We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kolbe Hotel Rome

#265 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Add Your Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    311
    100
    31
    23
See reviews for
197
474
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (886)
  • Mar-May only
    (207)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (226)
All months
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great location, nice room, highlevel service, reasonable price... but avoid rooms at street level: lot of noise from the street breakfast is ok. rooms are big. perfect for visiting the ancient rome and very convenient to every location in the city center

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for sharing your review with all Trip Advisor's readers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay even if short and appreciated our location and the service provided by our staff. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the rooms. The room you booked, the double... More 

Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Kolbe March 8-13. Very clean (except for the remote control). Nice quiet room. Being from North America - I was not prepared for the extremely small shower but made it work. The room was small but great for sleeping. Had a garden view. The free breakfast was ok. The temperature of the eggs and bacon was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your detailed review! We are happy to hear you had a great time in Rome and appreciated our hotel in particular for its nice and clean rooms and for the service provided by our staff. You had a double room facing the garden, we are glad you appreciated that!. We are... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was so happy and comfortable with this hotel. Location was great, everything was new, clean and modern and the resident cats in the courtyard were a great treat! I have spend 20+ years in the travel business and have high standards when it comes to hotel, I would not hesitate to recommend The Koble Hotel. Go with a superior... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear Dore, thank you for your stay, we are so glad to hear you fell in love with our hotel! The Kolbe Hotel Rome is not an accommodation but an experience of style and history in the heart of Rome and we are happy to read you appreciated the exclusive mix of ancient and modern. Thank you for your nice... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a terrible start to our Babymoon at another hotel, our travel agent found us availability at Kolbe. With only 30 mins notice, we were put up in a very nice, clean, warm and modern room. The staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling, warming up the cold Roma days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear Wanda, thank you for your kind review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and found our staff warm, professional and friendly. We will share your feedback with all members. We hope to welcome you again! Best regards, The Managing Director Kolbe Hotel Rome More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the Kolbe in a package with our flights and were really happy we did. Having never been to Rome before we obviously wanted to get out and explore the many sights on offer, this hotel provides the perfect base for it with the main Roman sights just a few minutes walk. It meant we didn't need to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear Sam, thank you for choosing our hotel and for spending your time writing this review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our strategic location in the heart of Rome. As you wrote the Kolbe Hotel Rome is the perfect location for discovering the Eternal City, no need for taxies, everything is within... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally situated beside the Forum and most of the ancient Roman artifacts such as the Circus Maximus and a 20 minute walk from the Colosseum. Remodeled over its 4 century existence, it bears the name of Maximilian Kolbe, a 20th century monk, saint and martyr who attended the establishment during the 1930's when it was a seminary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear James, thank you for staying at the Kolbe Hotel Rome and for sharing your detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to us. We would like to thank you above all for mentioning the history of the Hotel. As you wrote the building that hosts the Kolbe Hotel Rome was developed in different phases over the... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I accidentally booked the wrong night on Expedia for a room 4 months in advance with a no refund policy. And I guess policy is policy because the hotel not only refused to issue me a refund but would not even switch the night from a Saturday to Friday without charging a penalty of the full amount! Well, if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review, and sorry if we were not able to meet your request. Unfortunately our not refundable rates are very competitive and allow guest to book at a very discounted price, but, as the word itself indicates, do not allow any refund or date change. We would like to say that we always do our... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself was not that bad, staff was helpful, location is good and we got upgraded at check in, which was nice. The air con was a bit of a mess but it was winter so we opened up the windows to get a bit of colder air. The real problem was what we found out the first morning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear Joshua, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We regret to hear that you found your room little bit dusty, please know that this is not common of our hotel since we attach much importance to cleanliness. We are also sorry to hear that the 2 hotel cats were hanging... More 

Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We switched to this hotell from another, not so nice one, and was not disappointed. Beautiful hotell with nice, clean rooms, in a quiet, for being Roma, street. Helpful and generous staff, with excellent facilities, and the garden view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear Harry, thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you spent a nice time with us in Rome and appreciated in particular the quiet of our location, our lovely internal garden and the service provided by our friendly and helpful staff. Looking forward to welcoming you again, best... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arived at the hotel after a long trip, not a great welcome, guy on desk said could not find our booking, even though we gave him our reciept, (never smiled once) finaly got our room overlooking road, very noisy at night, window would not close, , radiators did not work, no handle on bathroom door, breakfast was cold, but plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirezioneKolbe, Direttore at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review. We are sorry to read you didn't feel welcome at the arrival. Please note this is not common. As you wrote, the guy at the reception couldn't find your reservation because of a problem in our booking system, you can imagine how in difficulty he could be.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

686 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (374)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (253)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (55)
Viewed
Junior Suite (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question