We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,264 Rome hotels

The Church Palace

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Church Palace to your Saves list
The Church Palace
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
59%
Ranked #557 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
FlamingJune2011 England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    181
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
113
186
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel in August 2014 which is the hottest month in Rome when quite a lot of Romans leave the city for an extended vacation to cooler locales. Not sure how this impacted my observations as this was my first visit to Rome and/or Italy. I stayed in a Classic class room. The hotel was a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The church palace while still having a little more refurbishment works done , nothing worth noting, is a great place to stay while in Rome. We were there for 3 nights The room was small but big enough and was very clean bathroom also very clean. The metro us a few mins walk from the hotel and is easy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a little nervous due to some negative comments about the hotel and area... I needn't have been! We arrived at 1:00am on 31st August 2014 and everything was ready for our arrival. The staff were friendly, professional and explained everything fully that was required for a great holiday. The room was very clean; in fact, it was cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol,UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Church Palace hotel is a very large, stately building, set in fairly large grounds, apparently owned by the Vatican previously (it has a huge church, behind doors, straight ahead as you come in the front door, to the right of the open-air courtyard, and its own conference theatre, with over 300 rooms, split between two wings). It’s set back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
francesca_brocchi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Woodshap, thank you for sharing your experience at The Church Palace with the Tripadvisor Community We are very glad to learn your appreciation about our the quality of our services and our new beautiful outlets. We want to thank you for being so accurate explaing to everybody the great location of the Hotel, very close to the Metro A.(... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looks great from the outside BUT or room was very small and needed some serious love and attention. We stayed for a few nights and put up with it. The room did not have anywhere to store our clothing apart from an open rail with just four hangers. We had mould on a ceiling and around the lights in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel seemed amazing on arrival, however we were very disappointed with our tower suite room which so supposed to be the best room - we had booked this hotel based on the room we saw in the pictures. We were on the 4th floor with no windows and just a sky light which was pretty creepy for our two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights as a part of the Top Deck Tour. We were told this hotel is owned by the Vatican. The hotel is very clean, and grand. Breakfast was really good and service was good. There is free wifi in the lobby. Only down fall is its location. Located close to the metro, but its a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
francesca_brocchi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear SnorkelJo, thank you for sharing your experience at The Church Palace with the Tripadvisor Community! We read your kind comment regarding your stay in our Hotel , and we felt very happy and willing to continue to work in this way. Your appreciation is very important and I'm glad that you used this instrument to describe all the services... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel looks absolutely fantastic on the outside. They have also clearly spent a lot of time refurbishing the open areas of the hotel. The rooms are basic but adequate for a city break. I only had 2 complaints whilst staying, the breakfast was somewhat limited and as other people have mentioned, the beds need replacing. Both myself and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
francesca_brocchi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Ben C, thank you for sharing your experience at The Church Palace with the Tripadvisor Community! We are happy to read that you have appreciated the new refurbished common areas and especially our open areas and gardens. We are proud of our new great and unique design. Concerning the breakfast we offer an english buffet breakfast inclusive of hot... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Church Palace hotel (or previously known as Domus Mariae Palazzo Carpegna) is an absolutely beautiful hotel! We spent 3 nights there and found it to be an amazing location with beautiful gardens, large rooms with high ceilings, beautiful decor and very easy to get to from the Metro. We also found a couple of lovely restaurants nearby (since the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
francesca_brocchi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Vasu K, thank you very much for the nice and enthusiastic review you have posted. As you have written we can confirm that most of our common areas have been recently renovated and refurbished in a new contemporary style and among them the Bar, as you have noted. We are happy to inform you that we have started also... More

bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have recently spent three nights at the Church Palace hotel and after reading through the reviews were a little anxious as to what to expect. Firstly we were amazed with the gardens in front of the hotel and its quiet location. It was 10 minutes walk from the metro - cornelia, turning right at the mcdonalds on the corner,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
francesca_brocchi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear BathMary, First of all let me thank you for your comments about your stay in our hotel. I’m very happy you appreciated the service and the courtesy of our staff, the quality of our buffet breakfast and especially the level of cleanliness of our rooms. I will share your compliments with all my Team. We continuously work hard to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Church Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Church Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Palace

Address: Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Church Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Palazzo Carpegna Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Palazzo Carpegna
Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna
Palazzo Carpegna

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rome with
any amenities