We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Laris

3.0 of 5 Calle del Barco 3, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Laris
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostal Laris
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    44
    16
    29
See reviews for
12
35
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This budget hotel is perfectly situated two minutes walk from gran via metro station and many of the central city attractions. For the price it offers comfort and security although, understandably not the service you would expect from a four/five star hotel. The location did have several working people, both tradesmen/builders in the daytime and working ladies in the evening.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Dear Nworknet, Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Laris Hostel in Madrid. We have passed all your valued comment to all employees. We are glad to hear that the location was great for you and also the general value for money. We hope to see you in your next trip to Madrid and be... More 

Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

the reception was rather dull but the staff were very pleasant. when i go to my room it is VERY tired and TV didnt work the stool in the bathroom had died and gone to heaven i think ! it wasnt dirty but not great ! The location is wonderful right next to the grand vie and some good shops!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Dear Lynda W, Firstly, we would like to thank you for having shared your comments about your stay al the Hostel Laris at TripAdvisor site. We would like to explain you that the Laris is a HOSTEL not a Hotel So, this is the reason why you could be a little confused about the rating and also regarding your expectations.... More 

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed four nights at the Laris over Christmas. Very professional and friendly staff, nice, large room, and everything was clean and functional. The location was perfect for me (it's two minutes from Gran Via metro station, right between the hip cafes of Malasana and the crowds of the large avenues). I had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Hell Xavier, Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hostel through TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a good stay and the location of the Laris was great. All of them help us to keep improving the service and work hard for our guests. We hope to see you soon in... More 

south africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good breakfast, clean rooms and excellent location near Gran Via metro - many eateries and coffee shops near - the hostal is in a downtown city sidestreet but the general location makes up for this - supermarket near the hostal - carpets are clean but old and need to be replaced. The breakfast is very good compared to other hostals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I like many other people reviewing this hotel have stayed in many hotels across the world and can honestly say this by far, is the worst experience i've ever had! On arrival we entered the lobby, which you access by a descending a small flight of stairs so unsuitable for the infirm or elderly. The lobby itself was dingy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels across the world but this was by far the worst that I have experienced. Didn't have our booking so put us in the last remaining rooms, no air conditioning, bed bugs!, mattress which sunk in the middle, no toiletries. I ended up staying in my friends room as we had nowhere else to stay on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

great location 1 block to bus and metro routes. elevator and private bath for hostal rates staff not 100% english speaking, but enough to get points across and very helpful

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were 1 minute away from the Gran Via and 2 minutes from the metro station. A lot of shops and restaurants around, especially cafe la Luz was a favorite! The rooms are quite noisy though...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I travelled as Single to Madrid mainly for party and Nightlife. I always book a double room for two person in order to avoid discussion in case I take someone to my room and I expect from a hotel privacy. In this hotel, it was not possible. They would start a process of registration and ask my gust an ID.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We arrived late Friday night and were told there was a problem with our room, althought we had validated our booking the day before. We were mooved to a lesser quality hotel, thus not being with our friends. The hotel was even smaller (no air con, no bath tub ect)but cheaper. But Laris Hotel debited the full price from my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Laris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Laris

Address: Calle del Barco 3, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Laris 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Laris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Laris Madrid
Hostal Laris Hotel Madrid

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay