We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stendhal Hotel

4.0 of 5 Via Del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stendhal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stendhal Hotel
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    204
    43
    20
    19
See reviews for
44
268
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (490)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is centrally located in easy walking distance to most sites. Room was large by comparison to most European hotels. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is hot and cold buffet and plentiful to start the day. The staff was quite helpful. We would definitely rebook our future stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Great great great! Better than a hot donut for breakfast! Can you start so good your day? Many thanks for your travel experience left in trip advisor. All staff thanks you. Of course, we await You to welcome once again. More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was very very small but clean. The bed was low and hard but comfortable. The bathroom has a nice size. Pity that the breakfast area us very small and always full( we had to wait for a table) Tables are small and not practical. Breakfast is basic. Location is good. Very centric.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear customer, thanks for letting your travel experience in trip advisor. Thanks for all the positive notes, however, I take this opportunity to remind some small details about the Stendhal Hotel. The size of the rooms, often already warned in my answers, it depends on what room is booked; our standards are regular with Hotels of the same category. We... More 

Jandowae, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very pleasant, very nicely furnished in a cosy old style. Rooms are not too big but of a good size and with all the amenities. The turn-down service is very good and attentive. Breakfast is good and rich, with an ample selection of cereals, breads, Danish pastries and the like. Staff members are friendly and available. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we are very happy to read your review. Customer satisfaction is our best advertisement. All our staff thank you very much. Warmest regards More 

Stockholm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfectly located with easy walking distance to all attractions and close to the subway. Our room was small and only had a very small window facing a wall. But clean and quiet. Breakfast was good with Italian standards. Scrambled eggs, salami, ham, cheese, yogurt and so on. Of course a variety of pastry, this is Italy. Coffe served to your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks to have highlighted our services, our work, our qualities in your review. All well and good, if not for a phrase. The windows in the Stendhal are all the same, we do not have rooms with windows smaller or larger. The back side rooms are, like a previosly review from other clients, without view but very... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great city centre hotel, 5 mins from Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Small rooms but clean and everything is there. We had a room looking on to a back courtyard, no outlook but very quiet! Breakfast was simple, but just what was needed to go out on a full day's sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Your travel experience is the best ads that we could get. With few words, you highlighted all our services and our best quality. Sometimes you do not need to write much to say all. Thanks from me and from all staff More 

washington, dc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small rooms but great location and service. Clean rooms. Great continental breakfast would recommend. Close to site and short walk to wherever wanted to go in Rome. Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjjjjjjjjhhhhhh

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks for letting you travel experience in Trip Advisor. Simple, fast, and exhaustive of all the lights of the Stendhal. Thanks from me and from all staff. More 

Narooma, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

A great place to stay: elegant/sophisticated décor; experienced and very good staff; great location within walking distance to the Trevi Fountain; surrounded by lots of eateries; and a good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks for your beautiful, great, wonderful review. Few words to make us proud of our work. Every day I would like to read a review like yours. Many thanks from all the staff. We await for your next stay in Roma. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

In a great location near the Spanish Steps, this little hotel was great, the service was extremely friendly, the room admittedly needed a bit of TLC and half the channels on the TV wasn't working (not to complain though as I didn't go to Rome to see what was on CNN). The breakfast was a little small in terms of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks for your review. It is true! stay in Rome just to see the TV is not the best, but the TV in Hotel is a service and we are very sorry about our channel blackout, however, the trouble was resolved in a short time. Our breakfast is served in three dining rooms; the first near the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had 4 wonderful nights in Rome. Very good hotel and kept extremely clean. Front desk staff/ Mr. Suraj is very friendly and willing to assist beyond their duty. Superb location and restaurants everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, concierge at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks for your travel experience. My work in the reception is just the latest act of a larger serving, sometimes even hidden. We are happy to have left a good memory of the Hotel Stendhal. Thanks from me and from all the staff. Suraj More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed one night and found the hotel located well in the city with easy walks to most of the main attractions. Room was a little small but it was functional and all staff were polite, breakfast was nice and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Stendhal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are very happy to have met your expectations. We await you for your next stay in Roma, promising you an upgrade to our best room to improve your personal satisfaction. Many thanks. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stendhal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stendhal Hotel

Address: Via Del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stendhal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Stendhal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#268 Romantic Hotel in Rome

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Trevi

Neighborhood Profile
Trevi
A non-stop photo and souvenir opportunity, Trevi is all about action. From early morning through the wee hours, the piazza surrounding Trevi Fountain hosts a never-ending flow of tourists hoping to make a wish or take a selfie. Clever restaurants, charming gelaterias, uncanny bars, kitsch shops, and a range of hotels make up the local landscape. Beneath the bustle are the remains of an ancient neighborhood that you can visit by heading over to a repertoire cinema and asking for a peek underground. There is something for everyone, but if peace and quiet are what you seek, plan to visit in the early morning hours.