 Rome hotels

Hotel Philia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Philia to your Saves list
Hotel Philia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
47%
Ranked #875 of 1,265 hotels in Rome
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
Pinco P
  • Overview
  • Reviews (110)
  • Photos (37)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    10
    21
    28
See reviews for
19
33
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent here 3 days and We enjoyed our stay. The staff Was very nice, Sharon and Alessia helped us in finding restaurants, bars, clubs. They booked us the tickets for the Sistine Chapel and for the Galleria Borghese. The breakfast Was great even though it Was just a continental breakfast without salads and meat, the boy Who served us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and once i entered the room it is clean and neat. I read some of the reviews and was imagining a nasty hotel. But i was wrong, plus the staff was great they helped me a lot and suggested me good places to go to. Thank you miss sharon!! Good luck on everything and God... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Just a 2 night stay at this hotel ruined my weekend in Rome. Very rude staff, poor rooms but worst of all no hot water in taps or in the shower. Good if you don't mind cold shower :) Don't buy breakfast there either. You pay a fortune for a croissant that's been there yesterday and the day before. Decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the hotel three nights while in Rome. The hotel was average with nice people working there. The breakfast was good, with breads and pastries available. The hotel was very close to the Termini which was great because you can get a lot of things you need there. Walking from this location to the sights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I chose this hotel specifically for its location. It is near enough (5 mins leisurely walk) to Termini station to be a launching pad for everything. It is on the 2nd floor of a multi-hotel building along Via Palestro. There is an elevator. I was surprised at the size of the room. I was fully expecting a tiny, typically European... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate the fact that you spent your time on writing it. I hope you enjoyed your staying in our hotel and I wish to see you again in your next trip to Rome. Wishing you all the best Sharon More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Only cold water in the shower. When complained to the reception we were told that water temp on the boiler shows 70 degrees so there must be hot water. We repeatedly asked for someone to go upstairs to check our room but were told that this would not be possible. Promised to fix the problem by morning. Next Day The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Hello, I was waiting for you review because you told me you will spend your time writing everywhere about this hotel. If you think I was being rude or unproffesional about my work, i'am very sorry about that, but I did my best to solve the problems that you had professionally. The picture you posted regarding about the sink wasn't... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel for a week end in November... I was a bit afraid because of the other rewiew but I can say that I really felt home. My room was on the third floor and of I remember well the number should be 334. That room has 3 windows, it' s a very big room and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Riga Region, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Bad hotel. No hot water 80% of time. Problems with shower - didn't work door. Water in shower doesn't go out. We was told about this problem on reception,but problem doesn't resolved. Wifi 5 Euro per 12h. Very expensive in 21 century. And work just with one device. Breakfast in 9.00 ful for 15% . But very good roomkeaper. Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I Spent in this family-run hotel 3 days in November. The room was great, it was very clean and everything worked Well. The TV worked even if it has just italian channels, the wifi work properly, the heating was super and at the end of the Day I could take my shower in a Marble Jacuzzi shower... I really loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I only paid 40$ a night, but i still think this hotel sucks.. Its clean, but old, and nothing works. We had cold water for 5 days and tv did not work. The area is ok, but not great. Pretty far away from the attractions but close to the termini, main metro and bus station

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review

Hello Mr Casper, I'm very sorry for your experience but I'd like to remember you that you choosed a B&B and you arrived here, in a 3 stars, just because they had an overbooking. We hold your booking without changing conditions. I can understand you were disappointed but we always try to offer to our guests the best service we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Philia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rome with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Philia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer