We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallia Hotel

#832 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Via Di Santa Maria Maggiore 143, 00185 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Gallia Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #832 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
amanda j Tiverton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    57
    41
    29
See reviews for
43
101
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arriving we told the front desk we were in pest control and if they had a bed bug problem. Desk told us no.... but had a problem awhile ago, but it was handled. Checked room out pretty well, tipped chairs, headboard, mattress, baseboards etc. Woke up next morning with bites on me and wife. Checked under sheets found 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had our first trip to Rome and we chose this hotel because of it's location and outside terrace. First impressions were quaint and quirky and appeared to have everything we needed. We were given the room on the 5th floor which was a nice big double bed with additional dressing room, bath with spa and looked the business. Just outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amanda j, thanks for your review, we are sorry we were below your expectations, we don't have a bar, we only serve breakfast, when the weather is nice on the terrace. We will do our best to use your suggestions in order to improve the service. More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent four nights in the Gallia. Staff very polite but hotel very tired and dated. Tiny little window in our room - lights not very bright so couldn't read maps etc! Breakfast was the same day in day out. Only fresh fruit was melon, everything else was tinned! Nice roof terrace, but nowhere to get a coffee to enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue R, thanks for your positive review about our staff and location. We are sorry the room was different from your expectations, we are continuously doing maintenance in order to assure our guests satisfaction. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After having booked the sister hotel vitaminal but with problems ended up in here I have to say I was slightly dissapointed. As s couple on a romantic break having 2 x single beds wasn't the best start. The room was spacious but needs a revamp. Bathroom was nice but the bath could have been cleaner. The worst part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sammy D, we apologize for having been below your expectations. We will do our best to avoid these situations in the future. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Booked two rooms for 3 daughters and myself (308/309) hotel staff very friendly, great location and rooms very nice and clean. breakfast very nice. Good location to visit all the key sites and excellent four day break. Would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy B, thanks for your positive review, we are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to host you again soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The room was comfortable and clean and had a nice bathroom in the room, however we had trouble getting internet in our room. It's not fancy but definitely a great place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which had a lot of choices to eat, (meats, cheeses, eggs, cereal, pastry, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BugTrvl, thanks for your positive review about our stay and for so many beautiful pictures. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay and we hope to host you again! More 

Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The hotel was situated within walking distance of the Collaseum. The room was very small, just big enough for a queen-sized bed. Friendly hotel staff.Breakfast was very very simple. Close to bus stops and metro station.Certainly not a 4 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dror1974, thanks for your review, we are glad you liked our central location, and the staff. We confirm that we fully correspond to the regional standards for the 4 stars hotels. More 

Gyor-Moson-Sopron County, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This hotel more then perfect, what you need in this city. Nice and clean room, really big room. The rooms was so nice decorated, i was feel myself like in the 16th century. Bed is big and comfortable. Bathroom clean..... Easy perfect! I recommend for city visitors. You can reach from the hotel all famous place by walk!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Szobika82, thanks for your positive review, we are glad you liked our classical refurbishment, service, terrace, breakfast, bathroom, cleaning and our central location at 10 minutes by walk from Termini station and from the Coliseum and close to Santa Maria Maggiore Church. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Just home 4rm dis hotel!! Have to say man at reception was soo helpful and nice.. was lovely hotel. Room was fab stayed 401!! Brefast was really nice in d morning.. wen i cum back to rome defo b stayin ere again *****

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura G, thanks for recommending our hotel and for choosing it again for your next trip in Rome! We are glad you liked our staff, continental breakfast and your room. We hope to host you again soon! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Location to was good. Near the train station and other sights. The women who helped with breakfast in the morning was great. The room was a good size but the bed wasn't very comfortable. The Internet did not work in the room unless you stood near the door to the hallway. The front desk stay weren't very friendly. We suspect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Gallia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stan H, thanks for your kind review, we are sorry you wouldn't choose us again. We confirm that our beds do NOT have bed bugs, we check them daily. We apologize if our staff didn't look friendly to you but we are glad you liked breakfast staff and the room size. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

349 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (248)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
Standard Room (46)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (50)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Monti

Neighborhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighborhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighborhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities