We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2,559 Rome B&Bs / inns

City Guest House

2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Viale Opita Oppio 76, 00174 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Guest House to your Saves list
City Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
66%
Ranked #1,187 of 2,559 Rome B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014
Jared7707 Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    168
    85
    36
    15
See reviews for
50
123
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have not read all the reviews but the 3 that I can see are pretty much a carbon copy of what I think too! We got this deal on Lastminute so I am not too sure what the usual rate is but it certainly suited our budget. The location was great. A short walk to Numidio Quadrto (3-4mins) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
giul, Manager at City Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the girls, thank you Jared! Perhaps you didn't know but the owner of the hotel is half kiwi, I'll make sure to pass your comments! Best regards Ana More

Yekaterinburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights. We rented a triple room. Hotel City Guest House left a very positive impression. We liked everything: room, breakfast, location, atmosphere of the hotel. Special thanks I would like to express to the staff of the hotel. This are very sociable, friendly girls that will help you deal with any questions. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
giul, General Manager at City Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your appreciation, it is a stimulus to keep on doing our job passionately. Best regards Giuliano More

Piracicaba, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel well located, close to metro and close to bars and ice cream shops. Amazing breakfast. Recommend the hotel and would return to me staying again. I recommend. Just as improvements, I suggest that the attendants have a little more consideration with tourists, because sometimes we had several questions but the receptionist just ended the conversation and back to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We didn't know what to expect, as we had this hotel booked for us by a friend, but it was great. We would probably have never booked it for ourselves, as it is a little off the beaten track, but we will now be recommending it to everyone. The staff at reception were very helpful and cheerful throughout our stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed on the 5th floor. It was a perfect stay for a budget hotel. Staff were super friendly. Conveniently situated within walking distance to the metro - well worth getting an unlimited day pass for 6 Euro. Metro gets you to all main sites - 20 min to Rome. Breakfasts are good - the croissants were delicious! Must eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
giul, General Manager at City Guest House, responded to this review

Ciao Anewa, thank you for your review and the time you took to write it. It means a lot to us! Best regards Giuliano More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This property is approximately 1 hour away from Central Rome (i.e., Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Colosseum) which was a bit of a disappointment. While I don't want to call it a dump, it was by far, the worst I've stayed at in my travels. We had a group of 40 travelers and, while the individual planning our trip was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
giul, General Manager at City Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there! Thankyou for your review. It saddens me you did not enjoy our hotel as you were expecting to. I would like to clarify that from the hotel to Piazza di Spagna (historical center) the trip from the hotel takes 20 minutes and not 60 minutes. We are 6 km from the center, not walking distance to the center,... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my cousin. We got a great deal, the hotel cost us very little relative to all the other hotels in Rome. The low hotel cost left us with significantly more spending money, if we stayed in Central Rome that would have been the other way round. So if you want a great and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good location, smart staff, small tiny rooms. But the elevator was very noisy. Breakfast is poor and every day is the same. But we loved that place. I recommend this hotel everyone, who only wants to sleep there and spend the day inside Rome. It's worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Finding a good budget accomodation in Rome isnt easy, but we were very lucky to find this Guesthouse. It's not centrally located but it's very near from a subway station, so it's easy to reach anywhere in Rome. The room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. There wasn't much decoration ut it was definitely a nice place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recommend this hotel to all categories of people. It is very good from several points of view: 1. Very supportive staff (starting from helping with adapters for the Italian plugs to explaining in details the roads and how to get to the attractions within Rome) 2. Very good speed for WIFI. Especially easy to use in the rooms. 3.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Guest House

Also Known As:
City Guest House Hotel
City Guest House Hotel Rome
City Hotel Rome
City Rome
Address: Viale Opita Oppio 76, 00174 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,187 of 2,559 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Guest House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your City Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.