We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caravaggio Hotel

Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza, 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139 Naples, Italy
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Caravaggio Hotel
Caravaggio Hotel
Caravaggio Hotel
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    39
    24
    19
    17
See reviews for
33
44
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is in the historic centre of Naples, which is a UNESCO world heritage site, full of old buildings and cobbled streets. It is a lively area, full of small shops, pizzeria and coffee shops. It was ideally located for visiting the Duomo, Archaeological museum and the church opposite the hotel had a great art collection including a Caravaggio.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milazzo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

From the entrance to the hotel room it was old and dirty. The entrance of the hotel was an area for smokers, full ashtrays and smell of cigarettes in the reception area. The elevator didn't work so we had to use the stairs which are located outside the hotel. The room was big but once again old and dirty, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your rewiev... negative opinions help us to grow up. we would like to say that some things you wrote are not true .... however we respect your opinion The Direction More 

Horley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

What a great location it's so Italian and definitely not for people who like branded hotels. You can walk to the train station about 15 minutes to do Pompeii or Vesuvius (30 min). Taxi to the port is about €15 you can get a boat to Capri or Sorento. 210 is the room to stay in breakfast is basic Italian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

then you so much for youe rewiev. You understand the real soul of our city. Staff really appreciated your words...thank you so much the direction and all staff More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The hotel is very well located in the centre of the old city. All the sights in Napels and the shopping area are within walking distance. The station en the port for the surrounding area are a 10 minutes walk at the most. In the evening the restaurants en the cosy Piazza Bellini with bars en terraces are only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Renè , thank you so much for your review..guests like you are really awesome. The staff really appreciated your words hope to see you again and soon in our city and in our hotel More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Comfortable and spacious rooms with high ceilings. Looking over a small piazza just behind the Duomo. Really warm welcome from helpful young staff. Perfectly good breakfast by Italian standards (some comments have suggested it isn't good enough!). Also some previous guests seemed not to like the surrounding area and ambience, but perhaps they would have been better off not visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon, thank you so much for your review. Guests like your son and you are really awesome. Staff really appreciated your words. We hope to see you again in our hotel More 

Victoria, Malta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Caravaggo the staff was warm and helpful the hotel director Franco Russo offers an excellent service. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is situated in the heart of the old sector of the city close to all the historical sites. (Within walking distance). Overall the staff offers an excellent service kind helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for what you have written. We are really happy that you had a good time in Naples and in our Hotel. We hope to see you soon!Best regards Caravaggio Hotel**** More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed there for three nights and it was very nice. Very good price value. Near to city center and good restaurants. Very friendly stuff. Breakfast could be a bit more exciting. But there are nice bakerys around, to find something we liked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane, thank you so much for your review. Guests like you are really awesome. Staff really appreciated your words. We hope to see you again in our hotel More 

Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I am very pleased to rate this hotel! It was amazing the time spent in here!!! very nice and friendly staff and location awesome, you can walk from there everywhere, train station, port to catch a ferry....also you are in the magical and barroc area of Naples and manage to see all the essence of the city!!! highly recommended....the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review. Guests like you are really awesome. Staff really appreciated your words. We hope to see you again in our hotel More 

Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A short read of reviews of this property shows sharp contrasts of opinion. There is a difference between being booked in by a tour operator and/or choosing the hotel as part of a travel or sightseeing tour with definite objectives. This place is not a "holiday hotel". It is not for sunning or bathing. However it is the ideal place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review. Guests like you are really awesome. through your words it could be possible to understand the real soul of our city..so we say THANK YOU Staff really appreciated your words. We hope to see you again in our hotel More 

Munich, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Avoid this hotel. Presumably its listing in Lonely Planet is out of date. It was expensive - 150 euros for a "triple room" (207) which was nothing but a small double room with a sofa bed. The bathroom was tiny - no bath - and the shower drain was partially blocked. Generally all the fittings in the bathroom looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question