We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Hermitage

#1,102 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Hermitage
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    59
    78
    88
    126
See reviews for
43
104
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We actually booked this deal through groupon as it was ridiculously cheap for a 4 day getaway. The hotel is fine its just very quiet and has a lot of conference rooms for business trips so we could tell we were out of our zone. The people there were VERY helpful and mapped out all italy's attractions to us with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis et pour les suggestions sur les améliorations à faire, nous nous efforcerons de corriger ce qui... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed week of 6/22. The breakfast was good & our morning host excellent. Room was very small, bathroom dirty, you had to slam the door to get it to lock. Internet was available in lobby and roof patio only. The American flag was hung upside down on this hotel when we mentioned it no one seemed to understand.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your review, we are sorry that we dissapointed you nevertheless good continental breakfast and friendly staff. We care about cleaning and are sorry that it wasn't perfect in the bathroom of the room you had. Also, we are sorry that the room was smaller than you expected and that your mobile device had some connection issues.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Grand Hotel Hermitage is in a quiet environment, strategically in a walkable distance to Parco de la Musica (a big conference centre in Rome that hosts big Events) and other attractions.On the top you get a clear view of the Vatican and the leaf green Rome, the Hotel is not tall enough to the see the bigger Rome. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Erasmus B, thanks for your review, we will do our best to improve the issues you mentioned, we are glad that you enjoyed Rome. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

The hotel is very tired and for a four star it was far below our expectations. We asked for a room with a bath and when we arrived it wasn't. The hotel staff were very good and promised to get us one the next day as we'd arrived about 10.30pm. They did do this but the hot water ranged from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear MargaretPBGS, thanks for your review, we are continuously doing maintenance in order to improve the service, we are glad that our staff managed to fulfill the requests. We are sorry you didn't like our continental breakfast with a high variety of quality products. We will work even harder to improve the situation, we apologize for having been below your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, staff were unhelpful no welcome or information given about time when breakfast is served, room key given & off you pop. The rooms need updating, we had dirty marks on the wall, bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned, water dripping from the ceiling, no hot water on our first night, balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that you first review on this website is negative and about our hotel. We apologize for what you report, we will improve our staff's behavior and will solve the issues you mentioned in order to offer a better service. We are glad you liked the bed and our continental breakfast though. We are not in... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Not so Grand!! Disappointing. Certainly not 4* standard. Room adequate but had faulty light fixtures and had to wait ages for the shower to warm up. It was quite cold in the breakfast room and the staff were not very helpful or particularly friendly. Quite a long way from central rome although there is a bus service nearby if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear LindaC1957, thanks for your review, we are glad to confirm that we fully correspond to the regional standard of the 4 stars hotels. We are sorry that the temperature in the breakfast room was different from your expectations and that the staff was not friendly enough, we will do our best to avoid these situations in the future. We... More 

Ischia Porto, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

we stayed here for a night because it was the nearest hotel to "campi sportivi" that my friend found. i must admit that it was the cheapest around that area but honestly it wasn't a 4star hotel at all!!! we had a room at the last floor...very old & very cold!!! it was also smelly like its not been used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that we were below your expectations. We are trying to mantain the temperature suitable for international clients, we are sorry it was colder than you expected. We will do our best to improve our service, we wish you will give us another chance to show our usual hospitality standards. More 

Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

When we arrived we were taken to a room with a smelly bathroom and unmade bed. Our next room had a broken shower, which I fixed with a hair bobble, only to find there was no hot water. Our 'Double' room was two beds pushed together which meant me and my partner basically slept in separate beds. There was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, we are sorry for the problem with the shower. At breakfast guest are supposed to ask the waiters for hot drinks, because they are made on the spot, as in most hotels, waiters did not avoid your table, they simply thought you didn't want anything, we apologize for the misunderstanding. Hotel's location is at Parioli area, one... More 

warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel has obviously seen better days but is an ideal way to stay in Rome if you do not want to pay the prices charged for hotels in central Rome.There is a bus stop in close vicinity for regular bus service into Rome.Along the road there is a café bar with panoramic views over Rome and the surrounding areas.For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear ericred1840, thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the nearest restaurants and 10 minutes by walk from Piazza Ungheria where you can find several bars and restaurants open till late. We are glad you liked the value for money and the panoramic views. To the Vatican you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The hotel is quite old. Maybe it was a 4-star hotel 15 years ago, but not nowadays. The air conditioning did not seem to work. The blankets looked old as well, of that kind that are heavy (not a feather duvet). The breakfast was OK, but again not for a 4-star hotel. The WiFi connection, which is a basic for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Sjr_traveller, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us, we apologize that your mobile device had some problems connecting to our wifi. We are glad you liked the breakfast. We therefore reconfirm that we respect the regional law regarding 4 stars hotels. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Windows (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Regent Roma
Hotel Regent Roma
#846 of 1,269 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#707 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Sunrise Hotel
#714 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aureliano
#771 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Black Hotel
#617 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Parioli

Neighborhood Profile
Parioli
Young and well-to-do families are the street flavor of Parioli. A new kind of Rome, this area is centuries away from the Renaissance with its pockets of 1930s palaces, tony boutiques, open-air markets and plenty of coffee shops. Parioli was built as an enclave for last century’s haute bourgeois and still represents as such in 21st century Rome. Need a break? The area has several great sporting clubs known for tennis and riding, a wonderful modern art museum, easy access to the zoo (Europe’s oldest), and is nestled around Rome’s very best parks including Villa Borghese, Villa Ada and Villa Glori.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay