We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel

Calle Samaniego 18, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Center Valencia Backpackers\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    18
    23
    11
    14
See reviews for
1
10
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bad experience, but going with order...the hostel is located directly behind the cathedral and this is maybe the only good point seen that if you want visit the centre you got everything at walk distance. Less convenient to get the beach but the buses and metro in Valencia are working really good. shifting now to the hostel, it's dirty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great as it was right by the Plaza del Vergens. However, it is relatively far from the train or bus station. As for facilities, request for a bottom bunk if you are doing a shared dorm. I had a top bunk bed and I was placed right by the air conditioner vent. I was so cold that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. Great to hear you liked the location, and that the aircon worked nearly too well. Regarding all incidents (bathrooms, cleaning, noise...) we just request that our staff be informed as soon as possible to provide a solution. Kindest regards. More 

uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here as part of a tour group. From the outside the hostel looks nice but once you enter, it's not the best. Lockers could easily be broken into. No ladders on bunk beds, breakfast was just awful. Consisted of bread and jam. Bathroom in room was dirty, had to wear flip flops in the shower. The good thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Regarding the lockers we haven't had any safety issues, but there are also safes available. We offer a basic breakfast, included in the price of the stay: toast & jam and coffee, cereals and juice as well as fruit. The bathrooms are checked daily, but if any guest requests... More 

Travelers are raving about these Valencia hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

I honestly liked the hostel at first. It was when I saw how the cleaning lady cleaned that I knew this hostel was not clean. She merily came into the room and drug her broom around and did the same thing with the mop. I stayed here for 3 night and in a 6 girl room and didn't know anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Regarding the cleaning, the staff passes the rooms daily (brooming, and mopping with water and chlorine) and access to make a more thorough cleaning when guests are not inside the room. In any case, you can always ask the staff if you find the room/bath not spotless. Regarding the... More 

Manila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Value for money. For 2 nights I paid a little less than 21 EUR, that's for a bed in a female dormitory with own toilet and bath. It comes with free breakfast. Location. It's walking distance from all important tourist spots, parks, buildings, orxata stores and even good paella restaurants. No need to ride a cab nor take a bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write a review. It is a budget accommodation so "no frills", but all the staff does their best to make our customers stay as agreeable as possible. We hope you continue to enjoy your travels. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

The front entrance looks so clean and modern but the rest of the hostel is in disrepair. The rooms are cramped and unclean. The kitchen is filthy and forces you to go out and eat. The bathrooms were tiny. The lockers were pretty decent but you have to put euro deposits to use them. We were hoping for planned activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy the hostel. We are looking into the issues you mention. To be fair, some of them, such as the age or behaviour of other customers are not really our fault, but of course the kitchen has to be checked if many customers are making use of it, and not leaving it... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I was supposed to stay in this hostel for 4 nights yet checked out after 2 due to it's poor standard. On my second day I returned to my room to find my locker empty with all my stuff gone, it turned out I was supposed to change room (I hadn't been told this) and therefore they had emptied my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

As we already do personally, we would like to appologize again for the inconvenience of having to change you from one room to another and without the adequate communication. Anyway we can ensure you that our lockers a absolutly safe and that never a guest has any inconvenience. Your comment about the door who has been opened during the night... More 

Bethel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived at Center Valencia very late at night for a one night stay. We were in an 8 bed room, where only two girls were sleeping. However, the two girls had completely spread out and we struggled to get to our beds because it was such a tight squeeze between the beds. We went down stairs to eat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion. Hope to see you back some time in the future. Sunny regards. More 

wolverhampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here for three nights in early july. I had a 4 bed dorm but was alone most of the time. The hostel was clean and the staff really friendly. My room and sheets were clean. The location was great. There was sufficient cooking and common room area. Small but sufficient breakfast included. I am shocked to read the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your opinion here on TA. Have to say that from december 2013 on, the Hostel is under new management and we improve on the service from day to day. Hope to see you probably back here with us some day in the future. Sunny regards. More 

England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in May in a 6 bedded dorm. The room was big with an en-suite only problem the door didn't close properly, but they can get this fixed. Each bed had a locker that can fit your bag in, but you do have to put a 1/2 euro in (you do get this back each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlamedaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Center Valencia Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for enjoy your stay with us. Hope to see you probably back here in the future. Sunny regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Red Nest Hostel
#19 of 143 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
El Carme
Home Backpackers
Home Backpackers
#20 of 143 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
La Xerea
The River Hostel
The River Hostel
#8 of 143 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Xerea
Purple Nest Hostel
Purple Nest Hostel
#21 of 143 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Quart Youth Hostel
#12 of 143 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Urban Youth Hostel
#17 of 143 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay