We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII

Paseo Alfonso XIII, 40, 30203 Cartagena, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    41
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
41
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Stayed at the hotel while on business in cartagena. Good location lots around but I found the room to be a little stuffy like a box that is closing in on you. The staff was polite and the hotel is probably one of the better around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This is a great location - close to the train and bus stations. We were only in for a couple of nights. The room was small and clean. The staff were very helpful and spoke enough English for us to get by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Very good location,bedroom was a good size and very clean,Air condition a little noisy.Staff very friendly and helpful,parking next door to hotel €13 per night.Lots to do and see in the area. Cartagena is about 20 minutes from San Javier Airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The location is very good...right on the main street in Cartagena but several blocks from the water. The rooms are OK...not bad, not great. The staff is very helpful and attentive. We've stayed here on many occasions including Carnaval and the festival of the Romans and Carthaginians, which is not to be missed. The city is filled with interesting sights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had a so nice experience in Sercotel JC1 Murcia that as soon as we arrived in Cartagena I looked for Sercotel hotels. Wrong choice.The hotel is dated, old and dirty. We went to this hotel after in the Sercotel Carlos III told us they did not have a room for us that they were full. Yes sure at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently. Very happy with the stay although the car parking attached to the hotel (in a public underground carpark) left a bit to be desired - got blocked in and had to try to find the owner making us late for the flight home. Bar is attached to the hotel at the bacl of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Oliva, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was just a one-night stay, although I have stayed here several years ago and I'm sure there was a bar then. Reception staff pleasant and helpful, room pleasant, adequately furnished and quiet, breakfast good with enough choice. I would stay there again, although would prefer a hotel nearer to the port if I was alone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Your opinion is important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again. More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On the plus side is the location, the price and level of noise. On the down side is the not very helpful reception staff', I very often got the distinct impression that you almost had to apologise before asking them a question and the broken English response you got very often left you none the wiser. I was there with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations completely. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the room and bathroom are both very big. We had an extra large double bed and a jacuzzi tub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great, you can walk to the center/ port/bus / train station. There is also a city bus stop 100m from the hotel where you can take the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Turre, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. The room was pleasant, with space for my husband's wheelchair and hurray, an accessible bathroom with shower for him. TV reception was poor. We had paid for breakfast, but would not do so again. There was fruit which was good, but a poor choice of cereal (3) and the cooked items (beans bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear clients, Thank you very much for your time. Your opinion is very important. This will help to improve our services like breakfast and everything else. I am glad you like Cartagena I hope to see you again and count on your trust again Sincerey More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
2:35
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
0.6 mi away
NH Cartagena
NH Cartagena
#2 of 13 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Campo Cartagena
NH Campo Cartagena
#1 of 13 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlos III Sercotel
Carlos III Sercotel
#6 of 13 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cartagonova
Hotel Cartagonova
#7 of 13 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Habaneros
Los Habaneros
#3 of 13 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posadas de Espana Cartagena
Posadas de Espana Cartagena
#5 of 13 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay