We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palazzo Gattini

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Piazza Duomo 14, 75100 Matera, Italy
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Gattini
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palazzo Gattini
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    44
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
201
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
limerick, ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Very luxurious! We were offered a free upgrade to a junior suite which was fantastic and had an amazing bath. The staff were very friendly, location was perfect and breakfast very nice with a good selection of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location on the highest spot of the old city. A restored palace opposite to the Duomo. Spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. Every effort was made by the staff to make our stay more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whenever I have stayed in Matera, I have usually stayed in cave hotels, which used to be the dwelling places of Matera's poor. This stay in Palazzo Gattini was an experience, instead, of where the aristocracy lived. The hotel is situated in the luxury residence of one of Matera's former ruling families. Although not everything has been preserved, many of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini, responded to this review

Dear Anzese, thanks so much for your review on Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel. We are very happy to know your stay in Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel was excellent. We wait you for your next travel to Matera. Best Regards and Happy Easter! Giacinto Marchionna Director of Sales More 

vancouver island
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This hotel presents a bit of a problem for me as the building itself is lovely—the architecture, the high ceilings and the location are all magnificent. In fact, the whole experience of living at the top of an ancient city is pretty amazing. The problem is that it appears very little care was taken when furnishing the guest rooms (at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel is just next to the cathedral and it is convenient to wander around Matera and admire the view. You can also admire the view of Sassi from the hotel's garden terrace. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Wifi works perfectly (not working in some hotels even if they advertise 'free wifi') The staffs are very friendly especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Luxurious rooms and a fantastic hilltop setting. For a 5 star hotel though, the service is a bit lacking. We wanted a drink in the bar and had to find someone to serve us. Breakfast is in another building, but it's all part of the experience. I loved our room and bathroom. Spacious, modern facilities and beautiful decor. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini, responded to this review

Dear Wirral, thanks to share your opinion with Tripadvisor Friends. We're happy to read your satisfaction. Palazzo Gattini is very big and the building have many little spaces so sometimes It's possible that barmans are serving in an another space. We apologize if you have received an average service. Breakfast is served in same building and you have to taste... More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Rooms, meals, cafe, service - all 5 stars. I don't have a single complaint! I used their laundry service, which was excellent. Used their inside/outside cafe for business meetings - great service and excellent view. There breakfasts were phenomenal. And their staff couldn't have been nicer. Would definitely stay there again. They have a spa but I didn't have time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
167 hotel reviews
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

This palazzo has been beautifully restored and the accommodation is luxuriously comfortable. Location is great though the cathedral opposite was scaffolds and closed. Breakfast was excellent, as were the staff. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gino M, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini, responded to this review

Dear Hoepful-G, We are really happy to hear that. Thank you to having recommended Palazzo Gattini and we look forward to your next stay in Matera. Kind regards, Giacinto Marchionna Director of Sales More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the start of a cycling holiday. Everything about the hotel was excellent. We had a beautiful room that was very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was extremely good too and the staff very helpful. Although in a very central location the hotel was tucked away enough to escape the crowds. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The refurbishment of the old palace is excellent. The staff at reception were very helpful. The one drawback of the hotel is that access by car could be challenging without satnav or a good map but it's really worth the effort to get there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question