We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Excelsior, Rome

#317 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Add Photo Write a Review

1,543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    657
    450
    280
    109
    47
See reviews for
375
600
48
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1543)
  • Mar-May only
    (372)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (512)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (408)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You'll get what you expect from a Westin. The Heavenly Bed, the Heavenly Shower, etc. But what I was most pleased about were the tennis shoes and work out clothes available for your use during your entire stay for only 5 Euros. I forgot to pack tennis shoes to see the Eternal City. If it weren't for this service, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Happy to read we met your expectations Our Westin’s Gear Lending program indeed allows to lend shoes (+ new pair of socks) for only 5 euros per stay. Shorts and T-shirts are also available on request This indeed saves a lot of space in your luggage ! The Manager and the Chef of the Doney Restaurant were very... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is fantastic. Close walking distance to everything in the center, including the beautiful Villa Borghese park and lots of ristorantes and gelaterias. Some handy American niceties, such as 110volt plugs in the bathroom so you don't need converters. Large rooms and clean, modern bathrooms and reliable internet. A very easy place to stay when in Rome. Leave yourself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Thank you for your nice review and happy to read you had a comfortable stay Arrivederci ! Marc L More 

Unidentified
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I only spent one night, but it was very comfortable. The room was huge and broken up into three distinct spaces - a huge bathroom with massive tub and shower; bedroom with a small settee and a writing desk; and a foyer, where the closet was located. They have fluffy bathrobes and slippers. There is a safe. The bathroom shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for saying you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our location Arrivederci ! Marc L More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Westin Excelsior Rome for 4 nights and I have to say I was quite underwhelmed by the service and also very disappointed as I had three items that went missing... When I arrived at the hotel I expected to be shown to the room and shown around however we were just told the room number and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for your review and for saying the concierge team was very pleasant As to the service issues you describe please accept my apologies. The pool had indeed an urgent repair due to some loose tiles but this is now fixed. We offered drinks and free entrance to the Zoo which some clients did use We have... More 

Tianjin Region, China
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 2 short stays (1 night and then 3 nights) at this hotel and weren't disappointed. An SPG hotel with the wonderfully comfortable heavenly beds. Upgraded into their large suite with complimentary 'bubbles' upon arrival. Large rooms. Informative concierge. Quick check in. Feels a little impersonal however, suited our needs perfectly. Laundry is expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Thank you for your nice review and for praising our Starwood Preferred Guest Program (SPG). Other Tripadvisors can enroll free of charge at check-in and start earning points immediately Arrivederci ! Marc L More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for our honeymoon last week and loved it. Upon entering the hotel we were in awe of the luxurious design and high class details. The rooms were large and bathrooms were more than we even needed. Charming design through out the hotel. Beds were very comfortable as to expect at a top end Westin Hotel. We both enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear Honeymooners Thank you for your nice review and for coming back Since 26.07 the pool is now repaired and repainted and I apologize for the inconveniences Please do not hesitate to contact me Marc L More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very functional hotel in a tony part of Rome, the Westin served us well for the two days we stayed. We are in the SPG system so the morning breakfast amenity is very much worth it here: a buffet that rivaled any I've seen, replete with waffles, bacon, and your american standards but also Russian and Asian breakfasts. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for your nice review. As to the Fitness Center open 24 hours and the Indoor swimming pool from 09.00am till 09.00pm you will find them at the -1 level Best regards Marc L More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Rome many times. We have stayed at the Excelssior many times, this trip was terrible. We spent 7 nights here this trip and were put in a room at the back of the hotel. Leaky toilet. Shower would go hot and cold requiring you to constantly adjust temp. Staff was rude and unwelcoming.we had to walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Thank you for your review I apologize for not having met your expectations. As you did come to the hotel on various occasions please give us another opportunity and please contact me Marc L More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being a starwood loyalist I've stayed in numerous starwood hotels across the globe and I can positively say this is by far the WORST experience. Zero service, staff is super unfriendly to the extent of being rude. I asked for a bucket of ice at 1 pm.which after many reminders came to my.room at 7 pm that night!! The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for your review. As with other reviewers when we do well we celebrate and we do not meet expectations we work on improving them. Regarding the mini-bar I don’t know if you noticed but the bar is automated meaning that if you lift a product or replace with your own it charges automatically I take all... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am reading these negative comments and I don't get it. The hotel was very nice and well kept. Some of the older aspects added to the ambiance. My room was Well kept and the bed was very comfortable. When I had time off work, I enjoyed the fact that the metro was a few blocks away and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
westinexcelsior2015, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Thank you for saying the hotel is very nice and well kept Officially we are not allowed to have iron and iron boards nor coffee makers in the room but there are always exceptions that we need to address professionally and I apologize if the associate did not Best regards Marc L More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Via Veneto(19)
  • Trevi fountain(19)
  • Very nice(14)
  • Great location(9)
  • Room service(9)
  • Spanish steps(8)
  • Front desk staff(4)
  • Train station(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,001 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (559)
Viewed
Room/suite (203)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (148)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (45)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Suite (73)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Suite with View (91)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#69 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#200 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ludovisi / Via Veneto

Neighborhood Profile
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Thanks to Fellini and La Dolce Vita, the Ludovisi and Via Veneto neighborhood earned its reputation as a posh area where gorgeous Marcellos wooed actresses and models while bored housewives hung out in streetside cafes. The cafes are still there, and so are the cocktails, but the neighborhood is now home to five-star businesses including hotels, banks, law firms, and embassies. The area is also right next to Villa Borghese, a beautiful park for sporting and cultural adventures. If you're looking for tranquility by night, this may be the place: Ludovisi and Veneto tend to shut down after 8pm.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay