We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Hermitage

#1,106 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1,106 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    59
    75
    86
    124
See reviews for
42
101
24
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Grand Hotel Hermitage is in a quiet environment, strategically in a walkable distance to Parco de la Musica (a big conference centre in Rome that hosts big Events) and other attractions.On the top you get a clear view of the Vatican and the leaf green Rome, the Hotel is not tall enough to the see the bigger Rome. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Erasmus B, thanks for your review, we will do our best to improve the issues you mentioned, we are glad that you enjoyed Rome. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is very tired and for a four star it was far below our expectations. We asked for a room with a bath and when we arrived it wasn't. The hotel staff were very good and promised to get us one the next day as we'd arrived about 10.30pm. They did do this but the hot water ranged from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear MargaretPBGS, thanks for your review, we are continuously doing maintenance in order to improve the service, we are glad that our staff managed to fulfill the requests. We are sorry you didn't like our continental breakfast with a high variety of quality products. We will work even harder to improve the situation, we apologize for having been below your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, staff were unhelpful no welcome or information given about time when breakfast is served, room key given & off you pop. The rooms need updating, we had dirty marks on the wall, bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned, water dripping from the ceiling, no hot water on our first night, balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that you first review on this website is negative and about our hotel. We apologize for what you report, we will improve our staff's behavior and will solve the issues you mentioned in order to offer a better service. We are glad you liked the bed and our continental breakfast though. We are not in... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Not so Grand!! Disappointing. Certainly not 4* standard. Room adequate but had faulty light fixtures and had to wait ages for the shower to warm up. It was quite cold in the breakfast room and the staff were not very helpful or particularly friendly. Quite a long way from central rome although there is a bus service nearby if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear LindaC1957, thanks for your review, we are glad to confirm that we fully correspond to the regional standard of the 4 stars hotels. We are sorry that the temperature in the breakfast room was different from your expectations and that the staff was not friendly enough, we will do our best to avoid these situations in the future. We... More 

Ischia Porto, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

we stayed here for a night because it was the nearest hotel to "campi sportivi" that my friend found. i must admit that it was the cheapest around that area but honestly it wasn't a 4star hotel at all!!! we had a room at the last floor...very old & very cold!!! it was also smelly like its not been used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that we were below your expectations. We are trying to mantain the temperature suitable for international clients, we are sorry it was colder than you expected. We will do our best to improve our service, we wish you will give us another chance to show our usual hospitality standards. More 

Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

When we arrived we were taken to a room with a smelly bathroom and unmade bed. Our next room had a broken shower, which I fixed with a hair bobble, only to find there was no hot water. Our 'Double' room was two beds pushed together which meant me and my partner basically slept in separate beds. There was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, we are sorry for the problem with the shower. At breakfast guest are supposed to ask the waiters for hot drinks, because they are made on the spot, as in most hotels, waiters did not avoid your table, they simply thought you didn't want anything, we apologize for the misunderstanding. Hotel's location is at Parioli area, one... More 

warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel has obviously seen better days but is an ideal way to stay in Rome if you do not want to pay the prices charged for hotels in central Rome.There is a bus stop in close vicinity for regular bus service into Rome.Along the road there is a café bar with panoramic views over Rome and the surrounding areas.For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear ericred1840, thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the nearest restaurants and 10 minutes by walk from Piazza Ungheria where you can find several bars and restaurants open till late. We are glad you liked the value for money and the panoramic views. To the Vatican you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The hotel is quite old. Maybe it was a 4-star hotel 15 years ago, but not nowadays. The air conditioning did not seem to work. The blankets looked old as well, of that kind that are heavy (not a feather duvet). The breakfast was OK, but again not for a 4-star hotel. The WiFi connection, which is a basic for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Sjr_traveller, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us, we apologize that your mobile device had some problems connecting to our wifi. We are glad you liked the breakfast. We therefore reconfirm that we respect the regional law regarding 4 stars hotels. More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Firstly if you go to Rome get some spare Euro as you will have to pay €6 a day per tourist if you are over 18. The hotel its not even close to 4* yes you get A/C in the room, yes you get a TV in the room but dont dream at the flat TV that is described in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Diabollxx, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, the city tax is compulsry for all 4 stars hotels in Rome and since September 2014 it is 6 euro for children who are more than 10 years old and for adults. We don't have an ironing service but it is stated on all the websites.... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, only because it was the only hotel close to a hospital where a family member was being treated. Room smelled like someone had died, water dripped from the ceiling and the a/c didn't work. Breakfast was decent. Neighborhood looks nice during the day but is totally deserted at night- no nearby restaurants and walking alone on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Laura10510, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, we confirm that the area around the hotel is calm, the area is residential, one of the best in Rome. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the restaurants and 10 from piazza Ungheria. We apologize for the problems you had, thanks for your observations,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

360 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Windows (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Parioli

Neighborhood Profile
Parioli
Young and well-to-do families are the street flavor of Parioli. A new kind of Rome, this area is centuries away from the Renaissance with its pockets of 1930s palaces, tony boutiques, open-air markets and plenty of coffee shops. Parioli was built as an enclave for last century’s haute bourgeois and still represents as such in 21st century Rome. Need a break? The area has several great sporting clubs known for tennis and riding, a wonderful modern art museum, easy access to the zoo (Europe’s oldest), and is nestled around Rome’s very best parks including Villa Borghese, Villa Ada and Villa Glori.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay