We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,263 Rome hotels

Grand Hotel Hermitage

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)
Hotel amenities
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Hermitage to your Saves list
Ranked #1,077 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    56
    70
    78
    118
See reviews for
39
93
23
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (327)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived we were taken to a room with a smelly bathroom and unmade bed. Our next room had a broken shower, which I fixed with a hair bobble, only to find there was no hot water. Our 'Double' room was two beds pushed together which meant me and my partner basically slept in separate beds. There was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, we are sorry for the problem with the shower. At breakfast guest are supposed to ask the waiters for hot drinks, because they are made on the spot, as in most hotels, waiters did not avoid your table, they simply thought you didn't want anything, we apologize for the misunderstanding. Hotel's location is at Parioli area, one... More 

warrington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has obviously seen better days but is an ideal way to stay in Rome if you do not want to pay the prices charged for hotels in central Rome.There is a bus stop in close vicinity for regular bus service into Rome.Along the road there is a café bar with panoramic views over Rome and the surrounding areas.For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear ericred1840, thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the nearest restaurants and 10 minutes by walk from Piazza Ungheria where you can find several bars and restaurants open till late. We are glad you liked the value for money and the panoramic views. To the Vatican you... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The hotel is quite old. Maybe it was a 4-star hotel 15 years ago, but not nowadays. The air conditioning did not seem to work. The blankets looked old as well, of that kind that are heavy (not a feather duvet). The breakfast was OK, but again not for a 4-star hotel. The WiFi connection, which is a basic for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Sjr_traveller, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us, we apologize that your mobile device had some problems connecting to our wifi. We are glad you liked the breakfast. We therefore reconfirm that we respect the regional law regarding 4 stars hotels. More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Firstly if you go to Rome get some spare Euro as you will have to pay €6 a day per tourist if you are over 18. The hotel its not even close to 4* yes you get A/C in the room, yes you get a TV in the room but dont dream at the flat TV that is described in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Diabollxx, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, the city tax is compulsry for all 4 stars hotels in Rome and since September 2014 it is 6 euro for children who are more than 10 years old and for adults. We don't have an ironing service but it is stated on all the websites.... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, only because it was the only hotel close to a hospital where a family member was being treated. Room smelled like someone had died, water dripped from the ceiling and the a/c didn't work. Breakfast was decent. Neighborhood looks nice during the day but is totally deserted at night- no nearby restaurants and walking alone on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Laura10510, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, we confirm that the area around the hotel is calm, the area is residential, one of the best in Rome. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the restaurants and 10 from piazza Ungheria. We apologize for the problems you had, thanks for your observations,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. A grand hotel that has perhaps lost its charm. Good breakfast. Facilities however could be improved including modernizing its bathroom, new carpets, better beds etc. The hotel however still retains its charm in a quite neighborhood of Rome. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear ProfessorPaul, thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed our hotel's charme. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night while exploring Rome for a few days. Having researched the place on Tripadvisor after booking, we were expecting something resembling a Beirut shack. However, we experienced none of the negative experiences described here. We paid something like 40 Euros for a room very close to the centre of Rome and we were more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Chris F, thanks for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, the position, the value for money and the cordiality of the reception staff. More 

North Augusta, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was ok, at least it had air but there was a slight oder coming out of the vents. However we thought the hotel was nice, it had a nice roof top garden that was romantic, and a nice size balcony. The staff was great and very helpful as well, and the breakfast was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear katmarie1, thanks for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we were at the hotel so we got a small room,we told dem that we were promised rooms with balconies and views!we got a room with toilet smell that you could not even breathe!!!The day after we got second place in the seventh floor and it was almost the same . plus we could not close the balcony door!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ali R, we apologize for the problems you had in our hotel. The additional fee you mention is the city tax which is compulsory for all hotels in Rome. More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our group of 40 travelers was excited about getting to Rome but this hotel put a damper on things. First of all, the WiFi is terrible, only hardly works in the lobby. Then after touring in 95 degree weather all day long, all you want is to come back to a nice Air Conditioned room, but sleeping in sweat was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in Rome

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Parioli

Neighborhood Profile
Parioli
Young and well-to-do families are the street flavor of Parioli. A new kind of Rome, this area is centuries away from the Renaissance with its pockets of 1930s palaces, tony boutiques, open-air markets and plenty of coffee shops. Parioli was built as an enclave for last century’s haute bourgeois and still represents as such in 21st century Rome. Need a break? The area has several great sporting clubs known for tennis and riding, a wonderful modern art museum, easy access to the zoo (Europe’s oldest), and is nestled around Rome’s very best parks including Villa Borghese, Villa Ada and Villa Glori.