We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palazzo Gattini

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Piazza Duomo 14, 75100 Matera, Italy
Announcement
Click for details
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Gattini
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palazzo Gattini
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    44
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
195
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (335)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
vancouver island
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This hotel presents a bit of a problem for me as the building itself is lovely—the architecture, the high ceilings and the location are all magnificent. In fact, the whole experience of living at the top of an ancient city is pretty amazing. The problem is that it appears very little care was taken when furnishing the guest rooms (at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel is just next to the cathedral and it is convenient to wander around Matera and admire the view. You can also admire the view of Sassi from the hotel's garden terrace. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Wifi works perfectly (not working in some hotels even if they advertise 'free wifi') The staffs are very friendly especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Luxurious rooms and a fantastic hilltop setting. For a 5 star hotel though, the service is a bit lacking. We wanted a drink in the bar and had to find someone to serve us. Breakfast is in another building, but it's all part of the experience. I loved our room and bathroom. Spacious, modern facilities and beautiful decor. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini, responded to this review

Dear Wirral, thanks to share your opinion with Tripadvisor Friends. We're happy to read your satisfaction. Palazzo Gattini is very big and the building have many little spaces so sometimes It's possible that barmans are serving in an another space. We apologize if you have received an average service. Breakfast is served in same building and you have to taste... More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Rooms, meals, cafe, service - all 5 stars. I don't have a single complaint! I used their laundry service, which was excellent. Used their inside/outside cafe for business meetings - great service and excellent view. There breakfasts were phenomenal. And their staff couldn't have been nicer. Would definitely stay there again. They have a spa but I didn't have time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
161 hotel reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

This palazzo has been beautifully restored and the accommodation is luxuriously comfortable. Location is great though the cathedral opposite was scaffolds and closed. Breakfast was excellent, as were the staff. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gino M, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini, responded to this review

Dear Hoepful-G, We are really happy to hear that. Thank you to having recommended Palazzo Gattini and we look forward to your next stay in Matera. Kind regards, Giacinto Marchionna Director of Sales More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the start of a cycling holiday. Everything about the hotel was excellent. We had a beautiful room that was very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was extremely good too and the staff very helpful. Although in a very central location the hotel was tucked away enough to escape the crowds. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The refurbishment of the old palace is excellent. The staff at reception were very helpful. The one drawback of the hotel is that access by car could be challenging without satnav or a good map but it's really worth the effort to get there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Lovely and well renovated hotel. Tasteful design that enhances the original architecture. Very good ac and very comfortable bed with quality bedding. The only negatives are the very low lighting which is not adequate for reading and the geometric bath that does not configure to the body. The bath is also the shower and the sides of the tub are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb County, Croatia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Matera is an exeptional place and Palazzo Gattini is following the pattern. As it should be in the historic and full of stories place, the staff, the room, the dinner are amazing. We joined the main square evening party and we felt strong belongings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We recently spent two nights at Palazzo Gattini and enjoyed our stay for the most part. We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite overlooking the Duomo and thought nothing could be more perfect. Then it was time to retire for the evening. The suite they had upgraded us to was bi-level with the sleeping accommodations upstairs and it was incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question