We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De Monti

#33 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Monti
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    106
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
336
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (466)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent budget hotel in a great location. It's easy to get to from Termini and is based in Monti, which is very much a locals' neighbourhood, with fantastic restaurants, bars and shops. The Colosseum is within walking distance and the area is close to buses and metro although it was a relief to come back here after battling with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you so much for this fantastic review!!! We only specify that our breakfast is not a Continental one, as we dedicated our time to choose all local/regional fresh products, in order to let our guests not have those kind of fake imitations of International breakfasts. A part thanking you for reminding that we are at the... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from spending 4 brilliant nights at hotel de monti. We had a taxi booked by the hotel in advance to pick us up from the airport (55 euros) but you can also reach the hotel via the Termini. You can watch how to reach it by watching the you tube video called how to reach hotel de... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hi Lisa and thanks a million for this lovely review! It is so helpful, you reminded everything!!! A part adding that our check-in is only from 1pm to 6pm, without possibilities for a different lapse of time check-in, let us tell you that we have been so glad to have met you two people like you. You are and you... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights at Hotel De Monti. It is an excellent hotel, close to all the sights and in the Monti region which has some great restaurants and bars. The hotel was clean, very secure and with breakfast served to your room each day it was perfect for our trip. Don't let the three flights of stairs put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello Mr Carlie and thank you so much for the review! Thank in particular for reminding everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift; we also add that we have no sign outside, so, on our official website you can find all specific directions and, also, on YouTube, there is a... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spend 2 nights there and were very satisfied. Room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast tasty and the location could not be better. But it is the staff that makes the difference here - the tips Mauro gave as were priceless. He helped us optimize our sightseeing plan and recommended some really good places to eat in. He also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello there and thank you very much for this wonderful review!!!! Let us remind everyone's reading that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that we even do not have a sign outside; on our official website there are all the directions and also on YouTube there is a video called... More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, amazing value and absolutely unbelievably helpful staff. You have a fabulous array of restaurants in the Monti region and with the help of Mauro who will give you recommendations and also tips of how to avoid the lines at the attractions you can't go wrong. It is on the 3rd floor with no lift so it may not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks a lot for writing this review!! Thank you as well for reminding everyone that we are at the third floor with no lift and we also add that we have no sign outside; in order to get specific directions, we suggest everyone to have a look to the instructions about how to reach us on our... More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Superb location, amazing value, and faultless service. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in central Rome which won't break the bank, but still has incredible, personal service, this is definitely the place for you. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello Adam and thank you so much for the review!!! Let us inform everyone is reading, that we are at the third floor of a very ancient building not provided with a lift and that we even do not have a sign outside; the best way to get directions is surely our official website and even on YouTube a video... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We been with my husband in Rome in Oct 2014. We choose this place by TripAdvisor reviews and we didn't regret! Nice breakfast, clean rooms, location is perfect, frendly stuff helping with finding out best places and time to visit. Only thing i cannot understand why this place is in hotel section in TripAdvisor???!!! It is great B&B! But not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello Jennet and thank you very much for the review!!! We are a 2 stars HOTEL, actually the smallest in Rome and we are not a B&B...we are at the 3rd floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and, not even having a sign outside, the best way to reach us is to get directions on our... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Only a 15 minute walk from the train station and only 15 minutes from the colleseum. The hotel is small but very clean and perfect for sightseeing as the boys on the reception are ex tour guides and gave great advice about avoiding the queues and using alternative entrances for main sites. The breakfast provided are great to get you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you so much for the review, so helpful! We would like to remind everyone reading, that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift and that we do not even have a sign outside; the best way to get directions is our official website or on YouTube, a video called... More 

Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Based on a 4 night stay I could say that I'm satisfied with a hotel. Rooms are clean, but my was pretty small. They have a room service since they do not have a restaurant which was nice but I didn't get everything I ordered from the menu what from my point of view is lack of professionalism. Hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. We are so sorry you did not receive all you have asked in your breakfast, but why did you not inform the girl that brought it? In less than 5 minutes she could bring what was missing, it would just be enough to have informed her... The hotel rooms in Rome are all... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed for two nights for a long weekend and thought it was a fantastic hotel. We were a bit dubious as it was such a good price but can't fault the room. Spacious, comfortable bed, good size wardrobe, nice clean bathroom (although shower was not huge), aircon and heating that works! The staff spoke very good English and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alessandro Z, Direttore generale at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review

Hello Charlotte and thank you so much for the review! Thanks also for reminding everyone that we are at the third floor of an ancient building not provided with a lift, we always hope everybody knows before coming. Also, we have no sign outdside the street, so, the best way to get directions is always our official website, or on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (88)
Viewed
Standard Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Room with Dark Bed (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Monti

Neighborhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighborhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighborhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question