We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calle de la Cabeza, 24, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mad Hostel to your Saves list
Mad Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #119 of 325 Specialty lodging in Madrid
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014
Edo V Modena, Italy
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    17
    15
    16
See reviews for
2
8
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My stay in Mad Hostel on the weekend of February 21-23 was the worst hostel stay of my entire life. The first night that I stayed there the top bunk and the person sleeping in it fell on me. I have bruises down the entire left side of my body after this event occurred. When I contacted the staff about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta H, Gerente at Mad Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and for the mishaps that you experienced. The staff at Mad makes an earnest effort to ensure that all of our guests are happy and feel taken care of. As expressed to you directly when you were here, we are profoundly sorry... More

Modena, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had to stay there for two weeks while looking for a flat in Madrid. Very close to the city center, though isn't in the best area of town (quite dirty area, but who cares). Friendly staff, decent rooms and lockers provided with the automatic lock, usable trough the room key (every bed has its own). Also clean enough bathrooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hostel is nice, clean, with good comfy rooms. Wifi and computers were great, and the kitchen is really well supplied. Also, the free breakfast is unlimited. Awesome. Only thing I did not like is that there was only one PowerPoint in the room, so it is hard to charge things up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queens Village, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many hostels And this one was the biggest dissapointment so far. We got a private room and bathroom which wasn't that bad but there was constantly a strange poop smell especially in the stairwell. The front desk was the least helpful people I ever encountered in service ! They didn't know the answer to Anything and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

There are better hostels than this - the staff seem to treat it as their chance to pull guests and my sister was on the end of unwanted attention from one of the dudes - rooms are tiny, clean but uncomfortably small Terrace a nice touch but when we were there is was full of drunk Australians telling everyone how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I loved this hostel. I met some real cool chicas that ended up being my travel companions for my entire stay in Madrid. The employees were friendly and showed us around as often as they could. There was a bar in the lobby and cheap sangria! Computers were mostly always available and there was free breakfast included. It wasn't too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I liked staying at this hostel. It was clean and quite central. Close to a metro therefore close to most attractions. Staff are friendly although not all since people at reception change all the time. The room is quite small but thats normal for a 6 bed room. Lockers are not that small so a hand luggage would fit comfortably.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Mad hostel is basically like its name 'mad'. The hostel atmosphere could depend on how you view it. It could be as mad as you want (as they organise parties regularly) At Mad hostel, you'll find all sorts of activities you want. I went on free city walking tour and pub crawl (which is the best!) they co-organised it with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved the place. Great location, great room but pretty poor service. My friend and I stayed here in July 2013, great weather. The markets just down the road on a sunday are incredible and it was really close to walk to everything. The roof top bar wasnt really much fun at night but a great place to relax during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I admittedly did not have a great time here, but I don't think it was as terrible a place as its rating suggests. A lot depends on whether or not you are rooming with decent people. This hostel, and its sister hostel, have reputations as party hostels, so yes, a lot of people who stay here have come to party.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Been to Mad Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Hostel

Also Known As:
Mad Hotel
Mad Hotel Madrid
Address: Calle de la Cabeza, 24, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 325 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, T4B and HostelBookers so you can book your Mad Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.