We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alfonso XIII

Paseo Alfonso XIII, 40, 30203 Cartagena, Spain
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso XIII
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alfonso XIII
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
38
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Very good location,bedroom was a good size and very clean,Air condition a little noisy.Staff very friendly and helpful,parking next door to hotel €13 per night.Lots to do and see in the area. Cartagena is about 20 minutes from San Javier Airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Mojacar, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The location is very good...right on the main street in Cartagena but several blocks from the water. The rooms are OK...not bad, not great. The staff is very helpful and attentive. We've stayed here on many occasions including Carnaval and the festival of the Romans and Carthaginians, which is not to be missed. The city is filled with interesting sights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had a so nice experience in Sercotel JC1 Murcia that as soon as we arrived in Cartagena I looked for Sercotel hotels. Wrong choice.The hotel is dated, old and dirty. We went to this hotel after in the Sercotel Carlos III told us they did not have a room for us that they were full. Yes sure at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently. Very happy with the stay although the car parking attached to the hotel (in a public underground carpark) left a bit to be desired - got blocked in and had to try to find the owner making us late for the flight home. Bar is attached to the hotel at the bacl of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Oliva, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was just a one-night stay, although I have stayed here several years ago and I'm sure there was a bar then. Reception staff pleasant and helpful, room pleasant, adequately furnished and quiet, breakfast good with enough choice. I would stay there again, although would prefer a hotel nearer to the port if I was alone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Your opinion is important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again. More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On the plus side is the location, the price and level of noise. On the down side is the not very helpful reception staff', I very often got the distinct impression that you almost had to apologise before asking them a question and the broken English response you got very often left you none the wiser. I was there with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations completely. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests... More 

Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the room and bathroom are both very big. We had an extra large double bed and a jacuzzi tub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great, you can walk to the center/ port/bus / train station. There is also a city bus stop 100m from the hotel where you can take the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Turre, Andalucia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. The room was pleasant, with space for my husband's wheelchair and hurray, an accessible bathroom with shower for him. TV reception was poor. We had paid for breakfast, but would not do so again. There was fruit which was good, but a poor choice of cereal (3) and the cooked items (beans bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear clients, Thank you very much for your time. Your opinion is very important. This will help to improve our services like breakfast and everything else. I am glad you like Cartagena I hope to see you again and count on your trust again Sincerey More 

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Recently stay for 4 nights and was pleased. Nice spasios room on very reasonable rate, excellent restraunts, nice recration room including free coffee at any time, excellent room service and extremely helpful and friendly staff with good english. Very conviniently locating, 10 min to downtown by walk, beatiful city. Thanks a lot. The only disappointing thing was quite weak wi-fi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juan Carlos G, Director General at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your time about filling the survey in regarding your recent stay at our property. Your opinion is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not the hotel experience I was expecting. Firstly you had to pay to park at the hotel and the car park was the worst I have experienced, cars squeezed in behind concrete pillars and asked to leave keys in the event you are blocked in. Hotel staff were pleasant. rooms are basic with very thin Walls. Do not expect a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Juan Carlos G, Director General at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
2:35
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question